U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

CIS Men's Basketball Award Winners for 2002-03 Season

Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)Dave Smart, Carleton
Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player)Kyle Russell, UBC
Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy (CIS Rookie of the Year)Daniel Eves, York
Ken Shields AwardDan Zapior, Lakehead
First Team All-CanadianGabriel Goree, Saint Marys
 Kyle Russell, UBC
 Michael Ayanbadejo, Guelph
 Phil Scherer, Alberta
 Rob Smart Jr., Carleton
Second Team All-CanadianAdam Friesen, Trinity Western
 Brennan Schwartz, Regina
 Charles Fortier, Laval
 Jim Grozelle, Western
 Ryan French, York
All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)Dan Zapior, Lakehead
 Graham Hewitt, McMaster
 Kevin Dulude, RMC
 Pasha Bains, Simon Fraser
 Phil Miguel, Bishops
MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue TrophyOsvaldo Jeanty, Carleton
CIS Tournament All-Star TeamCharles Fortier, Laval
 Jafeth Maseruka, Carleton
 John-Scott Esposito, Guelph
 Kyle Julius, Guelph
 Michael Melnychuk, Alberta
 Osvaldo Jeanty, Carleton

AUS Coach of the YearSteve Konchalski, StFX
Frank Baldwin Memorial Trophy (AUS Most Valuable Player)Gabriel Goree, Saint Marys
AUS Rookie of the YearSherone Edwards, UPEI
AUS Student-Athlete and Community Service AwardJeff Walker, UPEI
AUS First Team All-StarGabriel Goree, Saint Marys
 Kenny Duncan, UPEI
 Kyle Sanders, StFX
 Matthew Chapman, Acadia
 Mike King, UNB
AUS Second Team All-StarEverett (E.L.) Adams, StFX
 Greg Winter, Acadia
 Michael Shaughnessy, Saint Marys
 Nick Donald, Dalhousie
 Tyler Wood, UPEI
AUS Championship Tournament MVPTyler Wood, UPEI

Canada West Coach of the YearStan Peters, Trinity Western
Canada West Player of the YearKyle Russell, UBC
Canada West Rookie of the YearErfan Nasajpour, Winnipeg
Canada West Ken Shields Student-Athlete Community AwardNot awarded, Unknown team
Canada West First Team All-StarBrennan Schwartz, Regina
 Kyle Russell, UBC
 Nikosey Quick, Brandon
 Pasha Bains, Simon Fraser
 Phil Scherer, Alberta
 Phil Sudol, Alberta
Canada West Second Team All-StarAdam Friesen, Trinity Western
 Alan Spoonhunter, Lethbridge
 Corey Ogilvie, UBC
 John Riad, Calgary
 Logan Kitteringham, Trinity Western
Canada West All Rookie TeamCasey Archibald, UBC

OUA West Coach of the YearJoe Raso, McMaster
OUA East Coach of the YearDave Smart, Carleton
E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA West MVP)Michael Ayanbadejo, Guelph
E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP)Ryan French, York
OUA West Rookie of the YearMichael Davis, Waterloo
OUA East Rookie of the YearDaniel Eves, York
OUA West Ken Shields NomineeDan Zapior, Lakehead
OUA West First Team All-StarDan Zapior, Lakehead
 Graham Hewitt, McMaster
 Jim Grozelle, Western
 Kevin Stienstra, Brock
 Michael Ayanbadejo, Guelph
OUA West Second Team All-StarAdam Peaker, Western
 Chris Keith, Wilfrid Laurier
 Mark Halfpenny, Guelph
 Rob Scully, McMaster
 Ryan Dudley, Brock
OUA East Second Team All-StarJon Reid, Ryerson
 Marko Jovic, Ottawa
OUA West All Rookie TeamAdam Steiner, McMaster
 Michael Davis, Waterloo
 Omar Miles, Wilfrid Laurier
 Rob Innes, Wilfrid Laurier
 Rohan Steen, Brock
Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup)Michael Smart, Carleton

RSEQ Coach of the YearJacques Paiement, Laval
RSEQ Player of the YearPhil Miguel, Bishops
RSEQ Rookie of the YearRicardo Telamon, Bishops
RSEQ Defensive Player of the YearPhil Miguel, Bishops
RSEQ First Team All-StarCharles Fortier, Laval
 Patrick Perrotte, Concordia
 Phil Miguel, Bishops
 Philippe Langlois, Concordia
 Samuel Audet-Sow, Laval
RSEQ Second Team All-StarDenburk Reid, McGill
 Domenico Marcario, McGill
 Frederic Bernard, McGill
 Gavin Musgrave, Concordia
 Marc Antoine Horth, Laval
RSEQ All Rookie TeamRicardo Telamon, Bishops

Hagey-Siegfried Trophy (Team MVP)Mike Sovran, Waterloo
Letterman Award (Rookie-of-the-Year)Michael Davis, Waterloo
Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP)Phil Scherer, Alberta
Most Improved Player AwardDave Munkley, Waterloo
Ryersonian Trophy (Male Athlete of the Year)Jon Reid, Ryerson
Federation of Students Rookie of the YearMichael Davis, Waterloo
Ernie Foshay Memorial Award (StFX Invitational Tourn MVP)Nicholas Landrigan, Acadia
Naismith Classic All-starGraham Jarman, Waterloo
 Mike Sovran, Waterloo

Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com