U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

UNB Varsity Reds - 2013-14 Season

Head Coach:Brent Baker (6th season)
Other staff: Don McNeil (Assistant Coach), Dan Goggin (Assistant Coach), Patrick Troy (Video and Recruiting), Trevor Pardy (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Corey Villeneuve (Therapist)
League:AUS

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001618-163080.9 - 81.515-140.5172330-233780.3 - 80.617-150.5312576-249280.5 - 77.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Matthew Daley Guard5-91903Belledune, NB 
4Mark Matheson Forward6-51802Summerside, PEThree Oaks Senior High (UNB)
5Josh Beasley Guard6-12003Abbotsford, BC 
6Ryan Smith Forward6-31954Dalhousie, NBDalhousie High (Mount St. Vincent)
7Dylan Baker Forward6-51761Narre Warren, Australia 
8Jordan Irvine Forward6-42054Riceville, NB 
9Hussein Egal Post6-92051Toronto, ON 
10William McFee Guard6-31954Northbridge, Australia 
11Alex Carty Forward6-41801Fredericton, NB 
12Alex Caskey Forward6-62303Halifax, NS 
13Daniel Quirion Guard6-01905Moncton, NB 
14Alec Parise Centre6-62152Summerside, PEThree Oaks Senior High
15Michael Fazzolari Post6-52103Montreal, QCVanier College
20Mackenzie Washburn Guard6-01854Fredericton, NB 
21Sunny Johal Forward6-72153Abbotsford, BCW.J. Mouat Secondary
23Javon Masters Guard6-01801Kitchener, ONForest Heights Collegiate

Awards presented

Javon Masters AUS Rookie of the Year, AUS First Team All-Star, AUS All Rookie Team, Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy (CIS Rookie of the Year), Second Team All-Canadian, CIS All-Rookie Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Sep 29, 2013Fredericton, NBSt. ThomasWin82-35  
Fri Oct 4, 2013Fredericton, NBOttawaLoss71-88 Eric Garland Tournament
Sat Oct 5, 2013Fredericton, NBStFXWin82-65 Eric Garland Tournament
Sun Oct 6, 2013Fredericton, NBLavalWin85-80 Eric Garland Tournament
Fri Oct 18, 2013Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss81-99 Mickey Place Tournament
Sat Oct 19, 2013Charlottetown, PESaskatchewanWin73-65 Mickey Place Tournament
Sun Oct 20, 2013Charlottetown, PELavalWin76-67 Mickey Place Tournament
Fri Oct 25, 2013Montreal, QCUQAMLoss76-84  
Sat Oct 26, 2013Montreal, QCConcordiaWin80-70  
Thu Jan 2, 2014Moncton, NBCrandall UniversityWin97-50  
Fri Jan 3, 2014Fredericton, NBUNB AlumniLoss67-70  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 8, 2013Halifax, NSDalhousieWin75-62  
Sat Nov 9, 2013Halifax, NSDalhousieWin92-89OT 
Fri Nov 15, 2013Fredericton, NBUPEIWin93-81  
Sat Nov 16, 2013Fredericton, NBUPEIWin103-91  
Fri Nov 22, 2013Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss84-92  
Sat Nov 23, 2013Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin96-86  
Sat Nov 30, 2013Fredericton, NBSaint MarysWin89-83  
Fri Jan 10, 2014Fredericton, NBDalhousieWin74-66  
Sat Jan 11, 2014Fredericton, NBDalhousieLoss65-70  
Sat Jan 18, 2014St. John's, NFMemorialLoss76-80  
Sun Jan 19, 2014St. John's, NFMemorialWin86-69  
Fri Jan 24, 2014Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss75-85  
Sat Jan 25, 2014Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss77-95  
Fri Jan 31, 2014Fredericton, NBAcadiaLoss83-96  
Sat Feb 1, 2014Fredericton, NBAcadiaLoss64-83  
Fri Feb 7, 2014Sydney, NSCape BretonLoss73-80  
Sat Feb 8, 2014Antigonish, NSStFXLoss66-81  
Sat Feb 15, 2014Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss68-88  
Fri Feb 21, 2014Fredericton, NBCape BretonWin88-75  
Sat Feb 22, 2014Fredericton, NBStFXWin91-78  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 28, 2014Halifax, NSStFXLoss88-89StatsAUS Quarterfinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Javon Masters2070935.536-8542.4148-32445.7215-24288.820-52723.637654383954727.4
Daniel Quirion1240333.623-6634.859-16436.038-4682.612-35473.930392911517914.9
William McFee1126524.124-5742.156-13441.821-3167.79-29383.527202301015714.3
Matthew Daley1029429.411-4524.432-9334.420-3164.514-25393.9324632119959.5
Ryan Smith1546330.94-1723.552-11545.227-3871.132-741067.1422221271359.0
Jordan Irvine2041920.933-9435.160-17434.523-2979.325-68934.748252611241768.8
Mark Matheson1419714.114-3638.921-5736.85-683.311-24352.512101719614.4
Alec Parise1919110.12-1118.228-5749.114-2166.713-33462.4525834723.8
Dylan Baker1831517.55-2420.825-7632.912-2450.09-30392.2543139012673.7
Hussein Egal2023111.60-30.025-6538.58-2334.830-28582.94939143582.9
Josh Beasley1313210.22-219.59-4022.57-977.82-12141.1147904272.1
Michael Fazzolari2024412.20-10.010-2540.07-1353.818-14321.64051233271.4
Sunny Johal131179.00-00.06-1540.01-250.02-8100.8231421131.0
Alex Caskey12403.30-00.00-20.04-666.72-350.414041140.3
Alex Carty210.50-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.01000000.0
Mackenzie Washburn34414.70-00.00-00.00-00.01-341.30110000.0
* Team Totals204065203.2154-46033.5531-134139.6402-52177.2200-43863831.947528027747151161880.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com