U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Victoria Vikings - 1971-72 Season

Head Coach:Gary Taylor (First season)
League:WCIAA Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
7-90.4381019-98563.7 - 61.67-90.4381019-98563.7 - 61.67-90.4381019-98563.7 - 61.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Fergie Andison   
 Mike Bishop   
 John Campbell   
 Tom Child   
 Tom Holmes Centre6-7  
 Harry Hunter Guard/Forward5-11 Victoria, BC 
 Jim Hunter Forward6-3 (Victoria)
 Barry Moen   
 Brent Mullin   
 Dave Wallace   
 Doug Walton   
24Gordon Hoshal Forward  

Awards presented

Gordon Hoshal WCIAA Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Dec 4, 1971Vancouver, BCLakeheadUnknown Totem Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 12, 1971Victoria, BCCalgaryWin66-45  
Sat Nov 13, 1971Victoria, BCCalgaryWin62-49  
Thu Nov 18, 1971Vancouver, BCUBCLoss56-77  
Fri Nov 26, 1971Victoria, BCAlbertaWin72-52  
Sat Nov 27, 1971Victoria, BCAlbertaLoss63-74  
Fri Dec 3, 1971Vancouver, BCUBCLoss64-88 Totem Tournament
Fri Jan 7, 1972Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss56-59  
Sat Jan 8, 1972Calgary, ABCalgaryWin62-57  
Fri Jan 14, 1972Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss58-59  
Sat Jan 15, 1972Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin78-45  
Fri Jan 28, 1972Victoria, BCUBCLoss63-75  
Sat Jan 29, 1972Victoria, BCUBCLoss70-71  
Fri Feb 4, 1972Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss47-59  
Sat Feb 5, 1972Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss56-67  
Fri Feb 11, 1972Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin74-49  
Sat Feb 12, 1972Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin72-59