U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Acadia Axemen - 1979-80 Season

Head Coach:Dick Hunt (7th season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-50.7221743-141096.8 - 78.319-70.7312413-202392.8 - 77.821-90.7002740-233591.3 - 77.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 John Archibald Forward6-3 Milford, NS 
 Phil Coldwell Forward6-6 Horton Academy
 Donnie Ehler Guard6-12Windsor, NSWindsor Regional High
 Ken Fells Guard5-11 Yarmouth, NS 
 John Grimmer  Fredericton, NB 
 Bo Hampton Forward6-5 Worcester, MANorth High
 Steve Johnson Forward6-6 Yarmouth, NS 
 Alfie MacLeod Forward6-22Coxheath, NSRiverview Rural High
 Dave Montgomery   
 Allan Oliver Forward6-3 Liverpool, NS 
 Shawne Ricks Guard5-11 Roxbury, MA 
 Dan Sukara Forward6-31Brampton, ON 
 Robert Upshaw Guard5-9 Sackville, NS 
22Ted Upshaw Forward6-64Windsor, NSWindsor Regional High
24Michael Hazard Guard/Forward6-3 Providence, RI 

Awards presented

Michael Hazard Frank Baldwin Memorial Trophy (AUS Most Valuable Player), AUS First Team All-Star, Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player), First Team All-Canadian
Ted Upshaw AUS First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 1979Wolfville, NSMaine MachiasWin100-62 Acadia Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 10, 1979Wolfville, NSUPEIWin97-72 Acadia Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17, 1979Worcester, MAAssumptionWin76-71 TSLU Dec/79 - date unk
Sat Nov 17, 1979Chestnut Hill, MABoston CollegeLoss79-83 TSLU Dec/79 - date unk
Sat Nov 17, 1979Easton, PALafayetteLoss72-96 TSLU Dec/79 - date unk
Fri Nov 23, 1979Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin86-76StatsNaismith Classic
Sat Nov 24, 1979Waterloo, ONManitobaWin77-70 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 24, 1979Waterloo, ONVictoriaLoss78-86 Naismith Classic
Thu Jan 3, 1980Wolfville, NSConcordiaWin77-69 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament
Fri Jan 4, 1980Wolfville, NSVictoriaWin80-71 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament
Sat Jan 5, 1980Wolfville, NSYorkWin90-83 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 21, 1979Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin103-76  
Tue Nov 27, 1979Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin100-53  
Fri Nov 30, 1979Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin102-77  
Sat Dec 1, 1979Fredericton, NBUNBLoss103-107  
Thu Jan 10, 1980Halifax, NSDalhousieWin90-67  
Tue Jan 15, 1980Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin108-83  
Sat Jan 19, 1980Wolfville, NSMount AllisonWin102-50  
Tue Jan 22, 1980Wolfville, NSStFXWin97-80  
Sat Jan 26, 1980Wolfville, NSUPEIWin100-63  
Mon Jan 28, 1980Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss98-100  
Fri Feb 1, 1980Antigonish, NSStFXLoss90-96  
Mon Feb 4, 1980Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin95-94  
Thu Feb 14, 1980Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin103-72  
Sat Feb 16, 1980Wolfville, NSUNBWin111-86  
Mon Feb 18, 1980Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss85-93  
Fri Feb 22, 1980Antigonish, NSStFXWin69-60  
Tue Feb 26, 1980Halifax, NSDalhousieWin110-72  
Fri Feb 29, 1980Wolfville, NSStFXLoss77-81  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Mar 6, 1980Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss85-86 AUAA Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Michael Hazard1800.00-00.0207-38853.475-8489.356-971538.538000048927.2
Ted Upshaw1800.00-00.0178-30658.261-9067.870-1041749.743000041723.2
Donnie Ehler1700.00-00.089-20443.644-5383.018-32502.930000022213.1
Shawne Ricks1800.00-00.077-15948.438-6657.622-26482.755000019210.7
Bo Hampton1800.00-00.081-14755.121-3953.868-631317.341000018310.2
Alfie MacLeod1700.00-00.030-6248.42-450.011-14251.5250000623.6
Robert Upshaw1800.00-00.028-7238.98-2138.15-11160.9290000643.6
Ken Fells1700.00-00.015-3542.911-1384.66-9150.970000412.4
Dan Sukara400.00-00.04-1040.01-1100.02-130.83000092.2
Steve Johnson1300.00-00.012-3732.45-771.420-17372.8230000292.2
John Archibald1700.00-00.06-1540.03-742.99-3120.780000150.9
Phil Coldwell1700.00-00.04-1136.47-887.51-120.140000150.9
John Grimmer900.00-00.01-616.73-475.03-250.68000050.6
Dave Montgomery300.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.00000000.0
* Team Totals1800.00-00.0732-145250.4279-39770.3291-38067137.33140000174396.8