U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Victoria Vikings - 1988-89 Season

Head Coach:Ken Shields (13th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
18-20.9001772-151688.6 - 75.824-40.8572458-211687.8 - 75.624-40.8572458-211687.8 - 75.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Maurice Basso   
 Colin Brousson   
 Jerry Divoky Forward Burnaby, BC 
 Kevin Harrington   
 Tom Johnson   
 Daryn Lansdell   
 Wade Loukes Guard Victoria, BC 
 Geoff McKay Guard Penticton, BC 
 Spencer McKay  Oliver, BC 
 Rick Mesich   
 Dale Olson   
 Kevin Ottewell   

Awards presented

Jerry Divoky Canada West Second Team All-Star
Tom Johnson CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Geoff McKay Canada West Second Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)
Spencer McKay Canada West First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Dale Olson Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 18, 1988Vancouver, BCUBCWin78-61  
Sat Nov 19, 1988Vancouver, BCUBCWin84-83  
Fri Nov 25, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin96-61  
Sat Nov 26, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin104-68  
Thu Dec 29, 1988Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin88-69  
Fri Dec 30, 1988Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin76-70  
Fri Jan 6, 1989Victoria, BCCalgaryWin95-92  
Sat Jan 7, 1989Victoria, BCCalgaryWin76-74  
Fri Jan 13, 1989Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin89-81  
Sat Jan 14, 1989Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin82-75  
Fri Jan 20, 1989Victoria, BCUBCWin91-78  
Sat Jan 21, 1989Victoria, BCUBCWin78-77  
Fri Jan 27, 1989Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin91-82  
Sat Jan 28, 1989Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin108-80  
Fri Feb 3, 1989Victoria, BCAlbertaWin83-59  
Sat Feb 4, 1989Victoria, BCAlbertaWin85-62  
Fri Feb 10, 1989Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss82-100  
Sat Feb 11, 1989Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss87-95  
Fri Feb 17, 1989Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin95-78  
Sat Feb 18, 1989Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin104-71  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 24, 1989Victoria, BCAlbertaWin83-71 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 25, 1989Victoria, BCAlbertaWin90-81 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 3, 1989Victoria, BCUBCWin101-89 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 4, 1989Victoria, BCUBCLoss91-95OTCanada West Final (best of 3)
Sun Mar 5, 1989Victoria, BCUBCWin79-60 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 10, 1989Halifax, NSAcadiaWin83-63 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 11, 1989Halifax, NSReginaWin86-67 CIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 12, 1989Halifax, NSBrandonLoss73-74StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Spencer McKay2000.00-00.0147-24360.569-10665.164-761407.0552800036318.1
Geoff McKay2000.022-4450.0117-20956.072-8782.818-38562.8313600032816.4
Dale Olson2000.00-00.090-16155.971-9376.345-751206.0453000025112.6
Jerry Divoky1800.00-10.078-13856.526-3672.226-43693.8462500018210.1
Tom Johnson1500.025-5545.549-10845.47-977.83-21241.622240001308.7
Wade Loukes2000.013-2846.462-12748.833-4082.523-46693.557460001708.5
Kevin Ottewell2000.00-20.058-10356.337-4680.420-47673.441260001537.7
Colin Brousson2000.00-00.033-5757.932-4472.78-13211.15227000984.9
Daryn Lansdell900.01-333.38-2236.46-875.02-460.777000232.6
Rick Mesich2000.00-00.016-3941.08-1942.19-20291.4338000402.0
Kevin Harrington1000.00-00.04-1233.34-666.74-8121.235000121.2
Maurice Basso1800.00-00.08-1844.42-922.211-7181.0182000181.0
* Team Totals2000.061-13345.9670-123754.2367-50373.0233-39863131.6410264000176888.4

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Spencer McKay 15 on Mar 12, 1989 vs Brandon 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com