U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Alberta Golden Bears - 1989-90 Season

Head Coach:Don Horwood (7th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-70.6501728-159986.4 - 80.019-100.6552445-228984.3 - 78.919-100.6552445-228984.3 - 78.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Lorne Blatt   
 Sean Chursinoff   
 Brian Halsey   
 David Hogg   
 Ed Joseph   
 Scott Karaim   
 Bill Lavergne   
 Clayton Pottinger   
 Rick Stanley   
 Dale Vanhooren   
 David Wooldridge   
 Dave Youngs   

Awards presented

Sean Chursinoff Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP), Canada West Player of the Year, Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
Dave Youngs Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Nov 5, 1989Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin104-90 GPAC-Canada West Challenge
Thu Nov 9, 1989Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin86-73 Golden Bear Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 17, 1989Calgary, ABCalgaryWin97-91  
Sat Nov 18, 1989Calgary, ABCalgaryWin94-86  
Fri Nov 24, 1989Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin102-85  
Sat Nov 25, 1989Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin88-70  
Fri Dec 1, 1989Edmonton, ABVictoriaLoss84-85  
Sat Dec 2, 1989Edmonton, ABVictoriaLoss66-67  
Fri Jan 5, 1990Vancouver, BCUBCWin107-79  
Sat Jan 6, 1990Vancouver, BCUBCLoss77-98  
Fri Jan 12, 1990Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin68-66  
Sat Jan 13, 1990Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin88-67  
Fri Jan 19, 1990Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin112-104  
Sat Jan 20, 1990Edmonton, ABCalgaryLoss75-92  
Fri Jan 26, 1990Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin84-55  
Sat Jan 27, 1990Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin88-80  
Fri Feb 2, 1990Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss78-86  
Sat Feb 3, 1990Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss72-78  
Fri Feb 9, 1990Edmonton, ABUBCWin97-91  
Sat Feb 10, 1990Edmonton, ABUBCLoss83-90  
Fri Feb 16, 1990Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin86-69  
Sat Feb 17, 1990Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin82-60  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 1990Vancouver, BCUBCWin91-85 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 1990Vancouver, BCUBCWin84-79 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 2, 1990Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss57-74 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 3, 1990Victoria, BCVictoriaWin71-67 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sun Mar 4, 1990Victoria, BCVictoriaWin81-69 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 16, 1990Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss76-79OTCIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 17, 1990Halifax, NSStFXLoss67-74 CIAU Consolation Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Sean Chursinoff2000.012-3336.4159-30352.5149-18481.020-46663.34811500047923.9
Dave Youngs2000.035-8342.2104-21149.336-4481.833-48814.05411200027913.9
Rick Stanley2000.00-00.0104-20850.053-6680.349-681175.8561400026113.1
Bill Lavergne1400.00-00.068-11559.142-7953.233-51846.054900017812.7
Brian Halsey1900.015-4533.385-20142.345-5286.525-30552.9521300023012.1
Ed Joseph1600.03-1225.058-12646.039-5570.927-53805.058210001589.9
David Wooldridge2000.00-00.032-5954.213-2650.034-48824.14813000773.9
Scott Karaim2000.00-30.06-1833.313-1968.44-8120.645000251.2
Clayton Pottinger1800.00-10.06-2030.06-1250.010-10201.1153000181.0
Lorne Blatt1900.01-714.36-2920.70-30.06-7130.71611000130.7
David Hogg1400.00-40.01-714.33-475.05-380.67300050.4
Dale Vanhooren1200.00-00.00-20.01-250.00-000.04000010.1
* Team Totals2000.066-18835.1629-129948.4400-54673.3246-37261830.9416319000172486.2