U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Regina Cougars - 1990-91 Season

Head Coach:Tim Artemenko (First season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
7-110.3891540-158385.6 - 87.911-140.4402162-222686.5 - 89.011-140.4402162-222686.5 - 89.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Roland Biegler  Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
 Kobie Brandt  Regina, SKLuther College High
 Russell Brodner  Regina, SKArchbishop M.C. O'Neill High
 Steve Burrows  Regina, SKF.W. Johnson Collegiate
 Mark Gottselig  Findlater, SKAlbert E. Peacock Collegiate
 Graham Hackl  Saskatoon, SKHoly Cross High (Medicine Hat College)
 Brian Livingston  Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
 Grant McLaughlin  Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
 Terry Ross  Regina, SKLuther College High
 Kevin Schiller  Weyburn, SKWeyburn Comprehensive High
 Mike Sharpe  Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate (Lewis & Clark College)
 Mark Virgo Guard6-2 Regina, SKSheldon-Williams Collegiate

Awards presented

Mark Gottselig Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Brian Livingston Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Mark Virgo Great Plains Rookie of the Year

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 26, 1990Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin95-91OTIronman Classic
Tue Oct 30, 1990Regina, SKSaskatchewanLoss94-99  
Tue Nov 6, 1990Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin92-88 Mayor's Challenge
Sat Nov 10, 1990Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin100-89 Golden Bear Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 23, 1990Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss79-81  
Sat Nov 24, 1990Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss79-108  
Fri Nov 30, 1990Regina, SKManitobaLoss72-93  
Sat Dec 1, 1990Regina, SKWinnipegWin95-54  
Fri Jan 11, 1991Regina, SKManitobaWin103-84  
Sat Jan 12, 1991Regina, SKManitobaLoss75-79  
Fri Jan 18, 1991Brandon, MBBrandonLoss93-103  
Sat Jan 19, 1991Brandon, MBBrandonLoss72-103  
Fri Jan 25, 1991Regina, SKWinnipegWin85-82  
Sat Jan 26, 1991Regina, SKWinnipegLoss83-87  
Sat Feb 2, 1991Regina, SKBrandonLoss93-97  
Sun Feb 3, 1991Regina, SKBrandonWin97-90  
Fri Feb 8, 1991Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss68-81  
Sat Feb 9, 1991Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss70-79  
Fri Feb 15, 1991Brandon, MBBrandonLoss87-98  
Sat Feb 16, 1991Regina, SKBrandonWin97-92  
Fri Feb 22, 1991Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin106-93  
Sat Feb 23, 1991Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin86-79  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 1, 1991Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss76-98 GPAC Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Mar 2, 1991Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin94-87 GPAC Semifinal (best of 3)
Sun Mar 3, 1991Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss71-91 GPAC Semifinal (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Brian Livingston1800.014-00.096-00.078-11070.90-0553.10000028415.8
Mark Gottselig1800.04-00.0111-00.045-6470.30-01086.00000027115.1
Roland Biegler1800.036-00.077-00.025-3964.10-0311.70000021511.9
Mark Virgo1800.045-00.066-00.022-3464.70-0341.90000019911.1
Grant McLaughlin1800.010-00.071-00.030-3976.90-0623.40000018210.1
Russell Brodner1800.00-00.047-00.030-4173.20-0673.7000001246.9
Mike Sharpe1800.00-00.040-00.014-2751.90-0492.700000945.2
Graham Hackl1800.010-00.021-00.015-2268.20-0251.400000673.7
Terry Ross1800.03-00.024-00.013-2454.20-0351.900000643.6
Kevin Schiller1800.00-00.05-00.05-862.50-0120.700000150.8
Kobie Brandt1800.03-00.05-00.00-00.00-040.200000130.7
Steve Burrows1800.00-00.02-00.06-875.00-080.400000100.6
* Team Totals1800.0125-00.0565-00.0283-41668.00-049027.200000153885.4