U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 2008-09 Season

Head Coach:Dave Smart (10th season)
Other staff: Mark McMahon (Assistant Coach), Rob Smart Jr. (Assistant Coach), Dean Petridis (Assistant Coach), Shawn McCleery (Assistant Coach), Andy Stewart (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Aaron Blakely (Manager), Ben Ryan (Manager)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
21-10.9551960-139389.1 - 63.336-10.9733170-228285.7 - 61.740-40.9093727-277184.7 - 63.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Kevin Churchill Forward6-7212 Toronto, ONNorth Toronto Collegiate
 Stuart Turnbull Guard6-2 Kingston, ONFrontenac Secondary
3Michael Kenny Guard6-0175 Ottawa, ONSir Robert Borden High
10Elliot Thompson Guard6-3195 Fredericton, NBFredericton High
11Dan Penner Forward6-7215 Winnipeg, MBMiles Macdonell Collegiate
15Kyle Smendziuk Forward6-6205 Kanata, ONAll Saints High
21Derek McConnery  Perth, ONPerth District Collegiate
22Cole Hobin Guard6-6195 Ashton, ON 
23Anthony Ashe Guard/Forward6-4185 Stittsville, ONSacred Heart Catholic High (Carleton)
31Luke Chapman Guard6-4 Bloomfield, ONNicholson Catholic College
33Robert Saunders Guard6-2 Kingston, ONFrontenac Secondary
42Aaron Doornekamp Forward6-7 Odessa, ONErnestown Secondary
43Aaron Chapman Forward6-8210 Bloomfield, ONNicholson Catholic College
45Kevin McCleery Centre6-8 Nepean, ONSir Robert Borden High

Awards presented

Dave Smart OUA East Coach of the Year, Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)
Aaron Doornekamp OUA East First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Kevin McCleery CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Robert Saunders OUA East Defensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year
Kyle Smendziuk OUA East All Rookie Team
Stuart Turnbull E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP), OUA East First Team All-Star, Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup), First Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Aug 28, 2008Ottawa, ONNortheasternWin77-47  
Sat Aug 30, 2008Ottawa, ONKansasLoss83-84 Kansas Jayhawks Trip
Sun Aug 31, 2008Ottawa, ONSouth AlabamaWin78-59  
Mon Sep 1, 2008Ottawa, ONBuffaloWin84-74  
Sat Oct 4, 2008Ottawa, ONSt. Lawrence CollegeWin112-77  
Fri Oct 17, 2008Ottawa, ONBishopsWin102-53 House-Laughton Hoops Classic
Sat Oct 18, 2008Ottawa, ONLavalWin73-60 House-Laughton Hoops Classic
Sun Oct 19, 2008Ottawa, ONVictoriaWin74-63 House-Laughton Hoops Classic
Fri Oct 24, 2008Quebec City, QCQueensWin72-55 Universite Laval Tournament
Sat Oct 25, 2008Quebec City, QCWaterlooWin73-52StatsUniversite Laval Tournament
Sun Oct 26, 2008Quebec City, QCLavalWin72-54 Universite Laval Tournament
Sat Nov 1, 2008Cincinnati, OHCincinnatiLoss54-64  
Sun Nov 2, 2008Morehead, KYMorehead StateLoss69-84  
Fri Jan 2, 2009Halifax, NSAcadiaWin87-60 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sat Jan 3, 2009Halifax, NSDalhousieWin69-57 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sun Jan 4, 2009Halifax, NSStFXWin83-61 Rod Shoveller Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 2008Windsor, ONWindsorLoss68-80  
Sat Nov 8, 2008London, ONWesternWin79-74  
Fri Nov 14, 2008Ottawa, ONLakeheadWin78-57  
Sat Nov 15, 2008Ottawa, ONMcMasterWin74-49  
Fri Nov 21, 2008Ottawa, ONGuelphWin64-48  
Sat Nov 22, 2008Ottawa, ONBrockWin92-67  
Fri Nov 28, 2008Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin78-55  
Sat Nov 29, 2008Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin83-76Stats 
Fri Jan 9, 2009Ottawa, ONTorontoWin81-68  
Sat Jan 10, 2009Ottawa, ONRyersonWin96-60  
Fri Jan 16, 2009Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin110-58  
Sat Jan 17, 2009Toronto, ONYorkWin89-72  
Fri Jan 23, 2009Kingston, ONRMCWin118-71  
Sat Jan 24, 2009Kingston, ONQueensWin100-75  
Wed Jan 28, 2009Ottawa, ONOttawaWin87-72 Capital Hoops Classic
Fri Jan 30, 2009Ottawa, ONYorkWin104-82  
Sat Jan 31, 2009Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin107-56  
Fri Feb 6, 2009Toronto, ONRyersonWin98-62  
Sat Feb 7, 2009Toronto, ONTorontoWin74-54  
Fri Feb 13, 2009Ottawa, ONQueensWin85-43  
Sat Feb 14, 2009Ottawa, ONRMCWin119-45  
Sat Feb 21, 2009Ottawa, ONOttawaWin76-69  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 28, 2009Ottawa, ONYorkWin105-57 OUA East Semifinal
Wed Mar 4, 2009Ottawa, ONOttawaWin82-61 OUA East Final
Sat Mar 7, 2009London, ONWesternWin71-57 OUA Championship
Fri Mar 13, 2009Ottawa, ONStFXWin94-57 CIS Final Eight Quarter Final
Sat Mar 14, 2009Ottawa, ONWesternWin66-65 CIS Final Eight Semi Final
Sun Mar 15, 2009Ottawa, ONUBCWin87-77 CIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReb (O/D)RPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Stuart Turnbull2261628.044-11737.6118-28541.488-11179.3111 (34/77)5.00604782736816.7
Aaron Doornekamp2154826.126-5250.0101-20549.375-9578.9146 (48/98)7.00742332330314.4
Kevin McCleery2247121.40-00.0124-21158.843-6071.7126 (41/85)5.70191941429113.2
Michael Kenny2252623.963-11753.876-14054.329-3485.357 (18/39)2.60502602424411.1
Robert Saunders2255425.231-7740.355-13042.333-4671.788 (31/57)4.0039369181747.9
Cole Hobin2245120.517-6526.251-13238.626-4261.978 (32/46)3.5024328291456.6
Elliot Thompson2234415.621-5935.640-11036.424-3372.755 (20/35)2.5019121111255.7
Kyle Smendziuk2225511.60-00.037-6656.118-2962.161 (27/34)2.8051918924.2
Anthony Ashe211266.016-3250.024-5444.43-650.017 (4/13)0.8061424673.2
Luke Chapman191739.117-3351.519-3652.84-580.028 (8/20)1.508615593.1
Dan Penner7375.30-00.08-1553.32-366.79 (4/5)1.301223182.6
Aaron Chapman2025312.70-00.016-5131.417-2860.764 (21/43)3.20171728492.5
Derek McConnery12524.30-00.09-1464.37-1258.314 (6/8)1.206301252.1
* Team Totals224406200.3235-55242.6678-144946.8369-50473.2854 (294/560)38.8032825641175196089.1


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com