U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 2016-17 Season

Head Coach:Dave Smart (17th season)
Other staff: Rob Smart Jr. (Assistant Coach), Dean Petridis (Assistant Coach), Osvaldo Jeanty (Assistant Coach), Greg McManus (Assistant Coach), Aaron Blakely (Assistant Coach), Richard Anderson (Assistant Coach), Jafeth Maseruka (Assistant Coach), Willy Manigat (Assistant Coach), Bruce Marshall (Therapist)
League:OUA North

Summary of team record for the season

 Conference RecordU Sports RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
Home 8-01.000730-47191.2 - 58.913-10.9291255-83489.6 - 59.619-10.9501840-125392.0 - 62.6
Away 10-01.000944-58294.4 - 58.211-01.0001056-64496.0 - 58.511-20.8461198-81092.2 - 62.3
Other 1-01.00074-6174.0 - 61.06-01.000512-39185.3 - 65.26-01.000512-39185.3 - 65.2
Total 19-01.0001748-111492.0 - 58.630-10.9682823-186991.1 - 60.336-30.9233550-245491.0 - 62.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
5Emmanuel Owootoah Guard5-111753Toronto, ONMartingrove Collegiate , Cordia High (Fresno State)
10Connor Wood Guard6-42005Guelph, ONBishop Macdonell High (REDA)
11Tajinder (TJ) Lall Forward6-61702Cambridge, ONGalt Collegiate
15Mitchell Jackson Forward6-81903Regina, SKBalfour Collegiate
21Cameron Smythe Forward6-112104Vancouver, BCSir Charles Tupper Secondary (Cushing Academy)
22Mitchell Wood Guard6-41853Guelph, ONBishop Macdonell High (Athlete Institute)
23Stanley Mayambo Guard6-11752Fredericton, NBFredericton High
31Joe Rocca Guard6-41985Sarnia, ONSt. Christopher Secondary (McMaster)
33Marcus Anderson Guard6-31702Brampton, ONSt. Edmund Campion Secondary
41Kaza Kajami-Keane Guard6-12005Ajax, ONPickering High (Illinois State, Cleveland State)
42Eddie Ekiyor Forward6-91Ottawa, ONNew Hampton School
45Ryan Ejim Forward6-72305Brampton, ONSt. Augustine (Humber College)
RSYasiin Joseph Guard6-11802Ottawa, ONGlebe Collegiate
RSWilliam Kohler Forward6-81852Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
RSDontae Mitchell Guard6-41651Vaughan, ONSt. Jean de Brebeuf High , Athlete Institute
RSGlenn Thelemaque Guard6-11952Ottawa, ONWest Carleton Secondary

Awards presented

Dave Smart OUA Coach of the Year, Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)
Ryan Ejim OUA Second Team All-Star
Eddie Ekiyor OUA All-Rookie Team, CIS All-Rookie Team
Kaza Kajami-Keane OUA First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Connor Wood OUA Player of the Year, OUA First Team All-Star, Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player), First Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Aug 5, 2016Ottawa, ONStetsonWin85-76  
Sun Aug 7, 2016Ottawa, ONWichita StateWin100-75  
Fri Aug 12, 2016Ottawa, ONArkansas-Pine BluffWin117-74  
Wed Aug 17, 2016Ottawa, ONMorgan StateWin113-62  
Sun Aug 28, 2016Ottawa, ONSt. Thomas AquinasWin86-63  
Mon Aug 29, 2016Ottawa, ONSt. Thomas AquinasWin84-69  
Fri Sep 30, 2016Wolfville, NSLavalWin85-62 Stu Aberdeen Challenge
Sat Oct 1, 2016Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin112-62 Stu Aberdeen Challenge
Sun Oct 2, 2016Wolfville, NSStFXWin116-72 Stu Aberdeen Challenge
Fri Oct 14, 2016Ottawa, ONVictoriaWin106-52 House-Laughton Tournament
Sat Oct 15, 2016Ottawa, ONLavalWin82-52 House-Laughton Tournament
Sun Oct 16, 2016Ottawa, ONWesternWin80-59 House-Laughton Tournament
Sat Oct 29, 2016Providence, RIProvidenceLoss69-87  
Sat Nov 5, 2016Philadelphia, PALa SalleLoss73-79  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 18, 2016Sault Ste. Marie, ONAlgomaWin93-65  
Fri Nov 25, 2016North Bay, ONNipissingWin79-59  
Sat Nov 26, 2016Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin88-71  
Fri Dec 2, 2016Ottawa, ONBrockWin80-68  
Sat Dec 3, 2016Ottawa, ONMcMasterWin81-67  
Fri Jan 6, 2017Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin109-73  
Sat Jan 7, 2017Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin101-60Stats 
Fri Jan 13, 2017Ottawa, ONNipissingWin102-59  
Sat Jan 14, 2017Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin99-52  
Tue Jan 17, 2017Ottawa, ONOttawaWin81-40  
Fri Jan 20, 2017Ottawa, ONGuelphWin90-54  
Sat Jan 21, 2017Ottawa, ONLakeheadWin96-58  
Fri Jan 27, 2017Windsor, ONWindsorWin104-54  
Sat Jan 28, 2017London, ONWesternWin82-60  
Fri Feb 3, 2017Ottawa, ONOttawaWin74-61 Capital Hoops Classic
Fri Feb 10, 2017Kingston, ONQueensWin93-50  
Sat Feb 11, 2017Toronto, ONYorkWin114-50  
Fri Feb 17, 2017Ottawa, ONRyersonWin82-77  
Sat Feb 18, 2017Ottawa, ONTorontoWin100-36  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 25, 2017Ottawa, ONMcMasterWin89-50 OUA Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 3, 2017Ottawa, ONBrockWin89-64 OUA Semifinal
Sat Mar 4, 2017Ottawa, ONRyersonLoss79-86 OUA Championship
Thu Mar 9, 2017Halifax, NSCalgaryWin85-69 CIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 11, 2017Halifax, NSMcGillWin74-58 CIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 12, 2017Halifax, NSRyersonWin78-69 CIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReb (O/D)RPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Connor Wood1951226.976-15150.3128-25250.832-4276.286 (20/66)4.535514531836419.2
Kaza Kajami-Keane1947424.925-6836.8117-22651.836-4776.678 (13/65)4.126994712029515.5
Joe Rocca1932817.337-8245.163-13945.329-3485.388 (31/57)4.61921160919210.1
Eddie Ekiyor1940321.20-10.077-13158.826-4261.9122 (38/84)6.429161613171809.5
Emmanuel Owootoah1935718.821-5736.851-12540.812-1770.632 (11/21)1.72971381351357.1
Ryan Ejim1933617.71-1100.052-8362.723-3959.097 (36/61)5.1388135151286.7
Stanley Mayambo1924112.726-4656.532-6152.511-1573.333 (7/26)1.726970121015.3
Marcus Anderson1840922.715-4831.229-7339.717-2568.067 (24/43)3.7242915620905.0
William Kohler12323.01-333.31-425.02-2100.08 (1/7)8.02100155.0
Tajinder (TJ) Lall1818410.26-1442.933-6253.212-1392.336 (13/23)2.01674611844.7
Mitchell Wood1730017.63-1030.030-6744.811-1573.383 (31/52)4.9321113114744.4
Yasiin Joseph5295.80-30.08-1457.12-2100.011 (2/9)2.2412501183.6
Cameron Smythe171428.46-2227.324-5246.25-683.349 (25/24)2.9204773593.5
Mitchell Jackson13675.20-00.09-1656.25-771.425 (12/13)1.996330231.8
* Team Totals193805200.3217-50642.9654-130550.1223-30672.9815 (264/551)42.930934522946176174892.0


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com