U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Guelph Gryphons - 2016-17 Season

Head Coach:Chris O'Rourke (20th season)
Other staff: Nick Pankerichan (Assistant Coach), Konrad Surma (Assistant Coach), Nick Rusich (Assistant Coach), Jack Beatty (Assistant Coach), Emily Carr (Trainer), Rachel King (Trainer), Allan Zhang (Analytics), Michael O'Rourke (Analytics), Josh Ford (Strength & Conditioning)
League:OUA Central
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordU Sports RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
6-130.3161375-150072.4 - 78.910-170.3701970-207373.0 - 76.810-200.3332209-234573.6 - 78.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Daniel Dooley Guard6-11854Burlington, ONNotre Dame Secondary
5Jonathan Wallace Guard6-11804Malton, ONAscension of Our Lord Secondary
10Jordan Sobot Guard6-11901Burlington, ONNelson High, Don Posco Prep
11Taylor Boers Guard5-111784Belleville, ONNicholson Catholic College
12Craig Valeriote Guard6-01601Guelph, ONOur Lady of Lourdes High
15Drew Walford Guard6-21954Etobicoke, ONEtobicoke Collegiate
21Kingslee D'Silva Forward6-52053Mississauga, ONMeadowvale Secondary
22Andrew Grant Guard6-41784Toronto, ONBill Crothers Secondary
31Kieran Naus Forward6-32002Elliot Lake, ONElliot Lake Secondary
31Aaron Nugent Guard6-51881Mississauga, ONLorne Park Secondary, Stanstead College
32Tommy Yanchus Guard6-32052Guelph, ONJohn F. Ross Collegiate
33Martin Popiel Centre6-72184Bright's Grove, ONSt. Christopher Secondary
40Bankole Alade Forward6-62001Sherwood Park, ABStrathcona Christian Academy
42Shawn Carey Forward6-62101Waterdown, ONSt. Mary Secondary
42Colin Corrigan Forward6-52204Ancaster, ONBishop Tonnos Secondary
44Ahmed Haroon Forward6-52154Mississauga, ONStephen Lewis Secondary
45Nathan Klassen Forward6-72002Mitchell, ONStratford Central Secondary
RSJake Chaput Guard5-101601Guelph, ONBishop Macdonell High
RSLuke Nelson Guard6-41851Hillsborough, NBBernice MacNaughton High

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Aug 14, 2016Guelph, ONNorthwestern StateLoss83-94  
Sat Aug 20, 2016Guelph, ONBuffaloLoss76-84  
Sat Oct 1, 2016Guelph, ONMemorialWin90-65  
Sun Oct 2, 2016Guelph, ONSheridan CollegeLoss80-94  
Thu Oct 13, 2016Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin60-52  
Fri Oct 21, 2016St. Catharines, ONReginaLoss74-83 RBC Brock Classic
Sat Oct 22, 2016Woodstock, ONTorontoLoss70-81 At St. Mary's High
Fri Oct 28, 2016Guelph, ONLaurentianWin79-75  
Thu Dec 29, 2016Montreal, QCMemorialLoss66-77 Classique Olga Hrycak
Fri Dec 30, 2016Montreal, QCUNBCLoss71-76 Classique Olga Hrycak
Sat Dec 31, 2016Montreal, QCUQAMWin85-64 Classique Olga Hrycak
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 5, 2016London, ONWesternWin83-81  
Sat Nov 12, 2016Guelph, ONQueensLoss74-77  
Wed Nov 16, 2016Windsor, ONWindsorWin94-85  
Sat Nov 19, 2016St. Catharines, ONBrockLoss75-86  
Wed Nov 23, 2016Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss77-92  
Sat Dec 3, 2016Guelph, ONYorkWin87-65  
Fri Jan 6, 2017Toronto, ONTorontoLoss66-77  
Sat Jan 7, 2017Toronto, ONRyersonLoss76-98  
Fri Jan 13, 2017Guelph, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss80-87  
Sat Jan 14, 2017Guelph, ONMcMasterLoss72-73  
Fri Jan 20, 2017Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss54-90  
Sat Jan 21, 2017Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss68-85  
Fri Jan 27, 2017Guelph, ONAlgomaWin76-58  
Sat Jan 28, 2017Guelph, ONBrockLoss62-89  
Fri Feb 3, 2017North Bay, ONNipissingLoss69-79  
Sat Feb 4, 2017Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss50-79  
Fri Feb 10, 2017Guelph, ONLakeheadLoss62-63  
Sat Feb 11, 2017Guelph, ONLakeheadWin74-62  
Sat Feb 18, 2017Guelph, ONWaterlooWin76-74Stats 

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Ahmed Haroon1944223.314-4332.687-19943.736-5269.223-911146.037103952122411.8
Daniel Dooley1848827.120-5139.269-16242.641-4885.45-31362.021592702419911.1
Taylor Boers1942022.130-7739.054-15036.052-6678.85-27321.722162701219010.0
Jonathan Wallace1838921.613-4330.263-19133.029-3876.313-38512.82719370191689.3
Jordan Sobot1928715.112-4626.141-12233.639-5373.68-23311.6252424081337.0
Drew Walford1840022.22-1612.546-9846.913-1968.415-29442.431172810231075.9
Tommy Yanchus1824013.311-3036.728-6940.614-2166.711-25362.02971014814.5
Kingslee D'Silva1421515.40-00.024-5543.611-2250.024-48725.13141699594.2
Bankole Alade161449.00-00.019-4740.412-1963.226-26523.225212813503.1
Andrew Grant1928715.12-922.221-6134.415-2657.712-36482.5361722720593.1
Martin Popiel1822312.40-00.020-5735.111-2544.010-24341.94261847512.8
Shawn Carey1517111.40-00.013-2748.14-1233.314-18322.1424856302.0
Kieran Naus3206.70-00.01-1100.00-00.01-231.02020020.7
Colin Corrigan2126.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.01000000.0
* Team Totals193738196.7104-31533.0486-123939.2277-40169.1167-41858530.837118527049166135371.2