U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Victoria Vikes - 2016-17 Season

Head Coach:Craig Beaucamp (14th season)
Other staff: Craig Behan (Assistant Coach), Phil Ohl (Assistant Coach), Josh Mullen (Assistant Coach), Gary Peden (Strength & Conditioning Coach)
League:Canada West
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordU Sports RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-110.4501529-156876.5 - 78.415-180.4552460-255274.5 - 77.315-190.4412533-264474.5 - 77.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Grant Sitton Forward6-91755Brush Prairie, WAPrairie High (Clackamas Junior College)
1Graeme Hyde-Lay Guard6-11701Victoria, BCSt. Michael's University School
2Taylor Montgomery-Stinson Guard6-31852Victoria, BCClaremont Secondary
3Scott Kellum Guard6-11751Issaquah, WAIssaquah High
5J.J. Hamel-Carey Guard6-11831Montreal, QCChamplain Saint-Lambert (Victoria)
6Jake Newman Forward6-62053White Rock, BCWhite Rock Christian Academy (Lafayette)
7Vladislav Zasmolin Guard-Forward6-51951Calgary, ABSir Winston Churchill High
8Jason Scully Forward6-42051Victoria, BCSt. Michael's University School
9Wayne Tucker Guard5-102004Oakland, CAOakland Tech High (Olds College)
11Justin Kinnear Forward6-62183Montreal, QCVanier College
12Noah Charles Forward6-52601Duncan, BCCowichan Secondary
14Hassan Abdullahi Guard6-31924Scarborough, ONPope John Paul II Secondary (Dalhousie)
15Hayden Lejeune Forward6-82503Chilliwack, BCSardis Secondary
17Ty Stewart-Nelson Guard6-02221Toronto, ONFather Henry Carr Secondary

Awards presented

Scott Kellum Canada West All Rookie Team, Canada West Rookie of the Year, CIS All-Rookie Team
Grant Sitton Canada West Third Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Mon Aug 15, 2016Victoria, BCUNC CharlotteLoss73-92  
Thu Sep 29, 2016Victoria, BCReginaWin76-67 Guy Vetrie Memorial Tournament
Fri Sep 30, 2016Victoria, BCMcGillLoss44-69 Guy Vetrie Memorial Tournament
Sat Oct 1, 2016Victoria, BCMcMasterLoss65-76 Guy Vetrie Memorial Tournament
Fri Oct 14, 2016Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss52-106 House-Laughton Tournament
Sat Oct 15, 2016Ottawa, ONWesternWin68-55 House-Laughton Tournament
Sun Oct 16, 2016Ottawa, ONLavalWin70-61 House-Laughton Tournament
Fri Oct 28, 2016Victoria, BCMount RoyalWin80-72  
Sat Oct 29, 2016Victoria, BCMount RoyalWin77-75  
Wed Dec 28, 2016Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin90-66 Wesmen Classic
Thu Dec 29, 2016Winnipeg, MBAlbertaLoss76-82 Wesmen Classic
Fri Dec 30, 2016Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss63-64 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 4, 2016Regina, SKReginaWin95-77  
Sat Nov 5, 2016Regina, SKReginaLoss57-77  
Fri Nov 11, 2016Victoria, BCCalgaryLoss75-101  
Sat Nov 12, 2016Victoria, BCCalgaryLoss72-97  
Fri Nov 18, 2016Edmonton, ABMacEwanWin89-79OT 
Sat Nov 19, 2016Edmonton, ABMacEwanLoss63-67  
Fri Nov 25, 2016Victoria, BCUBCLoss69-82  
Sun Nov 27, 2016Vancouver, BCUBCLoss89-93OT 
Fri Jan 6, 2017Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin86-76  
Sat Jan 7, 2017Kamloops, BCThompson RiversLoss71-78  
Fri Jan 13, 2017Kelowna, BCUBC OkanaganWin81-46  
Sat Jan 14, 2017Kelowna, BCUBC OkanaganWin75-65  
Fri Jan 20, 2017Victoria, BCLethbridgeLoss58-76  
Sat Jan 21, 2017Victoria, BCLethbridgeLoss81-94  
Fri Jan 27, 2017Victoria, BCTrinity WesternWin72-63  
Sat Jan 28, 2017Victoria, BCTrinity WesternWin69-65  
Fri Feb 3, 2017Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss83-87  
Sat Feb 4, 2017Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss79-89  
Fri Feb 10, 2017Victoria, BCWinnipegWin86-78  
Sat Feb 11, 2017Victoria, BCWinnipegWin79-78  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 17, 2017Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss85-97StatsCanada West play in series (best of 3)
Sat Feb 18, 2017Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss85-94StatsCanada West play in series (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Grant Sitton2061530.837-9638.5126-28444.496-12676.240-961366.8484958153538519.2
Scott Kellum2061030.541-9344.187-20442.649-7070.012-45572.94748460926413.2
Justin Kinnear2048824.43-933.377-14553.135-7447.340-611015.0461023781929.6
Hassan Abdullahi2049624.816-5429.656-12744.122-2588.032-831155.83626301221507.5
J.J. Hamel-Carey1833618.720-6132.843-11238.45-683.38-26341.92435361151116.2
Taylor Montgomery-Stinson2038219.131-8636.036-10534.318-2378.310-19291.4501491131216.0
Jake Newman2048624.33-2114.342-11337.217-2373.937-761135.75526423141045.2
Graeme Hyde-Lay151338.98-2927.614-4332.61-333.33-690.676906372.5
Hayden Lejeune2020010.00-00.015-3542.94-850.022-28502.5299555341.7
Jason Scully9455.03-650.03-650.01-250.01-340.440601101.1
Noah Charles7152.10-10.00-40.00-20.01-560.93010000.0
Vladislav Zasmolin122.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.00000000.0
* Team Totals203808190.4162-45635.5499-117842.4248-36268.5206-44865432.734922326533128140870.4

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Hassan Abdullahi23 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge3 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge2 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Grant Sitton23 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge9 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge3 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Taylor Montgomery-Stinson14 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge7 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge2 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Scott Kellum12 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge7 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge2 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Jake Newman12 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge2 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge1 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Justin Kinnear10 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge3 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge1 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Graeme Hyde-Lay9 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge1 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge2 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge
J.J. Hamel-Carey5 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge3 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge4 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Hayden Lejeune4 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge3 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge1 on Feb 18, 2017 vs Lethbridge
Jason Scully2 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge  
Noah Charles 1 on Feb 17, 2017 vs Lethbridge 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com