U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

Calgary Dinos - 2018-19 Season

Head Coach:Dan Vanhooren (19th season)
Other staff: Dan Pearson (Assistant Coach), Philip Barndt (Assistant Coach), Blaine Miciak (Advance Scout), Rich Hesketh (Strength & Conditioning Coach)
League:Canada West
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordU Sports RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
20-01.0001771-132188.5 - 66.024-10.9602239-170089.6 - 68.031-90.7753300-275982.5 - 69.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 David Kapinga Guard5-111735Lubumbashi, KYSouthwestern High / St. Louis Christian (Union College)
1Mambi Diawara Guard6-41805Montreal, QC(Lamar State)
3Jackson Bayles Guard6-21601Brockville, ONBrockville Collegiate
4Andrew Milner Guard6-21752Antigonish, NSRothesay Netherwood
5Jake Nielson Guard6-31802Cochrane, ABCochrane High
7Maximilian Eisele Guard6-41853Ulm, GermanyRatiopharm Ulm (Ehingen Urspring)
10Lars Schlueter Forward6-82105Ulm, GermanyUlm (Weissenhorn Youngstars)
11Lucas Mannes Guard6-21905Chilliwack, BCG.W. Graham Secondary (Trinity Western)
12Sasha Pojuzina Forward6-61902Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
14Tobi Adelodum Guard6-32052Calgary, ABDr. E.P. Scarlett High (York)
15Brett Layton Forward6-82303Calgary, ABSir Winston Churchill High (Mount Royal)
21Mason Foreman Forward6-72002Winnipeg, MBLord Selkirk Regional, Athlete Institute
22Carter Kuchinka Forward6-92101Estevan, SKEstevan High, Athol Murray College of Notre Dame

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Aug 11, 2018San Jose, Costa RicaSan DiegoLoss54-64  
Mon Aug 13, 2018San Jose, Costa RicaTexas San AntonioWin70-69  
Tue Aug 14, 2018San Jose, Costa RicaTexas San AntonioWin74-68  
Wed Aug 15, 2018San Jose, Costa RicaMaineWin73-56  
Fri Aug 17, 2018San Jose, Costa RicaMaineLoss70-75OT 
Thu Aug 30, 2018Karlsruhe, GermanyKarlsruhe LionsLoss88-93 Calgary Germany Trip
Sat Sep 1, 2018Bamberg, GermanyBamberg BundesligaLoss80-83 Calgary Germany Trip
Sun Sep 2, 2018Urspring, GermanyUrspringLoss53-81 Calgary Germany Trip
Wed Sep 5, 2018Kircheim, GermanyKircheimLoss55-63 Calgary Germany Trip
Thu Sep 6, 2018Ulm, GermanyUlm BundesligaWin80-64 Calgary Germany Trip
Fri Oct 12, 2018Antigonish, NSStFXWin101-85Stats 
Sat Oct 13, 2018Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss87-91Stats 
Sun Oct 14, 2018Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin94-71Stats 
Thu Dec 6, 2018Calgary, ABCarroll CollegeWin72-54Stats 
Fri Dec 7, 2018Springbank, ABCarroll CollegeWin85-78StatsPlayed at Edge School
Fri Dec 28, 2018Costa Mesa, CAHope InternationalWin84-76StatsBill Reynolds Holiday Classic
Sat Dec 29, 2018Costa Mesa, CAVanguardLoss55-60StatsBill Reynolds Holiday Classic
Mon Dec 31, 2018Santa Clarita, CAThe Master's UniversityLoss68-75Stats 
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 26, 2018Calgary, ABReginaWin91-68Stats 
Sat Oct 27, 2018Calgary, ABReginaWin95-60Stats 
Thu Nov 1, 2018Calgary, ABAlbertaWin88-77Stats 
Sat Nov 3, 2018Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin74-68Stats 
Fri Nov 9, 2018Calgary, ABSaskatchewanWin105-63Stats 
Sat Nov 10, 2018Calgary, ABSaskatchewanWin107-89Stats 
Sat Nov 17, 2018Calgary, ABVictoriaWin87-63Stats 
Sun Nov 18, 2018Calgary, ABVictoriaWin86-74Stats 
Fri Nov 23, 2018Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin87-59Stats 
Sat Nov 24, 2018Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin72-55Stats 
Thu Nov 29, 2018Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin91-79Stats 
Sat Dec 1, 2018Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin95-90Stats 
Thu Jan 3, 2019Calgary, ABMount RoyalWin80-61Stats 
Sat Jan 5, 2019Calgary, ABMount RoyalWin91-46Stats 
Fri Jan 11, 2019Edmonton, ABMacEwanWin104-72Stats 
Sat Jan 12, 2019Edmonton, ABMacEwanWin102-66Stats 
Fri Jan 25, 2019Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyWin85-51Stats 
Sat Jan 26, 2019Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyWin69-59Stats 
Fri Feb 1, 2019Calgary, ABThompson RiversWin71-62Stats 
Sat Feb 2, 2019Calgary, ABThompson RiversWin91-59Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 15, 2019Calgary, ABWinnipegWin98-57StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 16, 2019Calgary, ABWinnipegWin88-75StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3 final)
--- Games Yet to Play ---
DateLocationOpponentMatchupComment
Thu Feb 21, 2019Calgary, ABSaskatchewanprior games Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Feb 22, 2019Calgary, ABSaskatchewanprior games Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 23, 2019Calgary, ABSaskatchewanprior games Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)

Overall scoring summary for the season

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Mambi Diawara3081027.057-16035.6162-37443.3155-21472.421-1641856.2541038805653617.9
Brett Layton3074024.71-250.0209-35459.071-14748.3136-1452819.4642345542449016.3
David Kapinga2978827.241-12133.9133-30543.659-8371.130-65953.3761038936536612.6
Lars Schlueter3087329.152-16930.8118-28042.134-4673.926-1191454.8523528142432210.7
Lucas Mannes3075225.157-16035.6101-24441.462-7286.133-1081414.746593945032110.7
Mason Foreman1627817.411-3432.443-10341.727-3381.820-49694.32513212111247.8
Andrew Milner2651619.822-6334.953-12841.418-2962.110-34441.74549430391465.6
Maximilian Eisele3064821.62-1910.544-8551.816-3644.430-59893.06160305301063.5
Sasha Pojuzina262349.09-2437.536-7647.47-1643.813-49622.42691939883.4
Jackson Bayles4225.51-714.34-1233.33-475.01-341.024011123.0
Jake Nielson191799.412-2842.918-4341.96-1060.02-8100.52210608542.8
Carter Kuchinka13826.33-837.510-2737.02-540.05-15201.5133801251.9
Tobi Adelodum16734.61-520.05-1050.00-00.06-15211.3109801110.7
* Team Totals305995199.8269-80033.6936-204145.9460-69566.2333-833116638.949648042486319260186.7

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Mambi Diawara2052126.140-10538.1112-25643.895-13272.011-1101216.037685604235917.9
Brett Layton2049624.80-10.0144-24459.051-9156.091-981899.4411724371933916.9
David Kapinga1948225.426-7236.180-18842.633-4573.317-43603.246634834221911.5
Lars Schlueter2055427.736-10833.379-18442.929-3680.617-78954.8372719131322311.2
Lucas Mannes2051025.539-11234.871-16842.335-4283.319-77964.825442923121610.8
Mason Foreman813016.23-1520.022-4845.811-1478.69-27364.5891508587.2
Andrew Milner1634421.516-4634.840-9044.414-2458.35-21261.62933310301106.9
Jackson Bayles2178.51-520.04-944.43-475.01-342.013011126.0
Maximilian Eisele2045222.61-166.233-6253.213-2846.423-41643.2454522221804.0
Sasha Pojuzina1919510.37-2133.330-6446.97-1643.810-44542.82071538743.9
Jake Nielson1516711.110-2343.516-3743.26-1060.01-780.5209608483.2
Carter Kuchinka10707.03-650.09-2437.51-333.34-12161.6123801222.2
Tobi Adelodum12615.11-425.04-757.10-00.05-15201.77970190.8
* Team Totals203999199.9183-53434.3644-138146.6298-44567.0213-57678939.532833728061225176988.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Mambi Diawara30 on Oct 26, 2018 vs Regina14 on Feb 16, 2019 vs Winnipeg7 on Oct 12, 2018 vs StFX
David Kapinga28 on Oct 13, 2018 vs Saint Marys10 on Feb 16, 2019 vs Winnipeg8 on Nov 10, 2018 vs Saskatchewan
Brett Layton27 on Jan 3, 2019 vs Mount Royal15 on Jan 5, 2019 vs Mount Royal3 on Jan 26, 2019 vs Fraser Valley
Lucas Mannes25 on Feb 2, 2019 vs Thompson Rivers10 on Nov 29, 2018 vs Lethbridge6 on Nov 29, 2018 vs Lethbridge
Lars Schlueter22 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina9 on Dec 1, 2018 vs Lethbridge3 on Nov 3, 2018 vs Alberta
Andrew Milner20 on Nov 1, 2018 vs Alberta5 on Feb 15, 2019 vs Winnipeg6 on Jan 11, 2019 vs MacEwan
Mason Foreman16 on Oct 12, 2018 vs StFX8 on Oct 14, 2018 vs Acadia4 on Jan 12, 2019 vs MacEwan
Jackson Bayles12 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina4 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina3 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina
Maximilian Eisele12 on Nov 10, 2018 vs Saskatchewan6 on Jan 5, 2019 vs Mount Royal5 on Jan 11, 2019 vs MacEwan
Sasha Pojuzina10 on Nov 9, 2018 vs Saskatchewan10 on Nov 24, 2018 vs Manitoba2 on Oct 26, 2018 vs Regina
Jake Nielson9 on Jan 5, 2019 vs Mount Royal2 on Nov 17, 2018 vs Victoria2 on Nov 9, 2018 vs Saskatchewan
Carter Kuchinka6 on Jan 25, 2019 vs Fraser Valley4 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina1 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina
Tobi Adelodum4 on Jan 12, 2019 vs MacEwan6 on Oct 27, 2018 vs Regina3 on Nov 9, 2018 vs Saskatchewan


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com