Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

CIAU Men's Basketball Award Winners for 1970-71 Season

First Team All-CanadianJohn McAuliffe, Loyola of Montreal
 Richard (Rick) Eaton, Acadia
 Rod Dean, Waterloo Lutheran
 Ron Thorsen, UBC
 Tim Tollestrup, Lethbridge
Second Team All-CanadianBruce Dempster, Western
 Jaan Laaniste, Waterloo
 Jim Guild, Macdonald College
 John McKibbon, Laurentian
 Mike McGinnis, Brock
 Peter Munzar, Bishop's
MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue TrophyRichard (Rick) Eaton, Acadia
CIS Tournament All-Star TeamGary Folker, Acadia
 Peter Phipps, Acadia
 Richard (Rick) Eaton, Acadia
 Rod Dean, Waterloo Lutheran
 Ted Stoesz, Manitoba

WCIAA First Team All-StarAngus Burr, Manitoba
 Bob Town, Manitoba
 Derek Sankey, UBC
 Ron Thorsen, UBC
 Tim Tollestrup, Lethbridge
WCIAA Second Team All-StarBarry King, Winnipeg
 Bob Morris, Alberta
 Dick de Klerk, Alberta
 Ted Stoesz, Manitoba
 Terry MacKay, UBC

OUA West First Team All-StarJaan Laaniste, Waterloo
OUA West Second Team All-StarTom Kieswetter, Waterloo
 Walt Lozynsky, Waterloo
OUA East Second Team All-StarGerry Ashe, Ottawa
 Merv Sabey, Ottawa
E.C. Lebel Plaque (Outstanding Player in OUA Playoffs)Sante Salvador, Windsor
OIAA First Team All-StarChris Coulthard, Waterloo Lutheran
 John McKibbon, Laurentian
 Mike McGinnis, Brock
 Rod Dean, Waterloo Lutheran
 Sandy Nixon, York

Brock Men's Basketball Team MVPMike McGinnis, Brock
Lethbridge Male Athlete of the YearTim Tollestrup, Lethbridge
Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Team MVP)Dick de Klerk, Alberta
Hagey-Siegfried Trophy (Team MVP)Jaan Laaniste, Waterloo
UPEI Men's Basketball Team MVPJim Fitzgerald, UPEI
Letterman Award (Rookie-of-the-Year)Bob Sharpe, Waterloo
Al Tollestrup Memorial Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Rookie of the Year)Wallace Tollestrup, Alberta
Walter Schlosser Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Team highest scorer)Dick de Klerk, Alberta
Bishop's Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerPeter Munzar, Bishop's
Naismith Classic All-starTom Kieswetter, Waterloo

Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com