Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

CIAU Men's Basketball Award Winners for 1971-72 Season

First Team All-CanadianBill Lacy, Saskatchewan
 Marnix Heersink, Western
 Ron Thorsen, UBC
 Steve Pound, Acadia
 Wayne Morgan, Guelph
Second Team All-CanadianBob Town, Manitoba
 Brian Peters, Dalhousie
 Jaan Laaniste, Waterloo
 Rod Dean, Waterloo Lutheran
 Tom Brethel, Sir George Williams
All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)Jerry Hemmings, Brandon
MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue TrophyNot available,

WCIAA Canada West First Team All-StarBob Morris, Alberta
 Danny Quance, Calgary
 Gordon Hoshal, Victoria
 Marty Lyons, Alberta
 Mike Frisby, Alberta
 Ron Thorsen, UBC
WCIAA Great Plains First Team All-StarBarry King, Winnipeg
 Bill Lacy, Saskatchewan
 Bob Thompson, Saskatchewan
 Bob Town, Manitoba
 Jerry Hemmings, Brandon
WCIAA Canada West Second Team All-StarBill Magierowski, Lethbridge
 Jim Lathrop, Calgary
 John Mills, UBC
 Stan Callegari, UBC
 Wallace Tollestrup, Alberta
WCIAA Great Plains Second Team All-StarAngus Burr, Manitoba
 Merv Prier, Regina
 Paul Jacoby, Saskatchewan
 Robert Pyne, Regina
 Tom Gosse, Saskatchewan

OUA West First Team All-StarJaan Laaniste, Waterloo
 Mark Walton, Guelph
 Marnix Heersink, Western
 Rod Dean, Waterloo Lutheran
 Wayne Morgan, Guelph
OUA East First Team All-StarAndrejs Daugulis, Queen's
 Don Lavigeur, Laurentian
 Guy Vetrie, Laurentian
 John McKibbon, Laurentian
 Paul Howard, Queen's
OUA West Second Team All-StarAl Brown, Waterloo Lutheran
 Larry Archibald, Western
 Paul Bilewicz, Waterloo
 Paul Mazza, McMaster
 Raoul Kreek, Western
OUA East Second Team All-StarBob Weppler, York
 Gerry Ashe, Ottawa
 Lorne Bowles, Carleton
 Merv Sabey, Ottawa
 Ray Owens, Laurentian
E.C. Lebel Plaque (Outstanding Player in OUA Playoffs)Jerry Sovran, Windsor

QUAA First Team All-StarJim Guild, Macdonald College
 John Dore, Loyola of Montreal
 John Naponick, McGill
 Pierre Dion, Laval
 Tom Brethel, Sir George Williams
QUAA Second Team All-StarAlain Champoux, Sherbrooke
 Chad Gaffield, McGill
 Jean-Pierre Ferdais, Sherbrooke
 Mike Hickey, Sir George Williams
 Trevor Briggs, Loyola of Montreal

E. Kent Phillips Trophy Male Athlete of the YearBill Lacy, Saskatchewan
Lethbridge Male Athlete of the YearBill Magierowski, Lethbridge
Bobby Gaul Memorial Trophy - UBC Graduating Male AthleteRon Thorsen, UBC
Brock Men's Basketball Team MVPWalt Szpilewski, Brock
Guelph Male Athlete of the YearWayne Morgan, Guelph
Totzke Award (UW Outstanding Male Athlete)Jaan Laaniste, Waterloo
Acadia Athenaeum Male Athlete of the YearSteve Pound, Acadia
Garnet Copeland Award - UNB Top All-Round Student AthleteDick Slipp, UNB
UPEI Men's Basketball Team MVPAndy Packard, UPEI
Hagey-Siegfried Trophy (Team MVP)Jaan Laaniste, Waterloo
Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Team MVP)Marty Lyons, Alberta
Al Tollestrup Memorial Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Rookie of the Year)Mike Frisby, Alberta
Letterman Award (Rookie-of-the-Year)Phil Schlote, Waterloo
Walter Schlosser Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Team highest scorer)Bob Morris, Alberta
Bishop's Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerDave Simpson, Bishop's
Acadia Men's Basketball Team MVPSteve Pound, Acadia
Acadia Men's Basketball Most Improved PlayerJoey Wells, Acadia
Naismith Classic MVPPaul Bilewicz, Waterloo
Naismith Classic All-starEd Dragan, Waterloo
 Jaan Laaniste, Waterloo

Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com