Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

CIAU Men's Basketball Award Winners for 1977-78 Season

Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)Bob Bain, York
 Bruce Enns, Winnipeg
Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player)Charlie Wise, Laurentian
First Team All-CanadianBruce Burnett, Laurentian
 Charlie Wise, Laurentian
 Loren Killion, Wilfrid Laurier
 Martin Riley, Manitoba
 Victor Soares, Acadia
Second Team All-CanadianCliff Bell, Manitoba
 David Coulthard, York
 Jim Zoet, Lakehead
 John Brown, Saint Marys
 Seymour Hadwen, Waterloo
MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue TrophyRon McFarland, Saint Marys
CIS Tournament All-Star TeamBilly Turney-Loos, Victoria
 Bruce Burnett, Laurentian
 David Coulthard, York
 Ron McFarland, Saint Marys
 Tom Kappos, Saint Marys
 Victor Soares, Acadia

AUS Coach of the YearDick Hunt, Acadia
AUS First Team All-StarBob Fagan, Dalhousie
 John Brown, Saint Marys
 Michael Hazard, Acadia
 Peter (Doc) Ryan, StFX
 Victor Soares, Acadia
AUS Second Team All-StarFrank White, Saint Marys
 Gil Green, StFX
 Gordie West, Acadia
 Ron McFarland, Saint Marys
 Varouj Gurunlian, StFX

Canada West First Team All-StarBilly Turney-Loos, Victoria
 Bruce Wright, Calgary
 Greg Hess, Calgary
 Pat Rooney, Alberta
 Robbie Parris, Victoria
Canada West Second Team All-StarBrent Patterson, Alberta
 Dale Getty, Calgary
 Lyle Leslie, Calgary
 Rene Dolcetti, Victoria
 Roger Ganes, Saskatchewan
 Ted Hellard, Calgary

Great Plains Player of the YearMartin Riley, Manitoba
Great Plains First Team All-StarCliff Bell, Manitoba
 Jeff Bennett, Lakehead
 Jim Zoet, Lakehead
 Ken Opalko, Winnipeg
 Martin Riley, Manitoba

OUA West Coach of the YearDon McCrae, Waterloo
OUA East Coach of the YearBob Bain, York
OUA West First Team All-StarDave Roser, McMaster
 Don Whaley, Wilfrid Laurier
 Henry Vandenberg, Guelph
 Loren Killion, Wilfrid Laurier
 Seymour Hadwen, Waterloo
OUA East First Team All-StarBruce Burnett, Laurentian
 Charlie Wise, Laurentian
 David Coulthard, York
 Jonathan Love, Carleton
 Lonnie Ramati, York
OUA West Second Team All-StarBruce Meikle, Western
 Fred Koepke, Wilfrid Laurier
 Jim Nelligan, Brock
 Pat Brill-Edwards, Waterloo
 Vince Landry, Windsor
OUA East Second Team All-StarBo Pelech, York
 Pat Signorotti, Ottawa
 Pat Stoqua, Carleton
 Randy Cook, Toronto
 Varick Cutler, Laurentian
E.C. Lebel Plaque (Outstanding Player in OUA Playoffs)David Coulthard, York

RSEQ Coach of the YearGarth Smith, Bishops
 Paul Thibodeau, UQTR
RSEQ First Team All-StarBerthi Desrochers, UQTR
 Blair Shier, Bishops
 Gordon Brabant, McGill
 Leon Bynoe, Concordia
 Wayne Hussey, Bishops
RSEQ Second Team All-StarDavid Drazin, McGill
 David Thornhill, Bishops
 Richard Hagens, Concordia
 Robert Durochers, UQTR
 Trevor Bennett, Bishops

Brock Team MVPJim Nelligan, Brock
Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP)Keith Smith, Alberta
Climo Award - Dalhousie Male Athlete of the YearBob Fagan, Dalhousie
Brandon Men's Basketball Rookie of the YearRick DeGagne, Brandon
Hagey-Siegfried Trophy (Team MVP)Seymour Hadwen, Waterloo
Laurier Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerDon Whaley, Wilfrid Laurier
Regina Mens Basketball Team MVPKen Bray, Regina
Letterman Award (Rookie-of-the-Year)Leon Passmore, Waterloo
Laurier Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerLoren Killion, Wilfrid Laurier
Laurier Men's Basketball Rookie of the YearGreg Paolini, Wilfrid Laurier
Bill Dimson Memorial Trophy - Guelph Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerHenry Vandenberg, Guelph

Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com