Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

CIAU Men's Basketball Award Winners for 1985-86 Season

Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)Rick Suffield, Manitoba
Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player)John Carson, Brandon
First Team All-CanadianByron Tokarchuk, Saskatchewan
 Gord Tucker, Winnipeg
 Joe Ogoms, Manitoba
 John Carson, Brandon
 Ken McMurray, Lethbridge
Second Team All-CanadianCord Clemens, Victoria
 Ken Klassen, UBC
 Peter Savich, Waterloo
 Rob Latter, Concordia
 Tim Rider, York
All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)Kurt Kelly, Calgary
 Kyle Gayle, StFX
 Mike Morgan, UPEI
 Paul Boyce, Waterloo
 Tony Kaufmann, Manitoba
MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue TrophyCord Clemens, Victoria
CIS Tournament All-Star TeamCord Clemens, Victoria
 Jamie Ziegel, Western
 Lloyd Scrubb, Victoria
 Paul Boyce, Waterloo
 Rob Froese, Waterloo

AUS Coach of the YearDave Nutbrown, Acadia
Frank Baldwin Memorial Trophy (AUS Most Valuable Player)Kyle Gayle, StFX
AUS Rookie of the YearManfred Hoyer, UNB
AUS First Team All-StarDarnell Williams, Dalhousie
 Kyle Gayle, StFX
 Mike Morgan, UPEI
 Mike Williams, Saint Marys
 Rodney Martin, Acadia
AUS Second Team All-StarBob Aucoin, UNB
 Curtis Brown, UPEI
 Greg Brown, Dalhousie
 James (Bo) Malott, Dalhousie
 Peter Morris, Acadia

Canada West Coach of the YearKen Shields, Victoria
Canada West Player of the YearKen Klassen, UBC
Canada West First Team All-StarCord Clemens, Victoria
 Ken Klassen, UBC
 Ken McMurray, Lethbridge
 Kurt Kelly, Calgary
 Paul Johansson, UBC
Canada West Second Team All-StarBrent Maxwell, Lethbridge
 Byron Tokarchuk, Saskatchewan
 David Sheehan, Victoria
 Dean Peters, Alberta
 Jerome Ell, Lethbridge
 John Vigna, Calgary

Great Plains Coach of the YearRick Suffield, Manitoba
Great Plains Player of the YearJohn Carson, Brandon
Great Plains Rookie of the YearJoey Vickery, Winnipeg
Great Plains First Team All-StarChris Biegler, Regina
 Gord Tucker, Winnipeg
 Joe Ogoms, Manitoba
 John Carson, Brandon
 Tony Kaufmann, Manitoba
Great Plains Second Team All-StarJames Hillis, Regina
 John Bukich, Brandon
 Patrick Jebbison, Brandon
 Terry Garrow, Manitoba
 Will Parker, Winnipeg
Great Plains All Rookie TeamGeoff House, Manitoba
 Jeff Byerley, Lakehead
 Joey Vickery, Winnipeg
 Neil Enns, Manitoba
 Robert Andrist, Regina

OUA West Coach of the YearChris Coulthard, Wilfrid Laurier
OUA East Coach of the YearBob Bain, York
 Peter Campbell, Laurentian
E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA West MVP)Peter Savich, Waterloo
E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP)Tim Rider, York
OUA West First Team All-StarChris Cavender, Western
 Jeff Root, Guelph
 Kevin Moore, Brock
 Paul Boyce, Waterloo
 Peter Savich, Waterloo
OUA East First Team All-StarJeff McKibbon, Laurentian
 Mark Jones, York
 Roger Rollocks, Toronto
 Stuart Levinsky, York
 Tim Rider, York
OUA West Second Team All-StarPeter Vandebovenkamp, Western
 Rene Luypaert, Wilfrid Laurier
 Rob Froese, Waterloo
 Rob McCrae, Brock
 Steve Forden, Wilfrid Laurier
OUA East Second Team All-StarArthur Kirkwood, Ottawa
 Jamie Voskuil, Ryerson
 Louis Mazzuca, Carleton
 Mike Scotten, Queens
 Tim Yawney, Laurentian
 Wayne Shaw, York
Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup)Randy Norris, Waterloo

RSEQ Coach of the YearDoug Daigneault, Concordia
RSEQ First Team All-StarBiagio Caresse, Concordia
 Craig Norman, Concordia
 Rob Latter, Concordia

Brock Team MVPKevin Moore, Brock
Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP)Gerry Couzens, Alberta
Climo Award - Dalhousie Male Athlete of the YearJames (Bo) Malott, Dalhousie
Lethbridge Male Athlete of the YearKen McMurray, Lethbridge
Concordia Male Rookie of the YearChris Francis, Concordia
Totzke Award (UW Outstanding Male Athlete)Peter Savich, Waterloo
Hagey-Siegfried Trophy (Team MVP)Paul Boyce, Waterloo
Bishop's Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerAndres Ryan, Bishops
Lethbridge Men's Basketball Team MVPBrent Maxwell, Lethbridge
Regina Mens Basketball Team MVPChris Biegler, Regina
Letterman Award (Rookie-of-the-Year)John Bilawey, Waterloo
Laurier Men's Basketball Most Valuable PlayerSteve Forden, Wilfrid Laurier
Brad Jones Award - Bishop's Men's Basketball Newcomer of the YearGrafton Timothy, Bishops
Laurier Men's Basketball Rookie of the YearLinas Azubalis, Wilfrid Laurier
Garth Smith Award - Bishop's Men's BasketballMike Fisher, Bishops
Ernie Foshay Memorial Award (StFX Invitational Tourn MVP)Peter Morris, Acadia

Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com