Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

History of Men's Basketball Championship

In over 60 years of a National Championship for Men's Basketball there have been a variety of formats for the national championship tournament. The national organization has also experienced name changes. From 1963 to June 2001 the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (CIAU) name was in use. Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) name was adopted in June 2001. In October 2016 the U Sports brand name was chosen for university sports in Canada.

The winning team for the national championship is awarded the W.P. McGee Trophy. The trophy was donated by the University of Windsor Alumni Association in memory of Father McGee, a long-time coach at Assumption University.

1963-66 Four teams from four conferences Windsor (1963-64), Halifax (1965), Calgary (1966)
1967-71 Five teams from five conferences Calgary (1967), Antigonish (1968), Waterloo (1969), Hamilton (1970), Wolfville (1971)
1972-73 Four team tournament Vancouver (1972), Waterloo (1973)
1974-82 Eight team tournament Waterloo (1974-75), Halifax (1976-78), Calgary (1979-80), Waterloo (1981), Victoria (1982)
1983-86 Regional tournaments plus Final Four Final Four in Waterloo (1983), Halifax (1984-86)
1987-03 Final 8 Tournament Halifax (1987-2003)
2004-06 Final 10 Tournament Halifax (2004-06)
2007-24 Final 8 Tournament Halifax (2007), Ottawa (2008-10), Halifax (2011-12), Ottawa (2013-14), Toronto (2015), Vancouver (2016), Halifax (2017-19), Ottawa (2020), Edmonton (2022), Halifax (2023), Quebec City (2024)
From 1963 to 2024 includes 61 championships (no championship was awarded in 2021 due to COVID).

Results Information

Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com