Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Windsor Lancers - 1965-66 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bob Samaras (4th season)
Other staff: Eddi Chittaro (Assistant Coach), Bill McAdam (Manager)
League:O-QIAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-01.000985-53498.5 - 53.415-10.9381511-97994.4 - 61.215-110.5772278-198987.6 - 76.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
14Angelo Mazzuchin Guard6-1190 Sudbury, ONSt. Charles College
20Garry Polano Forward6-1185 Sudbury, ONSt. Charles College
24Martin Kwiatkowski Forward6-4205 Detroit, MI 
30Tom R. Elliott Forward6-3185  
32Doug Brown Guard5-11168 Windsor, ONJ.L. Forster Secondary
34Mike Taranczuk Forward6-4180 Hamilton, ON 
40Gerry Horner Guard6-0170 Windsor, ONW.F. Herman Secondary
42Larry Kelly Guard5-7155 Detroit, MIBenedictine High
50Bob Navetta Centre6-5195 Detroit, MINotre Dame High
52Tom D. Elliott Forward6-2180  
54Dave McWha Centre6-8230  

Awards presented

Gerry Horner O-QIAA West Division First Team All-Star
Martin Kwiatkowski O-QIAA West Division First Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Angelo Mazzuchin O-QIAA West Division First Team All-Star
Bob Navetta O-QIAA West Division First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 27, 1965Windsor, ONWaterloo LutheranWin84-67  
Wed Dec 1, 1965Chicago, ILLoyola of ChicagoLoss51-119  
Mon Dec 6, 1965Grand Rapids, MICalvin CollegeLoss81-106  
Sat Dec 11, 1965Detroit, MIUniversity of DetroitLoss70-87  
Wed Dec 15, 1965Youngstown, OHYoungstownLoss67-90  
Mon Dec 20, 1965Windsor, ONBaldwin WallaceLoss74-92  
Mon Dec 27, 1965Windsor, ONSouthwest TexasLoss104-116  
Mon Jan 3, 1966Hillsdale, MIHillsdale CollegeLoss76-121  
Wed Jan 12, 1966Windsor, ONDetroit Institute of TechnologLoss81-90  
Sat Jan 15, 1966Adrian, MIAdrian CollegeLoss83-102  
Mon Jan 24, 1966Waterloo, ONWaterloo LutheranLoss74-89  
Fri Feb 4, 1966Windsor, ONBuffaloLoss80-87  
Wed Feb 16, 1966Windsor, ONHillsdale CollegeUnknown  
Wed Feb 23, 1966Windsor, ONYoungstownUnknown  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Dec 4, 1965Windsor, ONGuelphWin127-41  
Fri Dec 10, 1965Windsor, ONWaterlooWin98-60Stats 
Fri Dec 17, 1965Windsor, ONMcMasterWin114-58  
Wed Jan 19, 1966Windsor, ONWesternWin116-65  
Sat Jan 22, 1966Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin106-62Stats 
Sat Jan 29, 1966Windsor, ONTorontoWin111-63  
Tue Feb 1, 1966Guelph, ONGuelphWin118-43  
Wed Feb 2, 1966Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin86-57  
Fri Feb 11, 1966Toronto, ONTorontoWin107-85  
Fri Feb 18, 1966London, ONWesternWin2-0 For Windsor conference record of 10-0
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 25, 1966Windsor, ONTorontoWin93-67 OQAA Semifinal
Sat Feb 26, 1966Windsor, ONWaterlooWin102-71StatsOQAA Final
Fri Mar 4, 1966Calgary, ABAcadiaWin78-68StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 5, 1966Calgary, ABCalgaryWin95-83StatsCIAU Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Bob Navetta25 on Mar 5, 1966 vs Calgary  
Martin Kwiatkowski24 on Mar 5, 1966 vs Calgary  
Gerry Horner17 on Mar 4, 1966 vs Acadia  
Angelo Mazzuchin14 on Mar 5, 1966 vs Calgary  
Doug Brown13 on Mar 4, 1966 vs Acadia  
Garry Polano9 on Mar 4, 1966 vs Acadia  
Mike Taranczuk8 on Mar 5, 1966 vs Calgary  
Dave McWha3 on Mar 4, 1966 vs Acadia  
Tom R. Elliott2 on Mar 5, 1966 vs Calgary  
Larry Kelly2 on Mar 4, 1966 vs Acadia  
Tom D. Elliott   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com