Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Manitoba Bisons - 1969-70 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Jack Lewis (2nd season)
League:Western Canada IAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
14-20.8751346-97684.1 - 61.016-40.8001645-127482.2 - 63.716-40.8001645-127482.2 - 63.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
24Ross Wedlake Forward6-5190 Winnipeg, MBSt. John's High
31Bob Town Forward6-41703Winnipeg, MBChurchill High
33Ralph Schoenfeld Forward6-4200 Saskatoon, SKAden Bowman Collegiate
 Terry Ball Guard6-31755Winnipeg, MBDakota Collegiate
 Unknown Brown   
 Angus Burr Guard6-11601East St. Paul, MB 
 Frank Cooney Guard6-0160 Toronto, ON 
 Cliff Cornelius Forward6-4 (Wartburg College)
 Bruce Dobbin Centre6-6205  
 Jon Gurban Guard6-3200 Minneapolis, MN 
 John Loewen Centre/Forward6-5195 Winnipeg, MBChurchill High
 Gary Puttaert Guard5-10145  
 Ted Stoesz Forward6-31854Winnipeg, MBDakota Collegiate (Simon Fraser)

Awards presented

Terry Ball WCIAA First Team All-Star
Cliff Cornelius WCIAA First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Ross Wedlake WCIAA First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 21, 1969Vancouver, BCUBCLoss48-59Stats 
Sat Nov 22, 1969Victoria, BCVictoriaWin70-61  
Fri Nov 28, 1969Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin84-64  
Sat Nov 29, 1969Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin92-42  
Fri Dec 12, 1969Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin77-64  
Fri Jan 9, 1970Winnipeg, MBReginaWin106-50  
Sat Jan 10, 1970Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin96-56  
Fri Jan 16, 1970Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss65-72  
Sat Jan 17, 1970Winnipeg, MBVictoriaWin94-65  
Fri Jan 23, 1970Regina, SKReginaWin93-51  
Sat Jan 24, 1970Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin81-54  
Fri Jan 30, 1970Calgary, ABCalgaryWin81-56  
Sat Jan 31, 1970Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin73-71  
Mon Feb 2, 1970Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin95-79  
Fri Feb 6, 1970Winnipeg, MBCalgaryWin95-71  
Fri Feb 13, 1970Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin96-61  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 20, 1970Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin77-62 WCIAA Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 21, 1970Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin80-63 WCIAA Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Feb 27, 1970Vancouver, BCUBCLoss74-82OTWCIAA Final (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 28, 1970Vancouver, BCUBCLoss68-91 WCIAA Final (Best of 3)

Overall scoring summary for the season

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Cliff Cornelius2000.00-00.00-00.0198-25278.60-000.00000000.0
Ross Wedlake2000.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-25200.00000000.0
* Team Totals2000.00-00.00-00.0198-25278.60-25200.00000000.0


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com