Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1971-72 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Frank Evans (First season)
League:WCIAA Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-80.5001205-122675.3 - 76.69-90.5001288-130371.6 - 72.410-90.5261360-137371.6 - 72.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Bob Allen Forward  
 Gary Burkett Guard6-0175  
 Harry deBeer   
 Joe Dudar Centre6-3  
 Barry King Guard5-9 Delaware, OHRutherford B. Hayes High
 Rich Macey Guard Winnipeg, MBDakota Collegiate
 Tom Prentice   
 Willie Reimer   
 Jose (Chico) Rodriguez Centre Bogota, Columbia 
 Charles Shiaro   
 Rich Stephanyshyn   
 Dave Synott   

Awards presented

Barry King WCIAA Great Plains First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 13, 1971Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin83-75Stats 
Sun Nov 14, 1971Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss0-2 Winnipeg loss
Sat Dec 11, 1971Bottineau, NDDakota BottineauWin72-70  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 19, 1971Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin90-81  
Sat Nov 20, 1971Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanLoss81-96  
Fri Nov 26, 1971Brandon, MBBrandonWin69-64  
Sat Nov 27, 1971Brandon, MBBrandonLoss62-73  
Fri Dec 3, 1971Winnipeg, MBReginaWin80-71  
Sat Dec 4, 1971Winnipeg, MBReginaWin77-75  
Wed Dec 8, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss54-66  
Wed Dec 15, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss64-90  
Fri Jan 7, 1972Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss67-79  
Sat Jan 8, 1972Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin73-72  
Fri Jan 21, 1972Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss80-89  
Sat Jan 22, 1972Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss61-67  
Fri Jan 28, 1972Regina, SKReginaLoss89-94  
Sat Jan 29, 1972Regina, SKReginaWin92-63  
Fri Feb 4, 1972Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin82-74  
Sat Feb 5, 1972Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin84-72  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Barry King16    111-27939.870-10864.827-57845.236 46  29218.2
Rich Macey16    89-21641.267-8876.112-14261.655 53  24515.3
Willie Reimer16    89-19944.728-3384.836-53895.633 27  20612.9
Joe Dudar16    57-11250.949-7070.034-56905.658 31  16310.2
Rich Stephanyshyn16    59-12547.233-4770.224-47714.449 27  1519.4
Jose (Chico) Rodriguez16    30-8236.630-5356.653-721257.848 32  905.6
Bob Allen14    24-8129.65-1241.715-30453.228 20  533.8
Tom Prentice15    3-1520.03-1030.03-470.510 7  90.6
Gary Burkett14    1-714.31-250.02-570.56 13  30.2
Charles Shiaro14    1-250.01-1100.0   4 2  30.2
Harry deBeer5                00.0
Dave Synott4           1 1  00.0
* Team Totals16    464-111841.5287-42467.7206-33854434.0328 259  121575.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com