Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Alberta Golden Bears - 1976-77 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Garry Smith (First season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.8001179-108859.0 - 54.425-140.6412373-232860.8 - 59.726-140.6502464-241461.6 - 60.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Bob Baker Guard Wetaskiwin, AB 
 Jim Bonin Forward6-3 Beaverlodge, AB 
 Mark Jorgenson Forward6-61 
 Tom Jorgenson Forward6-6 Calgary, AB 
 Scott Lawrie Guard6-2 Edmonton, AB 
 Doug Lucas Forward  
 Lowell Neumann 6-6 Edmonton, AB 
 Steve Panteluk Forward6-4  
 Jerry Shockey   
3Keith Smith Guard Calgary, ABCrescent Heights High
4Mike Abercrombie Guard Calgary, ABCrescent Heights High
5Brent Patterson Guard2Calgary, ABViscount Bennett High
32Pat Rooney Forward  
33Doug Baker Forward6-4 (Mount Royal)

Awards presented

Doug Baker Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP), Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
Brent Patterson Canada West First Team All-Star
Pat Rooney Canada West Second Team All-Star
Keith Smith Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Jul 1, 1976UnknownAustralian UniversitiesWin91-86  
Thu Jul 1, 1976UnknownGuelphWin2-0  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin68-62 Bear-Dinosaur Classic
Thu Jul 1, 1976Edmonton, ABManitobaLoss61-94 Bear-Dinosaur Classic
Thu Jul 1, 1976Edmonton, ABWinnipegLoss73-86 Bear-Dinosaur Classic
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABBrandonWin100-69 Tri-Universities Classic
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin93-65 Tri-Universities Classic
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss93-102 Tri-Universities Classic
Fri Nov 26, 1976Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss61-80StatsNaismith Classic
Sat Nov 27, 1976Waterloo, ONQueen'sWin2-0 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 27, 1976Waterloo, ONMcMasterLoss70-71 Naismith Classic
Tue Dec 28, 1976Winnipeg, MBWaterlooLoss81-85StatsGolden Boy Classic
Wed Dec 29, 1976Winnipeg, MBLaurentianWin105-93 Golden Boy Classic
Sun Jan 2, 1977Calgary, ABLakeheadLoss65-87 Calgary Classic
Mon Jan 3, 1977Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin87-67 Calgary Classic
Tue Jan 4, 1977Calgary, ABWaterlooLoss78-100StatsCalgary Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Jul 1, 1976Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin2-0  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin2-0  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss78-89  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss73-74  
Fri Nov 12, 1976Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin95-83  
Sat Nov 13, 1976Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin97-79  
Fri Jan 7, 1977Edmonton, ABUBCWin93-86Stats 
Sat Jan 8, 1977Edmonton, ABUBCWin84-77  
Fri Jan 14, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin88-72  
Sat Jan 15, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin72-69  
Fri Jan 21, 1977Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin94-75  
Sat Jan 22, 1977Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin88-69  
Fri Jan 28, 1977Victoria, BCVictoriaWin73-71  
Sat Jan 29, 1977Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss62-96  
Fri Feb 4, 1977Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin86-76  
Sat Feb 5, 1977Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin86-70  
Fri Feb 11, 1977Vancouver, BCUBCLoss0-2 UBC/Alberta split weekend pair
Sat Feb 12, 1977Vancouver, BCUBCWin2-0 UBC/Alberta split weekend pair
Fri Feb 18, 1977Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin2-0 Alberta win
Sat Feb 19, 1977Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin2-0 Alberta win
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 25, 1977Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin2-0 CWUAA Championship (best of 3)
Sat Feb 26, 1977Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin2-0 CWUAA Championship (best of 3)
Thu Mar 3, 1977Halifax, NSWaterlooLoss73-85StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 4, 1977Halifax, NSUPEILoss78-94StatsCIAU Consolation Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Doug Baker20    209-42748.966-8478.634-841185.9     48424.2
Brent Patterson19    96-22941.933-5461.17-43502.6     22511.8
Pat Rooney20    86-19244.860-8174.142-1071497.5     23211.6
Keith Smith20    104-21448.623-3271.917-23402.0     23111.6
Steve Panteluk16    47-9748.535-4381.416-40563.5     1298.1
Doug Lucas18    60-14042.915-2560.032-59915.1     1357.5
Mark Jorgenson19    26-7534.721-3363.619-37562.9     733.8
Mike Abercrombie20    29-9032.25-862.57-18251.2     633.1
Jerry Shockey20    18-6030.016-2080.08-14221.1     522.6
Scott Lawrie20    14-3441.24-666.77-12190.9     321.6
Jim Bonin14    7-1353.84-1040.04-480.6     181.3
Bob Baker9    1-520.0  1-120.2     20.2
* Team Totals20    697-157644.2282-39671.2194-44263631.8     167683.8

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Doug Baker48 on Jan 7, 1977 vs UBC  
Brent Patterson12 on Mar 3, 1977 vs Waterloo  
Keith Smith12 on Mar 3, 1977 vs Waterloo  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com