Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 1979-80 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Pat O'Brien (4th season)
Other staff: Jonathan Love (Assistant Coach), Howard Bloom (Manager)
League:OUAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-10.9171087-77590.6 - 64.619-70.7312115-177581.3 - 68.321-100.6772223-188571.7 - 60.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Paul Armstrong Forward6-35Ottawa, ONLisgar Collegiate
 Steve Casselman Guard6-31 
 Brock Cowan Forward6-42002Smith Falls, ONSmith Falls District Collegiate
 Grant Johnson Guard6-01Ottawa, ONRidgemont High
 Glen Lipomanis Forward6-51Montreal, QCJohn Abbott College
 Donovan Robinson Guard6-0  
 Chris Rodgers Forward6-4  
 Dale Roe Centre6-5  
 Greg Yeldon Forward6-42Ottawa, ONSt. Pius X High
13Tom Cholock Centre6-92Ottawa, ONLisgar Collegiate
31Rick Powers Guard6-03Ottawa, ONBrookfield High
51Pat Stoqua Guard5-104Ottawa, ONLisgar Collegiate

Awards presented

Pat O'Brien OUA East Coach of the Year
Tom Cholock OUA East First Team All-Star
Rick Powers OUA East First Team All-Star
Pat Stoqua OUA East First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Carleton overall record of 21-10
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Carleton overall record of 21-10
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Carleton overall record of 21-10
Fri Nov 9, 1979Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss61-73 Redmen Invitational
Sat Nov 10, 1979Montreal, QCMcGillLoss73-75 Redmen Invitational
Sun Nov 11, 1979Montreal, QCGuelphLoss59-68 Redmen Invitational
Fri Nov 23, 1979Waterloo, ONVictoriaLoss75-81 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 24, 1979Waterloo, ONStFXWin64-61 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 24, 1979Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin70-54StatsNaismith Classic
Tue Nov 27, 1979Ottawa, ONMcGillWin77-73  
Fri Nov 30, 1979Guelph, ONConcordiaWin77-66 Gryphon Invitational
Sat Dec 1, 1979Guelph, ONGuelphLoss72-76 Gryphon Invitational
Fri Dec 7, 1979Ithaca, NYCornellWin69-67 Cornell Tournament
Sat Dec 8, 1979Ithaca, NYColgateLoss37-39 Cornell Tournament
Thu Dec 27, 1979Ottawa, ONBishop'sWin89-73 Raven Invitational
Fri Dec 28, 1979Ottawa, ONWindsorWin82-78 Raven Invitational
Sat Dec 29, 1979Ottawa, ONYorkWin83-75 Raven Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 29, 1979Toronto, ONRyersonWin89-53  
Sat Jan 12, 1980Ottawa, ONYorkWin69-67  
Tue Jan 15, 1980Ottawa, ONOttawaWin81-72  
Fri Jan 18, 1980Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin100-71  
Sat Jan 26, 1980Ottawa, ONTorontoWin80-59  
Fri Feb 1, 1980Ottawa, ONQueen'sWin98-54  
Tue Feb 5, 1980Kingston, ONQueen'sWin104-73  
Fri Feb 8, 1980Ottawa, ONRyersonWin104-43  
Tue Feb 12, 1980Ottawa, ONOttawaWin124-72  
Sat Feb 16, 1980Toronto, ONTorontoWin71-61  
Sun Feb 17, 1980Toronto, ONYorkLoss59-80  
Fri Feb 22, 1980Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin108-70  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 26, 1980Ottawa, ONTorontoWin83-68 OUAA East Semifinal
Sat Mar 1, 1980Toronto, ONYorkLoss63-79 OUAA East Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Tom Cholock12    105-16663.331-3979.5 14812.329    24120.1
Rick Powers12    74-17442.522-2975.9 504.229    17014.2
Pat Stoqua12    70-13651.523-2979.3 544.537    16313.6
Greg Yeldon12    57-10057.023-4156.1 736.122    13711.4
Brock Cowan12    40-7255.617-3351.5 554.617    978.1
Paul Armstrong12    30-8037.521-2875.0 473.914    816.8
Glen Lipomanis12    24-6437.510-1283.3 423.526    584.8
Dale Roe12    16-3447.123-2882.1 373.110    554.6
Chris Rodgers12    14-3441.218-2475.0 292.413    463.8
Steve Casselman12    13-2748.15-1050.0 60.512    312.6
Grant Johnson12    3-650.02-2100.0 10.1     80.7
* Team Totals12    446-89349.9195-27570.9 54245.2209    108790.6


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com