Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Dalhousie Tigers - 1979-80 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Peter (Doc) Ryan (First season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
3-150.1671322-171373.4 - 95.24-220.1541828-244070.3 - 93.84-230.1481905-253470.6 - 93.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Al Campbell 6-0  
 Larry Gaudet 6-0 Dawson College
 Erik Haughn Forward6-6  
 Phil Howlett Forward6-54Middleton, NSWest Kings High
 Roger Jones 6-42Truro, NSCobequid Educational Centre
 Charles Judson Forward6-5  
 Steve Lambert Guard (Husson College)
 Alastair MacDonald Guard5-11 Halifax, NSSt. Patrick's High (Saint Mary's)
 John MacDonald Forward6-4 (College of Cape Breton)
 Brian McPhee Guard5-7 Glace Bay, NSSt. Michael's High
 Ken Russell Guard5-11 Dartmouth, NSDartmouth High
 Pat Slawter Guard/Forward6-11Dartmouth, NSDartmouth High
 Don Zwaagstra 6-4 Halifax West High

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 1979Ottawa, ONLaurierWin73-72 Gee-Gee Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 10, 1979Ottawa, ONBrockLoss45-65 Gee-Gee Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 10, 1979Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss76-89 Gee-Gee Tip Off Tournament
Sun Nov 11, 1979Halifax, NSHusson CollegeLoss77-94  
Fri Nov 30, 1979Guelph, ONGuelphLoss66-90 Gryphon Invitational
Sat Dec 1, 1979Guelph, ONConcordiaLoss83-114 Gryphon Invitational
Thu Jan 3, 1980Wolfville, NSVictoriaLoss44-99 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament
Fri Jan 4, 1980Wolfville, NSYorkLoss57-113 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament
Sat Jan 5, 1980Wolfville, NSConcordiaLoss62-85 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Nov 20, 1979Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss78-94  
Tue Nov 27, 1979Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss53-100  
Tue Dec 4, 1979Halifax, NSStFXLoss70-97  
Thu Jan 10, 1980Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss67-90  
Sat Jan 12, 1980Halifax, NSUNBLoss67-76  
Sun Jan 13, 1980Halifax, NSUPEIWin73-72  
Sun Jan 20, 1980Halifax, NSMount AllisonWin83-75  
Mon Jan 21, 1980Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss56-100  
Thu Jan 24, 1980Antigonish, NSStFXLoss53-85  
Tue Jan 29, 1980Halifax, NSStFXLoss71-99  
Sat Feb 2, 1980Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss74-95  
Wed Feb 6, 1980Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss92-107  
Sat Feb 9, 1980Fredericton, NBUNBLoss89-108  
Sun Feb 10, 1980Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin92-78  
Thu Feb 14, 1980Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss72-103  
Tue Feb 19, 1980Antigonish, NSStFXLoss71-97  
Tue Feb 26, 1980Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss72-110  
Thu Feb 28, 1980Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss89-127  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Phil Howlett18    131-26749.154-7374.067-1001679.359    31617.6
Steve Lambert12    87-25634.028-5154.916-12282.342    20216.8
Alastair MacDonald18    69-15245.434-5660.712-26382.167    1729.6
Roger Jones18    74-17941.316-3447.166-721387.761    1649.1
John MacDonald18    46-11340.711-2250.019-37563.120    1035.7
Pat Slawter17    34-7744.221-4052.515-17321.936    895.2
Erik Haughn17    31-8038.826-4163.425-46714.244    885.2
Larry Gaudet18    38-9241.38-988.91-12130.736    844.7
Charles Judson10    12-3633.33-650.07-14212.19    272.7
Don Zwaagstra18    18-3946.21-333.38-6140.817    372.1
Al Campbell18    12-4129.32-633.36-12181.019    261.4
Ken Russell15    5-3912.84-1136.44-7110.713    140.9
Brian McPhee3                00.0
* Team Totals18    557-137140.6208-35259.1246-36160733.7423    132273.4


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com