Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 1980-81 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Pat O'Brien (5th season)
League:OUAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-30.750970-88780.8 - 73.915-120.5561728-166464.0 - 61.617-120.5861732-166459.7 - 57.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Greg Armstrong Forward6-41Sarnia, ON 
 Steve Casselman Guard6-32 
 Brock Cowan Forward6-42003Smith Falls, ONSmith Falls District Collegiate
 Len Fitzpatrick Forward6-12 
 Bill Holmes Guard6-11Ottawa, ONHillcrest High
 Grant Johnson Guard6-02Ottawa, ONRidgemont High
 Keith Kelso Forward6-63Ottawa, ONNepean High
 Gord Pepper   
 Rick Powers Guard6-04Ottawa, ONBrookfield High
 Mike Spyridis Forward6-11Etobicoke, ON 
 Greg Yeldon Forward6-43Ottawa, ONSt. Pius X High

Awards presented

Keith Kelso OUA East Second Team All-Star
Rick Powers OUA East First Team All-Star
Greg Yeldon OUA East Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980Ottawa, ONBishop'sLoss0-2 Ottawa Tip Off Tournament
Tue Jul 1, 1980Ottawa, ONCarleton AlumniWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Carleton win over Alumni
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownOttawaWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Carleton win over Ottawa
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownTorontoWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Carleton win over Toronto
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownUQTRLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 UQTR win over Carleton
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownConcordiaLoss84-86  
Tue Jul 1, 1980Ottawa, ONConcordiaLoss54-77 Ottawa Tip Off Tournament
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownConcordiaLoss63-73  
Fri Oct 31, 1980Montreal, QCMcGillWin82-73  
Sat Nov 8, 1980Ottawa, ONOttawaWin2-0 Ottawa Tip Off Tournament
Fri Nov 14, 1980Ottawa, ONMcGillLoss78-85  
Fri Nov 28, 1980London, ONMcGillLoss83-91 Western Invitational
Sat Nov 29, 1980London, ONTorontoWin69-56 Western Invitational
Sat Dec 27, 1980Ottawa, ONLakeheadLoss0-2 Raven Invitational
Sun Dec 28, 1980Ottawa, ONOttawaWin84-72 Raven Invitational
Mon Dec 29, 1980Ottawa, ONWaterlooWin69-66StatsRaven Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Nov 30, 1980Toronto, ONRyersonWin105-84  
Fri Jan 9, 1981UnknownYorkLoss64-82  
Fri Jan 16, 1981Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin83-72  
Sat Jan 24, 1981Ottawa, ONTorontoWin81-64  
Tue Jan 27, 1981Ottawa, ONOttawaWin78-75  
Tue Feb 3, 1981UnknownQueen'sLoss76-85  
Fri Feb 6, 1981UnknownRyersonWin89-68  
Sat Feb 7, 1981UnknownQueen'sWin92-74  
Tue Feb 10, 1981Ottawa, ONOttawaWin74-69 Beaver Cup game
Fri Feb 13, 1981UnknownYorkLoss70-80  
Sat Feb 14, 1981Toronto, ONTorontoWin85-66  
Fri Feb 20, 1981Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin73-68  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 24, 1981Ottawa, ONLaurentianLoss88-92 OUAA East Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rick Powers12    122-25348.256-7772.7 554.633    30025.0
Greg Yeldon12    77-17344.541-5771.9 907.540    19516.2
Keith Kelso12    68-13251.556-8367.5 1149.529    19216.0
Bill Holmes12    43-9943.446-6471.9 635.224    13211.0
Steve Casselman12    25-4753.25-862.5 363.026    554.6
Brock Cowan6    11-3928.25-862.5 203.313    274.5
Gord Pepper12    14-2653.88-1080.0 50.48    363.0
Greg Armstrong11    11-2055.02-366.7 181.625    242.2
Mike Spyridis1    0-30.02-2100.0   3    22.0
Grant Johnson3    2-825.0   10.3     41.3
Len Fitzpatrick3    1-333.31-250.0 20.73    31.0
* Team Totals12    374-80346.6222-31470.7 40433.7204    97080.8


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com