Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Lakehead Nor'Westers - 1980-81 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Rick Suffield (First season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-80.500757-66247.3 - 41.411-120.4781088-99347.3 - 43.211-120.4781088-99347.3 - 43.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Cliff Bluechardt Guard Toronto, ON 
 David Kurtz Centre6-5  
 Rudy Massino   
 Greg McLean Forward6-8 Thunder Bay, ON 
 Ken Ross   
 Tony Scott Guard6-1 Winnipeg, MBGordon Bell High
 Darryl Stevenson Guard Winnipeg, MB 
 Karl Subban Forward6-32Sudbury, ONSudbury Secondary
 Sean Taylor Forward6-5 Port Perry, ON 
 Harry Van Laar Forward6-7 St. Catharines, ONGovernor Simcoe Secondary
 Rod Williams Guard6-2  
 David Zanatta Guard5-103Sault Ste. Marie, ONBawating Collegiate
 John Zanatta Guard6-15Sault Ste. Marie, ONBawating Collegiate
 Wally Zielinski 6-5 Sault Ste. Marie, ON 

Awards presented

Rick Suffield Great Plains Coach of the Year
Karl Subban Great Plains Second Team All-Star
David Zanatta Great Plains Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownMcMasterLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 McMaster win over Lakehead
Sun Nov 9, 1980Edmonton, ABReginaWin99-72 Alberta Invitational
Sat Dec 27, 1980Ottawa, ONCarletonWin2-0 Raven Invitational
Sun Dec 28, 1980Ottawa, ONCalgaryWin2-0 Raven Invitational
Mon Dec 29, 1980Ottawa, ONStFXLoss77-87 Raven Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 14-2
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 14-2
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 14-2
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 14-2
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 10-6
Fri Jan 9, 1981Thunder Bay, ONReginaWin87-54  
Sat Jan 10, 1981Thunder Bay, ONReginaWin88-59  
Fri Jan 16, 1981Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss73-92  
Sat Jan 17, 1981Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss81-95  
Fri Jan 30, 1981Thunder Bay, ONWinnipegWin60-54  
Sat Jan 31, 1981Thunder Bay, ONWinnipegWin57-47  
Fri Feb 6, 1981Regina, SKReginaWin80-59  
Sat Feb 7, 1981Regina, SKReginaWin104-64  
Fri Feb 20, 1981Thunder Bay, ONManitobaWin55-45  
Fri Feb 27, 1981Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss0-2 For Winnipeg conference record of 8-8
Sat Feb 28, 1981Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss70-83  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 6, 1981Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss57-74 GPAC Semifinal
Sat Mar 7, 1981Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss94-96 GPAC Third Place


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com