Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Ottawa Gee Gees - 1980-81 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:John Restivo (2nd season)
League:OUAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
4-80.333914-98076.2 - 81.76-160.2731525-163569.3 - 74.38-250.2422062-230362.5 - 69.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Allan Abbas Centre6-9 Moncton, NB 
 Greg Ashe Forward6-5 Ottawa, ONHillcrest High
 George Azzie   
 Brian Coburn Guard5-10 Ottawa, ONHillcrest High
 Phil Davies Forward6-4 Burlington, ON 
 Mike Havey Forward6-3 Arnprior, ON 
 Mark Hreljac 3 
 Matt Kane Forward Philadelphia, PA 
 Doug Martin Forward6-4180 Toronto, ONGeorge S. Henry Academy
 Guy Tellier   
10Rob Ashe Guard6-4 Ottawa, ON 
21Henry Hanlan Guard6-0 Brampton, ONCentral Peel Secondary
33Steve Jackson Forward6-22Ottawa, ONBell High

Awards presented

Rob Ashe OUA East Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownCarletonLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 Carleton win over Ottawa
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownGuelphLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 Guelph win over Ottawa
Tue Jul 1, 1980Ottawa, ONConcordiaLoss72-96 Ottawa Tip Off Tournament
Sat Oct 25, 1980Ottawa, ONCegep MaisonneuveLoss94-97  
Fri Oct 31, 1980Lennoxville, QCBishop'sLoss79-87 Bishops Tournament
Sat Nov 1, 1980Lennoxville, QCLyndon StateLoss97-112 Bishops Tournament
Fri Nov 7, 1980Ottawa, ONBishop'sLoss0-2 Ottawa Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 8, 1980Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss0-2 Ottawa Tip Off Tournament
Fri Nov 14, 1980Guelph, ONUnknownLoss0-2 Guelph Tournament
Sat Nov 15, 1980Guelph, ONWaterlooLoss56-60StatsGuelph Tournament
Fri Nov 21, 1980Ottawa, ONUQTRWin92-89  
Sat Nov 22, 1980Ottawa, ONVanier CollegeWin74-70  
Fri Nov 28, 1980Waterloo, ONCedarville CollegeLoss60-86 WLU Tourney
Sat Nov 29, 1980Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin87-74 WLU Tourney
Fri Dec 5, 1980Utica, NYUtica State CollegeLoss65-88  
Sat Dec 6, 1980North Adams, MAWilliams CollegeLoss56-105 North Adams State Tournament
Sun Dec 7, 1980North Adams, MAPlattsburg StateLoss89-104 North Adams State Tournament
Sat Dec 27, 1980Ottawa, ONCalgaryLoss77-82 Raven Invitational
Sun Dec 28, 1980Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss72-84 Raven Invitational
Mon Dec 29, 1980Ottawa, ONWesternLoss76-79 Raven Invitational
Tue Jan 6, 1981Ottawa, ONMontrealWin2-0  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 29, 1980Toronto, ONRyersonWin85-65  
Sat Jan 10, 1981Ottawa, ONYorkLoss81-93  
Sat Jan 17, 1981Ottawa, ONLaurentianLoss66-80  
Tue Jan 20, 1981Kingston, ONQueen'sWin81-75  
Fri Jan 23, 1981Ottawa, ONTorontoLoss82-85  
Tue Jan 27, 1981Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss75-78  
Fri Jan 30, 1981Toronto, ONYorkLoss67-101  
Sat Jan 31, 1981Toronto, ONTorontoLoss65-84  
Sat Feb 7, 1981Ottawa, ONRyersonWin81-60  
Tue Feb 10, 1981Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss69-74 Beaver Cup game
Sat Feb 14, 1981Ottawa, ONQueen'sWin86-80  
Sat Feb 21, 1981Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss76-105  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rob Ashe12    100-20249.526-3770.3 937.838    22618.8
Matt Kane5    24-4355.86-1060.0 224.410    5410.8
Greg Ashe10    44-9347.310-1952.6 575.736    989.8
Steve Jackson12    45-10244.120-3164.5 383.232    1109.2
Henry Hanlan12    42-10241.225-3669.4 393.237    1099.1
Brian Coburn12    34-9336.630-3878.9 665.540    988.2
Doug Martin11    30-8137.022-3073.3 716.519    827.5
Allan Abbas12    40-7652.69-1464.3 433.622    897.4
Mike Havey10    12-3534.35-955.6 202.014    292.9
Phil Davies5    5-1533.34-757.1 71.411    142.8
George Azzie9    2-1118.22-450.0 20.26    60.7
Guy Tellier2    0-10.0          00.0
* Team Totals12    378-85444.3159-23567.7 45838.2265    91576.2


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com