Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks - 1980-81 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Don Smith (8th season)
League:OUAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
2-100.167795-98866.2 - 82.37-200.2591353-161250.1 - 59.77-200.2591353-161250.1 - 59.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Doug Aitchison Centre6-5  
 Leon Arendse Forward6-3 St. Catharines, ON 
 Tim Brennan Forward6-5 Kitchener, ON 
 Peter Briglio Guard  
 Dave Byck   
 Steve Dent   
 Bob Fitzgerald Forward6-3 Brantford, ONSt. John's College
 Paul Flack Forward6-22Streetsville, ON 
 Bill Hanes   
 Emil Labaj Guard6-2 Oshawa, ON 
 Pat Langdon Guard  
 Enzo Piazza Guard/Forward6-1 Windsor, ON 
24Brian Totzke Guard5-10 Kitchener, ON 
34Helmut Tinnes Forward6-5 Aylmer, ON 

Awards presented

Tim Brennan Laurier Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player
Dave Byck Laurier Men's Basketball Rookie of the Year
Bob Fitzgerald OUA West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 Brandon win over Laurier
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownWinnipegLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 Laurier loss to Winnipeg
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownRyersonWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Laurier win#1 over Ryerson
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownTorontoWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Laurier win#1 over Toronto
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownRyersonWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Laurier win#2 over Ryerson
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownTorontoWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 Laurier win#2 over Toronto
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownManitobaLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 Manitoba win over Laurier
Fri Nov 21, 1980Waterloo, ONMcGillWin72-57 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 22, 1980Waterloo, ONAcadiaLoss75-91 Naismith Classic
Fri Nov 28, 1980Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss56-61StatsWLU Tourney
Sat Nov 29, 1980Waterloo, ONOttawaLoss74-87 WLU Tourney
Fri Dec 5, 1980Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss61-72 Concordia Centennial Pepsi Tournament
Sat Dec 6, 1980Montreal, QCMcGillLoss64-76 Concordia Centennial Pepsi Tournament
Wed Mar 4, 1981Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss64-73StatsCIAU Warm-Up
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jan 6, 1981UnknownBrockWin85-69  
Sat Jan 10, 1981UnknownGuelphLoss54-79  
Tue Jan 13, 1981UnknownMcMasterLoss49-85  
Sat Jan 17, 1981Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss45-71Stats 
Tue Jan 20, 1981UnknownWesternLoss64-78  
Wed Jan 28, 1981UnknownWindsorLoss68-99  
Sat Jan 31, 1981UnknownBrockLoss70-95  
Tue Feb 3, 1981UnknownGuelphLoss74-75  
Sat Feb 7, 1981UnknownMcMasterLoss70-72  
Tue Feb 10, 1981Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss63-85Stats 
Sun Feb 15, 1981UnknownWesternWin74-72  
Sat Feb 21, 1981UnknownWindsorLoss79-108  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 24, 1981Windsor, ONWindsorLoss84-101 OUAA West Quarterfinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Bob Fitzgerald7    36-8840.934-5660.7 476.720    10615.1
Dave Byck12    62-11852.519-2770.4 1018.443    14311.9
Leon Arendse12    61-18632.818-3452.9 584.826    14011.7
Paul Flack12    49-13636.014-3046.7 332.829    1129.3
Tim Brennan12    45-10742.117-3548.6 937.841    1078.9
Enzo Piazza12    36-9139.65-1145.5 272.212    776.4
Peter Briglio4    5-1050.06-785.7 10.24    164.0
Doug Aitchison12    18-4143.98-1361.5 423.518    443.7
Brian Totzke12    14-4531.12-728.6 171.420    302.5
Pat Langdon3    2-2100.03-560.0   3    72.3
Steve Dent5    3-837.5   91.88    61.2
Helmut Tinnes5    2-825.00-20.0 30.66    40.8
Bill Hanes4    1-425.00-10.0 20.55    20.5
Emil Labaj6    0-30.01-250.0 61.04    10.2
* Team Totals12    334-84739.4127-23055.2 43936.6239    79566.2


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com