Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

St. Francis Xavier X-Men - 1982-83 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Steve Konchalski (8th season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-50.7221516-135784.2 - 75.419-80.7042269-205184.0 - 76.024-130.6492279-206161.6 - 55.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Luc Adam Forward6-4 Cegep Maisonneuve
 Sandy Archibald  Antigonish, NSAntigonish Regional High
 Brent Baker Guard6-3185 Middleton, NSMiddleton Regional High
 Shane Brewster Forward6-3 Glace Bay, NSMorrison High
 Kyle Gayle Guard6-2185 Bayonne, NJ 
 John Hatch Forward6-63Calgary, ABBishop Carroll High
 Jeremy Jackson   
 Roger Joli-Coeur Centre6-11235 Sillery, QC 
 Andy Ledoux Forward6-3185 Kingston, ON 
 Geoff McIver Guard6-14Halifax, NSQueen Elizabeth High
 Al Phillips Forward6-51St. Albans, NY 
 Ken Scott   
 Chris Sellitri Forward6-5 Brooklyn, NYBishop Loughlin High

Awards presented

Steve Konchalski AUS Coach of the Year
John Hatch Ernie Foshay Memorial Award (StFX Invitational Tourn MVP), Frank Baldwin Memorial Trophy (AUS Most Valuable Player), AUS First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
Al Phillips AUS Rookie of the Year

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 24-13
Thu Nov 11, 1982Antigonish, NSHusson CollegeWin2-0 StFX Invitational
Fri Nov 12, 1982Antigonish, NSOttawaWin90-74 StFX Invitational
Fri Nov 12, 1982Antigonish, NSDalhousieWin106-96 StFX Invitational
Tue Dec 28, 1982Winnipeg, MBBrockLoss93-101OTWesmen Classic
Tue Dec 28, 1982Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin94-79 Wesmen Classic
Wed Dec 29, 1982Winnipeg, MBMcMasterWin80-60 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 26, 1982Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin90-79  
Fri Dec 3, 1982Antigonish, NSAcadiaWin105-79  
Wed Jan 12, 1983Antigonish, NSDalhousieLoss83-87  
Sat Jan 15, 1983Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss84-93  
Tue Jan 18, 1983Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin75-62Stats 
Fri Jan 21, 1983Antigonish, NSUNBWin87-78  
Sat Jan 22, 1983Antigonish, NSMount AllisonWin99-73  
Tue Jan 25, 1983Antigonish, NSAcadiaWin82-71  
Sat Jan 29, 1983Halifax, NSDalhousieWin78-65  
Tue Feb 1, 1983Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sWin86-83OT 
Fri Feb 4, 1983Antigonish, NSDalhousieLoss85-88  
Mon Feb 7, 1983Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin93-75  
Sat Feb 12, 1983Antigonish, NSUPEIWin92-68  
Wed Feb 16, 1983Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin85-74Stats 
Sat Feb 19, 1983Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss72-74  
Tue Feb 22, 1983Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sLoss73-74  
Fri Feb 25, 1983Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin76-69  
Sat Feb 26, 1983Fredericton, NBUNBWin71-65OT 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 4, 1983Halifax, NSUNBWin81-77 AUAA Semifinal
Sat Mar 5, 1983Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss74-81 AUAA Championship
Fri Mar 11, 1983Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss53-56 CIAU Regional Semifinal
Sat Mar 12, 1983Edmonton, ABWinnipegWin82-70 CIAU Regional Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
John Hatch18    148-29749.8116-15475.399-11020911.6492150  41222.9
Al Phillips18    112-19657.151-7171.867-851528.444953  27515.3
Geoff McIver18    103-20151.230-3683.311-24351.9356541  23613.1
Chris Sellitri18    79-16547.941-7653.939-1021417.8453226  19911.1
Brent Baker18    83-18544.929-3974.421-50713.9318747  19510.8
Kyle Gayle18    32-6946.410-1471.46-20261.4256240  744.1
Luc Adam18    29-8235.414-1687.511-30412.3281313  724.0
Ken Scott15    6-1442.92-540.01-560.4557  140.9
Andy Ledoux17    3-1225.08-8100.04-590.5346  140.8
Roger Joli-Coeur18    6-1154.51-714.310-13231.31027  130.7
Sandy Archibald16    3-742.94-580.00-110.1311  100.6
Jeremy Jackson16    1-616.7     2 2  20.1
* Team Totals18    605-124548.6306-43171.0269-44571439.7280301293  151684.2

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
John Hatch43 on Feb 16, 1983 vs Acadia  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com