Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

St. Francis Xavier X-Men - 1985-86 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Steve Konchalski (11th season)
Other staff: Greg LaMorre (Manager), Richard DeMont (Trainer), Greg MacDonald (Trainer)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-80.5561327-133973.7 - 74.417-130.5671629-166554.3 - 55.517-140.5481629-166752.5 - 53.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
12Rick Foshay Guard5-10165 Antigonish, NS 
14Bruce MacKenzie Forward6-3180 Sydney, NS 
20Brent Baker Guard6-3185 Middleton, NSMiddleton Regional High
21Wade Smith Guard6-1165 Halifax, NSQueen Elizabeth High
22Kyle Gayle Guard6-2185 Bayonne, NJ 
23David Napier Guard6-0160 Halifax, NS 
25Chris Ross Guard6-1185 Truro, NSCobequid Educational Centre
32Tom Chadwick Forward6-6200 Ottawa, ONSt. Pius X High
33Monty Gallant Forward6-6220 Princeton, NJPeddie Prep
42James Paulsen Forward6-6220 Kingston, ONKingston Collegiate
44Andy Ledoux Forward6-3185 Kingston, ON 
45Roger Joli-Coeur Centre6-11235 Sillery, QC 

Awards presented

Kyle Gayle Frank Baldwin Memorial Trophy (AUS Most Valuable Player), AUS First Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Mon Jul 1, 1985Wolfville, NSUnknownWin2-0 Acadia Tip-Off Tournament Semifinal
Mon Jul 1, 1985Wolfville, NSUnknownLoss0-2 Acadia Tip-Off Tournament Final
Mon Jul 1, 1985Antigonish, NSUnknownWin2-0 StFX Invitational Semifinal
Mon Jul 1, 1985Antigonish, NSAcadiaLoss0-2 StFX Invitational Final
Mon Jul 1, 1985Wolfville, NSUnknownWin2-0 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament Quarterfinal
Mon Jul 1, 1985Wolfville, NSUnknownWin2-0 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament Semifinal
Mon Jul 1, 1985Wolfville, NSUnknownWin2-0 Stu Aberdeen Memorial Tournament Final
Fri Nov 15, 1985Toronto, ONUnknownWin2-0 Toronto National Tournament
Sat Nov 16, 1985Toronto, ONUnknownWin2-0 Toronto National Tournament
Sun Nov 17, 1985Toronto, ONConcordiaLoss80-83 Toronto National Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 22, 1985Antigonish, NSUNBWin73-66  
Sat Nov 23, 1985Antigonish, NSUPEIWin67-65  
Tue Nov 26, 1985Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin85-792OT 
Thu Nov 28, 1985Antigonish, NSDalhousieLoss78-88  
Tue Jan 7, 1986Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss75-86  
Sat Jan 11, 1986Antigonish, NSMount AllisonWin71-66  
Tue Jan 14, 1986Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss70-75  
Tue Jan 21, 1986Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss63-79  
Fri Jan 24, 1986Antigonish, NSDalhousieLoss77-80  
Tue Jan 28, 1986Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss70-78  
Thu Jan 30, 1986Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sWin69-68  
Sat Feb 1, 1986Fredericton, NBUNBLoss68-71  
Wed Feb 5, 1986Antigonish, NSAcadiaLoss79-81  
Fri Feb 7, 1986Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin74-70  
Tue Feb 11, 1986Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sWin67-66  
Fri Feb 14, 1986Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin73-63  
Sat Feb 15, 1986Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin77-74  
Fri Feb 21, 1986Antigonish, NSAcadiaWin91-84  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 28, 1986Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss63-78 AUAA Semifinal
Fri Mar 7, 1986Lethbridge, ABVictoriaLoss72-80 CIAU Regional Semifinal
Sat Mar 8, 1986Lethbridge, ABConcordiaLoss73-83 CIAU Regional Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Chris Ross18    108-25342.779-9979.823-28512.8434435  29516.4
Kyle Gayle18    106-23944.480-10874.130-881186.6449275  29216.2
Andy Ledoux18    103-22745.473-8982.041-651065.9423033  27915.5
Wade Smith18    74-14949.722-3366.714-20341.9291933  1709.4
Monty Gallant18    73-14749.723-3174.256-691256.936611  1699.4
Roger Joli-Coeur18    27-5054.013-2065.022-37593.340514  673.7
James Paulsen16    11-3432.48-1457.115-30452.834315  301.9
Tom Chadwick18    7-1838.95-955.67-12191.114 4  191.1
Bruce MacKenzie18    1-911.14-4100.01-230.24 1  60.3
Rick Foshay18    0-20.0     1    00.0
David Napier18    0-10.0          00.0
* Team Totals18    510-112945.2307-40775.4209-35156031.1287199221  132773.7


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com