Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1986-87 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bill Wedlake (2nd season)
Other staff: Rich Rempel (Assistant Coach)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-50.688928-87758.0 - 54.818-80.6921817-174969.9 - 67.318-80.6921817-174969.9 - 67.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Jason Friesen   
 Murray Gehman Forward6-2  
 Dean Goodbrandson Forward6-2  
 Chris Hicks   
 Rob Janzen   
 Mark Johannson Guard6-3  
 Will Parker Guard6-2  
 Mike Thomas  Winnipeg, MBSt. John's High (Assiniboine CC)
 Burke Toews   
 Joey Vickery Guard5-102Winnipeg, MBWestwood Collegiate
 Merv Voth Forward6-2  
 Larry Wandowich   

Awards presented

Bill Wedlake Great Plains Coach of the Year
Mark Johannson Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Will Parker Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Joey Vickery Great Plains First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 23, 1986Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin93-77  
Sun Nov 2, 1986Winnipeg, MBWaterlooWin107-106StatsWinnipeg Tournament
Fri Nov 21, 1986Waterloo, ONRyersonWin105-93 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 22, 1986Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin86-78StatsNaismith Classic
Sun Nov 23, 1986Waterloo, ONConcordiaWin60-59 Naismith Classic
Fri Jan 2, 1987Calgary, ABVictoriaLoss70-75 Dinosaur Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1986UnknownBrandonWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Tue Jul 1, 1986UnknownBrandonWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Tue Jul 1, 1986UnknownLakeheadWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Tue Jul 1, 1986UnknownLakeheadWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Tue Jul 1, 1986UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Tue Jul 1, 1986UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Fri Jan 9, 1987UnknownBrandonLoss86-90 Two games: Brandon 179, Winnipeg 172
Sat Jan 10, 1987UnknownBrandonLoss86-89 Two games: Brandon 179, Winnipeg 172
Fri Jan 16, 1987Regina, SKReginaWin95-85Stats 
Sat Jan 17, 1987Regina, SKReginaLoss94-95Stats 
Mon Jan 19, 1987UnknownManitobaWin96-77 Guess on date
Fri Jan 23, 1987UnknownLakeheadWin93-85 Two games: Winnipeg 185, Lakehead 170
Sat Jan 24, 1987UnknownLakeheadWin92-85 Two games: Winnipeg 185, Lakehead 170
Mon Jan 26, 1987UnknownManitobaLoss82-84  
Fri Feb 20, 1987Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss89-97Stats 
Sat Feb 21, 1987Winnipeg, MBReginaWin103-90Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 28, 1987Winnipeg, MBReginaWin110-100StatsGPAC Semifinal
Sun Mar 1, 1987Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss88-100 GPAC Championship
Thu Mar 12, 1987Halifax, NSTorontoWin80-78 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 13, 1987Halifax, NSUBCLoss90-106 CIAU Semifinal


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com