Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Alberta Golden Bears - 1987-88 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Don Horwood (5th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-120.4001561-155278.0 - 77.610-150.4001991-201479.6 - 80.611-160.4072138-215679.2 - 79.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Mark Baker   
 Sean Chursinoff Guard Calgary, ABSir Winston Churchill High
 Michael Frisby   
 Brian Halsey Forward Edmonton, ABHarry Ainlay High
 Ed Joseph 3Edmonton, ABM.E. LaZerte High
 Bill Lavergne Forward6-8215 Edmonton, AB 
 Scott McIntyre   
 Cliff Rowein   
 Ryan Smith Guard6-0 Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
 Rick Stanley   
 Chris Toutant   
 Dave Youngs   

Awards presented

Rick Stanley Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy (CIS Rookie of the Year)
Chris Toutant Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 29, 1987Saskatoon, SKReginaWin103-99StatsIronman Classic
Fri Oct 30, 1987Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss91-101 Ironman Classic
Fri Nov 20, 1987Manoa, HIHawaii at ManoaWin79-71  
Sat Jan 2, 1988Calgary, ABBishop'sLoss68-71 Dino Classic
Sun Jan 3, 1988Calgary, ABReginaWin78-70StatsDinosaur Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 23, 1987Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin81-78  
Sat Oct 24, 1987Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss70-86  
Fri Nov 6, 1987Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss68-87  
Sat Nov 7, 1987Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss68-77  
Fri Nov 27, 1987Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanLoss65-70  
Sat Nov 28, 1987Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanLoss89-90OT 
Fri Jan 8, 1988Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss74-78  
Sat Jan 9, 1988Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss76-87  
Fri Jan 15, 1988Calgary, ABCalgaryWin64-59  
Sat Jan 16, 1988Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss86-87  
Fri Jan 22, 1988Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin77-61  
Sat Jan 23, 1988Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin109-72  
Fri Jan 29, 1988Edmonton, ABUBCWin83-74  
Sat Jan 30, 1988Edmonton, ABUBCLoss74-78  
Fri Feb 5, 1988Vancouver, BCUBCLoss82-91  
Sat Feb 6, 1988Vancouver, BCUBCLoss80-84  
Fri Feb 12, 1988Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin83-66  
Sat Feb 13, 1988Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin71-59  
Fri Feb 19, 1988Edmonton, ABVictoriaLoss84-97  
Sat Feb 20, 1988Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin77-71  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 26, 1988Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss77-82 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 27, 1988Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss81-110 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Chris Toutant20  16-4436.4138-27350.555-6880.923-30532.64729   34717.4
Rick Stanley20    108-19056.833-4573.334-701045.2557   24912.4
Scott McIntyre18    70-13153.446-6076.727-51784.36311   18610.3
Sean Chursinoff20  7-1838.969-13650.757-6686.418-28462.34060   20210.1
Dave Youngs20  27-5747.469-14248.626-3378.817-44613.05251   1919.6
Ed Joseph20  4-1040.059-13543.728-4168.331-55864.36623   1507.5
Mark Baker20    43-7855.114-3441.226-21472.45114   1005.0
Cliff Rowein20  7-1741.222-5639.315-2462.57-15221.13022   663.3
Brian Halsey14  1-1100.012-2352.22-2100.03-140.334   271.9
Ryan Smith20  3-742.97-1546.712-1675.02-570.378   291.4
Bill Lavergne16    5-1338.52-540.01-560.47    120.8
Michael Frisby12    1-1100.00-20.00-110.121   20.2
* Team Totals20  65-15442.2603-119350.5290-39673.2189-32651525.8423230   156178.0


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com