Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1988-89 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bill Wedlake (4th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
5-70.417298-29424.8 - 24.58-120.400860-89943.0 - 45.08-120.400860-89943.0 - 45.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Murray Gehman Forward6-2  
 Dean Goodbrandson Forward6-2  
 Nick Janzen Forward6-6 Winnipeg, MBVincent Massey Collegiate
 Charles Sabourin Forward6-9  
 Burke Toews   
 Larry Wandowich   

Awards presented

Murray Gehman Great Plains First Team All-Star
Dean Goodbrandson Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Burke Toews Great Plains First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 29, 1988Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss83-92StatsWinnipeg Tournament
Thu Nov 3, 1988Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss62-77  
Sat Nov 5, 1988Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeUnknown  
Fri Nov 11, 1988Waterloo, ONMcMasterWin76-71 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 12, 1988Waterloo, ONTorontoWin71-69 Naismith Classic
Sun Nov 13, 1988Waterloo, ONAcadiaLoss57-70 Naismith Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 11-1
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 11-1
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 11-1
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownBrandonLoss0-2 For Brandon conference record of 11-1
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 5-7
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 5-7
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 5-7
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownManitobaLoss0-2 For Winnipeg conference record of 5-7
Fri Jan 13, 1989Regina, SKReginaLoss78-81Stats 
Sat Jan 14, 1989Regina, SKReginaLoss74-78Stats 
Sat Feb 4, 1989Winnipeg, MBReginaWin64-60Stats 
Sun Feb 5, 1989Winnipeg, MBReginaWin76-65Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 24, 1989Regina, SKReginaWin75-73StatsGPAC Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 25, 1989Regina, SKReginaLoss75-89StatsGPAC Semifinal (best of 3)
Sun Feb 26, 1989Regina, SKReginaLoss63-64StatsGPAC Semifinal (best of 3)


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com