Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

St. Francis Xavier X-Men - 1990-91 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Steve Konchalski (16th season)
Other staff: Chris Ross (Assistant Coach), Tim Hynes (Assistant Coach)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
17-30.8501591-141079.5 - 70.521-40.8401988-174679.5 - 69.825-70.7811996-175262.4 - 54.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
12Doug MacKinnon Guard6-41804New Waterford, NSBreton Education Centre
13Brian Lee Guard5-111751Ottawa, ONSir Robert Borden High
20Otis Delaney Forward6-21705Saint John, NBSaint John High
21Joe Odhiambo Guard6-21901Waterloo, ON 
22Danny McFarland Guard6-11754Antigonish, NSDr. J.H. Gillis Regional High
23Augy Jones Guard6-01705Halifax, NSQueen Elizabeth High
25Aristide Nguilibet Forward6-81952Bangui, Central African Republic 
32Marion Mathis Forward6-43 
33Richard Bella Centre6-92352Bangui, Central African Republic 
35Guy Mbongo Forward6-62152Bangui, Central African Republic 
44Blair White Forward6-52151St. John's, NLBrother Rice High
45Todd McKillop Forward6-42Moncton, NBHarrison Trimble High

Awards presented

Steve Konchalski AUS Coach of the Year
Richard Bella StFX Men's Basketball Team MVP, StFX Men's Basketball Best Rebounder, Ernie Foshay Memorial Award (StFX Invitational Tourn MVP), AUS First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Brian Lee StFX Men's Basketball Rookie of the Year
Marion Mathis StFX Men's Basketball Most Improved Player, AUS Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 25-7
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 25-7
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 25-7
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 25-7
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For StFX overall record of 25-7
Date unknownAntigonish, NSUnknownWin2-0 StFX Invitational
Date unknownAntigonish, NSUnknownWin2-0 StFX Invitational
Fri Oct 26, 1990Montreal, QCUnknownUnknown Concordia Nike Centennial Classic
Sat Oct 27, 1990Montreal, QCUnknownUnknown Concordia Nike Centennial Classic
Fri Nov 9, 1990Waterloo, ONLaurierWin97-63 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 10, 1990Waterloo, ONGuelphWin71-67 Naismith Classic
Sun Nov 11, 1990Waterloo, ONWinnipegWin81-76 Naismith Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Nov 20, 1990Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss77-79  
Fri Nov 23, 1990Antigonish, NSUPEIWin84-57  
Wed Nov 28, 1990Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin79-75  
Sat Dec 1, 1990Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss59-66  
Fri Jan 11, 1991Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss52-85  
Tue Jan 15, 1991Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sWin91-83  
Sat Jan 19, 1991Antigonish, NSMemorialWin90-65  
Sun Jan 20, 1991Antigonish, NSMemorialWin80-54  
Wed Jan 23, 1991Antigonish, NSAcadiaWin54-47  
Fri Jan 25, 1991Antigonish, NSCape BretonWin72-71  
Tue Jan 29, 1991Antigonish, NSDalhousieWin105-88  
Fri Feb 1, 1991Fredericton, NBUNBWin114-90  
Wed Feb 6, 1991Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin69-65  
Sat Feb 9, 1991Antigonish, NSDalhousieWin92-76  
Tue Feb 12, 1991Sydney, NSCape BretonWin77-64  
Sat Feb 16, 1991Antigonish, NSAcadiaWin70-58  
Tue Feb 19, 1991Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sWin86-69  
Fri Feb 22, 1991Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin70-68  
Tue Feb 26, 1991Halifax, NSDalhousieWin86-83  
Sat Mar 2, 1991Antigonish, NSUNBWin84-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Mar 9, 1991Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin81-55 AUAA Semifinal
Sun Mar 10, 1991Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss67-75 AUAA Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Richard Bella20    120-21456.164-9567.468-13320110.1531171 1930415.2
Marion Mathis20  0-10.0120-20159.760-8669.837-691065.3423526 1730015.0
Danny McFarland20  48-9948.577-16546.715-15100.016-36522.6266135 1921710.8
Otis Delaney20  6-1540.083-16749.739-5176.522-55773.9425135 2421110.6
Augy Jones20  22-5440.779-16248.827-4067.515-28432.1449147 2920710.3
Brian Lee20  4-1330.835-9138.518-2572.06-25311.6423925 14924.6
Blair White20    32-7343.826-3672.227-32593.0281220 4904.5
Doug MacKinnon10  6-1637.515-3740.56-1250.04-11151.5737 2424.2
Guy Mbongo20    20-5536.428-3287.527-32593.031424 5683.4
Aristide Nguilibet15  0-10.09-2931.09-1464.316-22382.518310 1271.8
Todd McKillop11    6-875.05-683.30-440.4 14 1171.5
Joe Odhiambo11  0-10.07-1741.22-366.74-590.8526 1161.5
* Team Totals20  86-20043.0603-121949.5299-41572.0242-45269434.7338313310 136159179.5


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com