Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Alberta Golden Bears - 1992-93 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Don Horwood (10th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-90.5501627-158081.3 - 79.013-130.5002075-200879.8 - 77.213-130.5002075-200879.8 - 77.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Gregory Badger Guard5-10140 Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
 Murray Cunningham Centre6-62452Mannville, AB 
 Greg DeVries Guard Nelson, BCL.V. Rogers Secondary
 Sean Foote Guard5-8 Manchester, EnglandWestern Canada High
 Michael Frisby   
 Chris Harrison   
 Scott Karaim   
 Scott Martell   
 Clayton Pottinger 3Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
 Rick Stanley   
 Tally Sweiss Guard5-10 Edmonton, ABHarry Ainlay High
 Dan Vanhooren  Red Deer, ABEcole Camille J. Lerouge (Red Deer College)

Awards presented

Rick Stanley Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP), Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 24, 1992Lloydminster, ABSaskatchewanLoss78-83 Border Battle
Thu Nov 5, 1992Edmonton, ABReginaWin87-50 Golden Bear Invitational
Fri Nov 6, 1992Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanLoss67-72 Golden Bear Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 13, 1992Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanLoss70-75  
Sat Nov 14, 1992Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanLoss70-77  
Fri Nov 20, 1992Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss97-110  
Sat Nov 21, 1992Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin98-85  
Fri Nov 27, 1992Edmonton, ABUBCWin103-81  
Sat Nov 28, 1992Edmonton, ABUBCWin87-80  
Fri Jan 8, 1993Calgary, ABCalgaryWin88-85  
Sat Jan 9, 1993Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss63-64  
Fri Jan 15, 1993Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin74-71  
Sat Jan 16, 1993Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin75-65  
Fri Jan 22, 1993Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin74-53  
Sat Jan 23, 1993Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss77-97  
Fri Jan 29, 1993Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin101-68  
Sat Jan 30, 1993Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin74-71  
Fri Feb 5, 1993Vancouver, BCUBCLoss84-89  
Sat Feb 6, 1993Vancouver, BCUBCWin100-97  
Fri Feb 12, 1993Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin75-69  
Sat Feb 13, 1993Edmonton, ABCalgaryLoss89-94  
Fri Feb 19, 1993Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss54-70  
Sat Feb 20, 1993Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss74-79  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 26, 1993Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin83-79OTCanada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 27, 1993Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss74-76 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sun Feb 28, 1993Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss59-68 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rick Stanley18  11-4226.2137-28048.938-5174.545-611065.94618   32317.9
Sean Foote20  19-7226.485-21140.357-9361.314-31452.25355   24612.3
Scott Martell20    86-15854.445-6965.245-721175.85425   21710.8
Greg DeVries20  20-6132.861-13644.936-4580.013-38512.53220   1788.9
Clayton Pottinger20  11-2740.761-12150.432-4276.237-43804.04020   1658.2
Michael Frisby20  10-4522.253-14536.635-6058.352-511035.25341   1517.5
Dan Vanhooren20  19-4443.240-9144.011-1668.816-21371.94427   1105.5
Scott Karaim20  5-862.529-5552.725-3571.414-11251.22820   884.4
Murray Cunningham20  0-10.027-6243.526-3868.427-25522.6252   804.0
Gregory Badger20  7-3321.210-4920.426-3378.84-10140.72344   532.6
Chris Harrison12    5-1435.72-450.02-240.35    121.0
Tally Sweiss10    2-450.0     31   40.4
* Team Totals20  102-33330.6596-132644.9333-48668.5269-36563431.7406273   162781.3


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com