Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Alberta Golden Bears - 1998-99 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Don Horwood (16th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
14-60.7001562-141778.1 - 70.830-110.7323184-289077.7 - 70.533-110.7503419-307477.7 - 69.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Andrew Melnychuk  Edmonton, ABHarry Ainlay High
10Jason Maher Guard6-1 Coquitlam, BCVancouver City High
11Adrian Neale   
14Stephen Parker Guard6-11902Edmonton, ABM.E. LaZerte High
22Brad Berikoff Guard6-2 Nelson, BCL. V. Rogers Secondary
23Patrick Crevolin Forward6-8 Edmonton, ABSt. Francis Xavier High
25Max Darrah Forward6-33Edmonton, ABStrathcona Composite High
30Ryan Baldry Forward6-5200 Raymond, ABRaymond High
32Ryan Mulholland   
33Chris Horwood Guard6-2 Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
34Alex Michalas Forward6-7 Athens, GreeceKallithea
40Ryan Dunkley Forward6-5 Sherwood Park, ABArchbishop Jordan High
44Nick Maglisceau Post6-83Edmonton, ABPaul Kane High

Awards presented

Ryan Dunkley Canada West Second Team All-Star
Nick Maglisceau Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Team MVP), Canada West First Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention), CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Stephen Parker Canada West Second Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 2, 1998UnknownCalgaryWin96-68  
Fri Oct 9, 1998UnknownMount Royal CollegeWin76-50  
Sat Oct 10, 1998UnknownSAITWin74-67  
Thu Oct 22, 1998Brandon, MBTorontoWin81-72 Smitty's Homecoming Classic
Fri Oct 23, 1998Brandon, MBLakeheadWin76-73 Smitty's Homecoming Classic
Sat Oct 24, 1998Brandon, MBBrandonLoss67-70 Smitty's Homecoming Classic
Fri Oct 30, 1998Sudbury, ONWesternWin89-80 Voyageur Invitational
Sat Oct 31, 1998Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin87-80 Voyageur Invitational
Sun Nov 1, 1998Sudbury, ONLakeheadWin81-71 Voyageur Invitational
Thu Nov 5, 1998Edmonton, ABTrinity WesternWin85-67 Edmonton Journal-Golden Bear
Fri Nov 6, 1998Edmonton, ABManitobaWin73-59 Edmonton Journal-Golden Bear
Sat Nov 7, 1998Edmonton, ABLethbridgeLoss71-79 Edmonton Journal-Golden Bear
Mon Dec 28, 1998Winnipeg, MBLakeheadWin83-61 Wesmen Classic
Tue Dec 29, 1998Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin88-73 Wesmen Classic
Wed Dec 30, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin77-63 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 13, 1998Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin99-66  
Sat Nov 14, 1998Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin88-63  
Fri Nov 20, 1998Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin100-93Stats 
Sat Nov 21, 1998Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss76-86  
Fri Nov 27, 1998Edmonton, ABUBCWin83-77  
Sat Nov 28, 1998Edmonton, ABUBCWin62-60  
Fri Jan 8, 1999Calgary, ABCalgaryWin86-63  
Sat Jan 9, 1999Calgary, ABCalgaryWin82-60  
Fri Jan 15, 1999Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin81-68  
Sat Jan 16, 1999Edmonton, ABVictoriaLoss71-82  
Fri Jan 22, 1999Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin81-64  
Sat Jan 23, 1999Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin90-60  
Fri Jan 29, 1999Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin86-84  
Sat Jan 30, 1999Edmonton, ABLethbridgeLoss74-83  
Fri Feb 5, 1999Vancouver, BCUBCLoss78-90  
Sat Feb 6, 1999Vancouver, BCUBCWin86-82  
Fri Feb 12, 1999Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin84-63  
Sat Feb 13, 1999Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin62-60  
Fri Feb 19, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss43-58  
Sat Feb 20, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss50-55  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 26, 1999Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin80-60 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 27, 1999Edmonton, ABLethbridgeLoss77-82 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sun Feb 28, 1999Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin73-66 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 5, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaWin67-66 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 6, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss52-69 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sun Mar 7, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaWin56-51 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 19, 1999Halifax, NSRyersonWin100-83StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 20, 1999Halifax, NSBrandonWin79-74StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 21, 1999Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss69-73OT, StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Nick Maglisceau2061330.6  135-23058.782-11372.657-961537.7651742211435217.6
Brad Berikoff1125523.214-3638.946-9349.528-4168.39-13222.0251724 413412.2
Stephen Parker2048624.316-5330.282-17945.854-7770.121-37582.940374243723411.7
Ryan Dunkley1955429.2  66-12254.142-6960.947-841316.9483232371749.2
Chris Horwood2045622.822-5143.142-9743.329-3680.611-32432.13259722201356.8
Ryan Baldry1934218.09-2045.040-9243.538-5667.920-49693.64032382201276.7
Patrick Crevolin1321116.20-20.027-4560.029-4170.717-28453.530101447836.4
Max Darrah2035217.611-3729.745-10542.922-2878.619-33522.63518231241236.2
Ryan Mulholland2032716.413-3537.133-8339.836-5072.014-24381.94238343151155.8
Adrian Neale3175.72-366.75-955.6  2-241.31 212124.0
Jason Maher2032616.30-90.025-5942.414-2166.75-17221.1364435 7643.2
Andrew Melnychuk3289.30-20.02-922.22-450.0   342 162.0
Alex Michalas6294.8  1-425.01-616.71-340.7511  30.5
* Team Totals203996199.887-24835.1549-112748.7377-54269.6223-41864132.040230936141158156278.1

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Nick Maglisceau28 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson23 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson
Ryan Baldry22 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon10 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon4 on Mar 21, 1999 vs Saint Mary's
Stephen Parker20 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson5 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 21, 1999 vs Saint Mary's
Ryan Dunkley17 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon16 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon4 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson
Brad Berikoff16 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson4 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson
Patrick Crevolin9 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson5 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson1 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson
Jason Maher8 on Mar 21, 1999 vs Saint Mary's3 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon5 on Mar 21, 1999 vs Saint Mary's
Ryan Mulholland8 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson1 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson
Max Darrah5 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon5 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon2 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson
Chris Horwood5 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 21, 1999 vs Saint Mary's7 on Mar 20, 1999 vs Brandon
Alex Michalas4 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson 
Adrian Neale  1 on Mar 19, 1999 vs Ryerson


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com