Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 2001-02 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Dave Smart (3rd season)
Other staff: Bill Arden (Assistant Coach), Taffe Charles (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
19-30.8641827-144383.0 - 65.627-50.8442640-213582.5 - 66.729-80.7843030-251381.9 - 67.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Charlie Cattran Forward6-7225 Ottawa, ONNepean High
 B.J. Charles Guard6-2195 Ottawa, ONSt. Patrick High
 Ben Doornekamp Forward6-5210 Odessa, ONErnestown Secondary
 Bernard Edmunds Forward6-2200 Ottawa, ON 
 John-Scott Esposito Guard5-11160 Brantford, ONSt. John's College (Duquesne)
 Gary Gallimore Guard6-0 Ottawa, ONWoodroffe High
 John Kulwartin Forward6-4 Ottawa, ONSt. Patrick's High
 Paul Larmand Forward6-5200 Victoria Harbour, ONSaint Theresa's
 Matt Mahar Guard6-0176 Belleville, ONNicholson Catholic College
 Jafeth Maseruka Guard6-3183 Ottawa, ONSt. Patrick's High
 Shawn McCleery Forward6-4180 Nepean, ONSir Robert Borden High
 Matt McKechnie Forward6-3 Ottawa, ONColonel By Secondary
 Mark McMahon Forward6-2 Peterborough, ON 
 Josh Poirier Forward6-5200 Ottawa, ONNepean High
 Matt Ross Guard6-0170 Milford, ONPrince Edward Collegiate
 Michael Smart Guard6-5178 Napanee, ONErnestown Secondary
 Rob Smart Jr. Guard6-3180 Napanee, ONErnestown Secondary (Simon Fraser)

Awards presented

Dave Smart OUA East Coach of the Year
Charlie Cattran OUA East Ken Shields Nominee
B.J. Charles OUA East Rookie of the Year
Jafeth Maseruka E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP), First Team All-Canadian
Rob Smart Jr. All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 12, 2001Ottawa, ONBishop'sWin105-45 House-Laughton at Carleton
Sat Oct 13, 2001Ottawa, ONVictoriaWin70-65 House-Laughton at Carleton
Sun Oct 14, 2001Ottawa, ONStFXWin96-65 House-Laughton at Carleton
Fri Oct 19, 2001Ottawa, ONLavalWin102-100OTTip-off at Ottawa
Sat Oct 20, 2001Ottawa, ONOttawaWin67-57 Tip-off at Ottawa
Thu Oct 25, 2001Edmonton, ABMcMasterWin74-64 Edmonton Journal
Fri Oct 26, 2001Edmonton, ABUBCWin76-63 Edmonton Journal
Sat Oct 27, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss77-96 Edmonton Journal
Thu Nov 1, 2001UnknownMaineLoss56-65  
Sat Nov 3, 2001UnknownSt. Michael's VermontLoss74-84  
Mon Nov 5, 2001UnknownBoston CollegeLoss70-81  
Wed Jan 2, 2002Winter Haven, FLPolk Community CollegeWin88-86  
Tue Jan 8, 2002Ottawa, ONAlgonquin CollegeWin102-62  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 2001Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin79-71  
Sat Nov 10, 2001Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin66-58  
Fri Nov 16, 2001Ottawa, ONWindsorWin94-66  
Sat Nov 17, 2001Ottawa, ONWesternLoss69-89  
Fri Nov 23, 2001Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin86-70  
Sat Nov 24, 2001Ottawa, ONYorkWin74-66  
Fri Nov 30, 2001Ottawa, ONTorontoWin89-71  
Sat Dec 1, 2001Ottawa, ONQueen'sWin72-49  
Fri Jan 11, 2002Kingston, ONRMCWin79-51  
Sat Jan 12, 2002Toronto, ONRyersonWin85-58  
Fri Jan 18, 2002Toronto, ONYorkWin78-67  
Sat Jan 19, 2002Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin93-76  
Fri Jan 25, 2002Ottawa, ONWilfrid LaurierWin99-74  
Sat Jan 26, 2002Ottawa, ONWaterlooWin86-56Stats 
Tue Jan 29, 2002Ottawa, ONOttawaWin109-77  
Fri Feb 1, 2002Kingston, ONQueen'sWin98-64  
Sat Feb 2, 2002Toronto, ONTorontoLoss70-77  
Fri Feb 8, 2002Guelph, ONGuelphLoss67-75  
Sat Feb 9, 2002St. Catharines, ONBrockWin79-64  
Fri Feb 15, 2002Ottawa, ONRyersonWin89-47  
Sat Feb 16, 2002Ottawa, ONRMCWin82-62  
Fri Feb 22, 2002Ottawa, ONOttawaWin84-55  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Mar 2, 2002Toronto, ONLaurentianWin71-60 OUA East Semifinal
Sun Mar 3, 2002Toronto, ONYorkLoss75-77 OUA East Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Jafeth Maseruka22  39-8148.193-19447.988-10484.625-761014.63734   31314.2
Rob Smart Jr.22  40-9144.078-17045.947-5881.015-45602.74984   24311.0
Josh Poirier21  1-1100.081-15054.060-9563.252-861386.66015   22310.6
Paul Larmand22  16-4337.278-15450.643-5874.131-51823.75410   2159.8
Michael Smart18  29-6147.553-12143.829-4465.911-32432.43734   1649.1
Ben Doornekamp21  11-3135.564-13148.923-3369.736-701065.05318   1627.7
B.J. Charles22  20-5139.252-11246.440-5080.018-33512.34219   1647.5
Matt Ross22  19-4146.348-10446.225-3278.119-35542.53025   1406.4
Charlie Cattran22  2-366.734-7346.634-6155.737-48853.95111   1044.7
John Kulwartin9  1-250.015-2755.64-757.111-13242.782   353.9
Mark McMahon17  2-450.014-2166.71-425.010-12221.3218   311.8
Matt Mahar13  4-1136.46-1735.31-250.02-9110.897   171.3
Matt McKechnie11    4-1428.64-1040.04-6100.991   121.1
* Team Totals22  184-42043.8620-128848.1399-55871.5271-51678735.8460268   182382.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com