Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 2001-02 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Dave Crook (First season)
League:CanWest Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001649-159382.5 - 79.719-150.5592753-265881.0 - 78.219-150.5592753-265881.0 - 78.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Suk Singh Guard Winnipeg, MBKelvin High
4Casey Gooch   
5Joe Dominguez   
10Kevin Yeboah Guard5-10 Winnipeg, MBKelvin High
11Aldin Smalling  Winnipeg, MBMaples Collegiate
14Tosin Opanubi   
15Joseph Benjamin   
15David Brar   
21J.P. Lynch Post6-8 St. Norbert, MB 
22Tony Richter Forward6-6 Winnipeg, MB 
23Tim McDowell  Winnipeg, MBKelvin High
24Phillip Swart   
25Daniel Duggan  Vancouver College

Awards presented

Suk Singh Canada West First Team All-Star
Aldin Smalling Canada West All Rookie Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 19, 2001Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin98-88 Bison Invitational
Sat Oct 20, 2001Winnipeg, MBRMCWin82-55 Bison Invitational
Fri Oct 26, 2001Winnipeg, MBWindsorWin73-68 Midway Chrysler at Winnipeg
Sat Oct 27, 2001Winnipeg, MBLakeheadLoss71-78OTMidway Chrysler at Winnipeg
Fri Nov 2, 2001Montreal, QCConcordiaWin78-68  
Sat Nov 3, 2001Montreal, QCMcGillLoss59-74  
Fri Dec 28, 2001Winnipeg, MBQueen'sWin87-71 Wesmen Classic
Sat Dec 29, 2001Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin74-70 Wesmen Classic
Sun Dec 30, 2001Winnipeg, MBLavalLoss69-87 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 2001Regina, SKReginaLoss89-91  
Sat Nov 10, 2001Regina, SKReginaWin104-92Stats 
Thu Nov 15, 2001Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss68-86  
Sat Nov 17, 2001Brandon, MBBrandonLoss77-89OT 
Fri Nov 23, 2001Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin92-84Stats 
Sat Nov 24, 2001Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeLoss70-75  
Thu Nov 29, 2001Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin87-67  
Sat Dec 1, 2001Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin80-53  
Fri Jan 4, 2002Winnipeg, MBSimon FraserWin83-67  
Sat Jan 5, 2002Winnipeg, MBSimon FraserLoss68-71  
Fri Jan 11, 2002Vancouver, BCUBCLoss76-85  
Sat Jan 12, 2002Vancouver, BCUBCLoss65-79  
Fri Jan 18, 2002Brandon, MBBrandonLoss79-83  
Sun Jan 20, 2002Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss81-86  
Thu Jan 24, 2002Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin84-69  
Sat Jan 26, 2002Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin90-82  
Fri Feb 1, 2002Winnipeg, MBReginaWin83-78  
Sat Feb 2, 2002Winnipeg, MBReginaWin97-80  
Fri Feb 8, 2002Calgary, ABCalgaryWin88-73  
Sat Feb 9, 2002Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss88-103  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 15, 2002Winnipeg, MBReginaWin73-62 Canada West Playoff
Sat Feb 16, 2002Winnipeg, MBReginaWin83-81 Canada West Playoff
Fri Feb 22, 2002Brandon, MBBrandonWin103-92 Canada West Playoff
Sat Feb 23, 2002Brandon, MBBrandonLoss78-90 Canada West Playoff
Sun Feb 24, 2002Brandon, MBBrandonLoss76-81 Canada West Playoff

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Suk Singh2069634.822-5937.3105-25241.799-11486.818-62804.0551477014933116.6
Aldin Smalling2058029.027-7237.5117-23949.040-5671.431-56874.363524733930115.1
Daniel Duggan2059829.9  126-24052.546-7660.550-901407.057223011229814.9
Joe Dominguez2052426.256-15935.2101-27536.739-4881.223-43663.357473832329714.8
Tosin Opanubi1841923.39-1947.454-10352.434-4281.019-39583.24211262101518.4
Casey Gooch1417412.413-4330.220-5933.911-1478.62-11130.919119 6644.6
David Brar1113111.96-1346.217-3647.25-771.44-9131.21566 1454.1
J.P. Lynch1313310.2  17-3450.010-1471.49-15241.8283615443.4
Joseph Benjamin1920510.83-1421.418-5731.612-2060.015-34492.64071144512.7
Tony Richter1417912.8  12-2450.010-1662.514-38523.73321339342.4
Phillip Swart12947.80-10.05-1241.75-862.59-12211.814 8 4151.2
Kevin Yeboah181246.91-250.04-1233.37-1163.66-9150.88181213160.9
Tim McDowell8374.6  0-20.00-10.01-230.49 11 00.0
* Team Totals203894194.7137-38235.9596-134544.3318-42774.5201-42062131.144032627720165164782.3

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Suk Singh  15 on Nov 10, 2001 vs Regina


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com