Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Guelph Gryphons - 2002-03 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Chris O'Rourke (6th season)
Other staff: Pat Dooley (Assistant Coach), Alex Urosevic (Assistant Coach), Dan Yarmey (Assistant Coach), Zach Szereszewski (Manager), Rory Klatt (Trainer)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-70.6821622-144873.7 - 65.821-160.5682662-251571.9 - 68.021-170.5532725-259171.7 - 68.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
5John-Scott Esposito Guard5-111602Brantford, ONSt. John's College (Duquesne)
10John-Michael Irving Guard5-111901Barrie, ON 
11Mark Halfpenny Guard6-21855Guelph, ONSt. James High
12Adam Lobodici Guard6-31Ancaster, ON 
21Nadan Kapetanovic Forward6-62203Brantford, ON 
22Matt Rosar Guard6-41951Barrie, ONSt. Joseph's Catholic High
24Michael Ayanbadejo Forward6-52104Guelph, ONOur Lady of Lourdes High
32Radhi Knapp Forward6-72354Pickering, ON 
33Taylor Brown Guard6-11801Peterborough, ONThomas A. Stewart Secondary
40Jeff Foster Forward6-62452Toronto, ONMichael Power
42Michael Muir Forward6-62601Parkhill, ONM.M. Robinson High (Niagara College)
44Jordan Spence Forward6-82102Ridgetown, ONRidgetown District High
45Kyle Julius Guard6-32054Thunder Bay, ONHamilton Cathedral High (Furman)

Awards presented

Michael Ayanbadejo Guelph Male Athlete of the Year, E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA West MVP), OUA West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
John-Scott Esposito CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Mark Halfpenny Guelph W.F. Mitchell Sportsman Award, Guelph President's Trophy - Male Student-Athlete, OUA West Second Team All-Star
Kyle Julius CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Oct 16, 2002UnknownWesternLoss84-89OT 
Fri Oct 18, 2002Guelph, ONVictoriaWin79-75  
Sat Oct 19, 2002Guelph, ONAlbertaLoss74-96Stats 
Thu Oct 24, 2002Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss74-79Stats 
Fri Oct 25, 2002Vancouver, BCUBCLoss71-79Stats 
Sat Oct 26, 2002Burnaby, BCSimon FraserLoss69-97Stats 
Thu Oct 31, 2002UnknownHumber CollegeLoss63-76  
Sat Dec 28, 2002Winnipeg, MBCalgaryLoss47-51StatsMTS Mobility Tournament
Sun Dec 29, 2002Winnipeg, MBLakeheadLoss53-62 MTS Mobility Tournament
Mon Dec 30, 2002Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin68-59StatsMTS Mobility Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 8, 2002Guelph, ONRMCWin67-51Stats 
Sat Nov 9, 2002Guelph, ONQueen'sWin63-49  
Fri Nov 15, 2002Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss66-75  
Sat Nov 16, 2002Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss92-942OT 
Wed Nov 20, 2002Guelph, ONLaurierWin79-49  
Sat Nov 23, 2002Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss65-69  
Wed Nov 27, 2002London, ONWesternWin80-72Stats 
Sat Nov 30, 2002Guelph, ONWaterlooWin73-71Stats 
Wed Jan 8, 2003Guelph, ONBrockWin89-69  
Fri Jan 10, 2003Toronto, ONRyersonWin64-58  
Sat Jan 11, 2003Toronto, ONTorontoWin79-67  
Fri Jan 17, 2003Guelph, ONYorkWin78-68  
Sat Jan 18, 2003Guelph, ONLaurentianWin66-50  
Sat Jan 25, 2003St. Catharines, ONBrockWin71-69  
Fri Jan 31, 2003Guelph, ONLakeheadWin83-56  
Sat Feb 1, 2003Guelph, ONLakeheadLoss60-61  
Wed Feb 5, 2003Guelph, ONWesternWin95-79  
Sat Feb 8, 2003Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin63-56Stats 
Wed Feb 12, 2003Windsor, ONWindsorLoss73-78  
Sat Feb 15, 2003Guelph, ONMcMasterLoss76-80OT 
Wed Feb 19, 2003Guelph, ONWindsorWin84-69  
Sat Feb 22, 2003Waterloo, ONLaurierLoss56-58  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Mar 1, 2003Guelph, ONLakeheadWin84-60 OUA West Semifinal
Wed Mar 5, 2003Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin77-67 OUA West Final
Sat Mar 8, 2003Guelph, ONCarletonLoss56-64 OUA Championship
Fri Mar 14, 2003Halifax, NSUBCWin90-76StatsCIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 15, 2003Halifax, NSAlbertaWin60-55StatsCIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 16, 2003Halifax, NSCarletonLoss54-58StatsCIS Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Michael Ayanbadejo30 on Oct 26, 2002 vs Simon Fraser18 on Mar 15, 2003 vs Alberta6 on Oct 24, 2002 vs Trinity Western
Kyle Julius27 on Mar 14, 2003 vs UBC8 on Oct 25, 2002 vs UBC1 on Oct 19, 2002 vs Alberta
Radhi Knapp26 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba11 on Oct 26, 2002 vs Simon Fraser4 on Oct 25, 2002 vs UBC
Nadan Kapetanovic20 on Mar 14, 2003 vs UBC9 on Mar 14, 2003 vs UBC3 on Oct 26, 2002 vs Simon Fraser
John-Scott Esposito17 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba6 on Mar 16, 2003 vs Carleton6 on Oct 19, 2002 vs Alberta
Taylor Brown11 on Oct 24, 2002 vs Trinity Western4 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba2 on Oct 19, 2002 vs Alberta
Mark Halfpenny9 on Mar 16, 2003 vs Carleton5 on Mar 16, 2003 vs Carleton4 on Mar 15, 2003 vs Alberta
Matt Rosar5 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Calgary4 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba1 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba
Jordan Spence4 on Oct 24, 2002 vs Trinity Western4 on Oct 24, 2002 vs Trinity Western1 on Oct 25, 2002 vs UBC
John-Michael Irving2 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Calgary2 on Oct 24, 2002 vs Trinity Western1 on Oct 26, 2002 vs Simon Fraser
Michael Muir2 on Oct 26, 2002 vs Simon Fraser3 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba1 on Dec 30, 2002 vs Manitoba
Adam Lobodici   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com