Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Lakehead Thunderwolves - 2002-03 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Lou Pero (14th season)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-120.4551623-162273.8 - 73.716-190.4572585-262373.9 - 74.916-190.4572585-262373.9 - 74.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Ryan Bishop  Prince Rupert, BCPrince Rupert Secondary
 Aaron Casella Forward6-3190 Thunder Bay, ON 
 Matthew Coulson Guard6-0175 Barrie, ON 
 Matt Erdman Guard5-9140 Hamilton, ONCathedral High
 Sandy Millar Guard6-2180 Thunder Bay, ON 
 James Purcell   
 Steve Reid Forward6-2200 St. Marys, ON 
 Chris Richards Guard/Forward6-0200 Cambridge, ON 
 Jeff Rosar Forward6-4165 Barrie, ON 
 Aaron Rost   
 Ryan Sinninghe Post6-7205 Rainy River, ON 
 Chris Swenson   
 Matt Verboom Forward6-8203 Thunder Bay, ON 
 Russell Yurick   
 Dan Zapior Post6-6210 Thunder Bay, ON 

Awards presented

Dan Zapior OUA West Ken Shields Nominee, OUA West First Team All-Star, Ken Shields Award, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 11, 2002Montreal, QCRMCWin76-55 Concordia Nike Centennial
Sat Oct 12, 2002Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss78-90 Concordia Nike Centennial
Thu Oct 17, 2002Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss78-90 Applebees Super8
Fri Oct 18, 2002Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss68-71 Applebees Super8
Sat Oct 19, 2002Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin88-83 Applebees Super8
Thu Oct 24, 2002Regina, SKLaurentianWin94-77 Cougar Classic
Fri Oct 25, 2002Regina, SKReginaLoss84-93 Cougar Classic
Sat Oct 26, 2002Regina, SKLethbridgeLoss71-92 Cougar Classic
Sat Dec 28, 2002Winnipeg, MBAlbertaLoss62-84 MTS Mobility Tournament
Sun Dec 29, 2002Winnipeg, MBGuelphWin62-53 MTS Mobility Tournament
Mon Dec 30, 2002Winnipeg, MBRMCWin56-53 MTS Mobility Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 8, 2002Toronto, ONTorontoWin78-74  
Sat Nov 9, 2002Toronto, ONRyersonLoss72-76  
Fri Nov 15, 2002Thunder Bay, ONLaurentianLoss78-80  
Sat Nov 16, 2002Thunder Bay, ONYorkLoss71-90  
Fri Nov 22, 2002Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss78-88Stats 
Sat Nov 23, 2002Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin94-83OT, Stats 
Fri Nov 29, 2002Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss72-81  
Sat Nov 30, 2002Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss74-80  
Fri Jan 10, 2003Thunder Bay, ONRMCWin70-50  
Sat Jan 11, 2003Thunder Bay, ONQueen'sWin68-56  
Fri Jan 17, 2003Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss73-92  
Sat Jan 18, 2003Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss67-71  
Fri Jan 24, 2003Thunder Bay, ONWindsorWin84-71  
Sat Jan 25, 2003Thunder Bay, ONWindsorWin66-52  
Fri Jan 31, 2003Guelph, ONGuelphLoss56-83  
Sat Feb 1, 2003Guelph, ONGuelphWin61-60  
Fri Feb 7, 2003Thunder Bay, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss67-76  
Sat Feb 8, 2003Thunder Bay, ONWilfrid LaurierWin68-50  
Fri Feb 14, 2003London, ONWesternLoss69-72  
Sat Feb 15, 2003London, ONWesternWin88-66  
Fri Feb 21, 2003Thunder Bay, ONBrockWin94-87OT 
Sat Feb 22, 2003Thunder Bay, ONBrockLoss75-84  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Feb 26, 2003London, ONWesternWin85-76 OUA West Playoff
Sat Mar 1, 2003Guelph, ONGuelphLoss60-84 OUA West Semifinal


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com