Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Brock Badgers - 2003-04 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Ken Murray (14th season)
Other staff: Steve Atkin (Assistant Coach), Brian Mulligan (Assistant Coach), Mark Catling (Assistant Coach), Joe Kenny (Head Athletic Therapist), Jen Gasparotto (Student Athletic Therapist), Drew Spence (Student Athletic Therapist), Mike Tucker (Administrative Assistant)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-70.6821653-152275.1 - 69.224-120.6672683-250574.5 - 69.624-150.6152891-275474.1 - 70.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Kevin McKenna Guard6-21955St. Catharines, ONDenis Morris High
4Brad Rootes Guard5-91891Niagara Falls, ONA.N. Myer Secondary
10Rohan Steen Guard6-22052Welland, ONNotre Dame College
12Kevin Jones Guard6-11751Niagara Falls, ONA.N. Myer Secondary
13Dave Carlone Guard6-11851Fonthill, ON 
22Derrick Stryker Forward6-61951Waterloo, ON 
23Ryan Walker Guard6-31801Hamilton, ON 
24Scott Murray Guard6-02001Welland, ON 
32Morgan Fairweather Forward6-52104London, ON 
33Eric Falk Forward6-52244Virgil, ON 
44Kevin Stienstra Centre6-82403Vineland, ON 
51Nathan Stienstra Centre6-72402Vineland, ON 
52Kevin French Forward6-42054Burlington, ON 
54Matt Bassett-Spiers Forward6-62051Toronto, ON 
55Dusty Bianchin Centre/Forward6-72401Niagara Falls, ONA.N. Myer Secondary (Niagara College)

Awards presented

Dusty Bianchin OUA West All Rookie Team
Kevin French OUA West Second Team All-Star
Brad Rootes OUA West Rookie of the Year, OUA West Second Team All-Star, OUA West All Rookie Team
Kevin Stienstra Brock Team MVP, OUA West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Oct 12, 2003UnknownIona CollegeLoss79-87  
Mon Oct 13, 2003UnknownIona CollegeLoss68-88  
Thu Oct 16, 2003St. Catharines, ONManitobaWin70-49  
Fri Oct 24, 2003St. Catharines, ONDaemen CollegeLoss61-74 Badgers Classic
Sat Oct 25, 2003St. Catharines, ONBrandonWin69-61 Badgers Classic
Thu Oct 30, 2003Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss74-76 Golden Bear Tournament
Fri Oct 31, 2003Edmonton, ABCalgaryLoss80-96 Golden Bear Tournament
Sat Nov 1, 2003Edmonton, ABVictoriaWin92-73 Golden Bear Tournament
Sun Dec 28, 2003Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin77-65 Wesmen Classic
Mon Dec 29, 2003Winnipeg, MBQueen'sWin68-59 Wesmen Classic
Tue Dec 30, 2003Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin70-69 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 2003Kingston, ONQueen'sWin83-74Stats 
Sat Nov 8, 2003Kingston, ONRMCLoss71-76  
Fri Nov 14, 2003St. Catharines, ONOttawaWin70-62  
Sat Nov 15, 2003St. Catharines, ONCarletonLoss65-82  
Wed Nov 19, 2003Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss74-86  
Sat Nov 22, 2003St. Catharines, ONWesternWin83-75Stats 
Wed Nov 26, 2003Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss82-88Stats 
Sat Nov 29, 2003Windsor, ONWindsorWin79-68  
Fri Jan 9, 2004St. Catharines, ONTorontoWin74-68  
Sat Jan 10, 2004St. Catharines, ONRyersonWin82-46  
Fri Jan 16, 2004Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin62-52  
Sat Jan 17, 2004Toronto, ONYorkLoss64-68  
Wed Jan 21, 2004St. Catharines, ONGuelphWin63-61  
Sat Jan 24, 2004Guelph, ONGuelphLoss75-78  
Wed Jan 28, 2004Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin69-63  
Sat Jan 31, 2004St. Catharines, ONWindsorWin80-71  
Wed Feb 4, 2004St. Catharines, ONMcMasterWin68-65  
Sat Feb 7, 2004London, ONWesternWin93-80Stats 
Wed Feb 11, 2004St. Catharines, ONWaterlooWin64-58Stats 
Sat Feb 14, 2004St. Catharines, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss78-81  
Fri Feb 20, 2004St. Catharines, ONLakeheadWin94-48  
Sat Feb 21, 2004St. Catharines, ONLakeheadWin80-72  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Feb 25, 2004St. Catharines, ONWindsorWin72-55 OUA West Playoff
Sat Feb 28, 2004Guelph, ONGuelphWin70-59 OUA West Semifinal
Sat Mar 6, 2004Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss71-78 OUA West Final
Fri Mar 19, 2004Halifax, NSStFXLoss61-77 CIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 20, 2004Halifax, NSLavalWin81-73StatsCIS Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 21, 2004Halifax, NSMcMasterLoss75-93StatsCIS Consolation Final

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Brad Rootes29 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's4 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's9 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval
Scott Murray26 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval6 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval3 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster
Morgan Fairweather20 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval7 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval3 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval
Kevin Stienstra15 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's12 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's3 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval
Dusty Bianchin11 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster9 on Mar 20, 2004 vs Laval3 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster
Kevin French10 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's10 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's3 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's
Kevin McKenna4 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster1 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster2 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster
Eric Falk3 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's1 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's 
Rohan Steen2 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's5 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's2 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster
Derrick Stryker2 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster1 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster 
Ryan Walker2 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster1 on Nov 7, 2003 vs Queen's 
Nathan Stienstra1 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster2 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster 
Dave Carlone  1 on Mar 21, 2004 vs McMaster


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com