Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 2005-06 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Mike Katz (2nd season)
Other staff: Nat Graham (Assistant Coach), Stephan Barrie (Assistant Coach), Rick Dilena (Assistant Coach), Jama Mahlalela (Assistant Coach), Tom Lyttle (Assistant Coach), Andrew Summerville (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-60.7271553-135670.6 - 61.620-90.6902032-182070.1 - 62.823-130.6392508-233969.7 - 65.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Thomas Baginski Forward6-52051Peterborough, ONPeterborough Collegiate
4Paul Sergautis Guard6-31853Mississauga, ONSt. Michael Secondary
10Michael Thomas Guard6-31781Toronto, ONEarl Haig Secondary
11Tudor Lupea Guard6-31901Bucharest, RomaniaSilverthorn Collegiate
13Nick Snow Forward6-82151London, ONSir Frederick Banting Secondary
15Ahmed Nazmi Forward6-52001Cairo, EgyptEarl Haig Secondary
20Mohammad Safarzadeh Forward6-42003Thornhill, ONHenderson Avenue Public
22Nick Magalas Guard6-01701Burlington, ONAssumption Secondary
25Christopher White Guard6-51751Peterborough, ONPeterborough Collegiate
31Mike De Giorgio Guard6-21903Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate
33Elvis Ibrahimovic Forward6-41955Toronto, ONNeil McNeil High
34Dwayne Grant Guard6-21752Brampton, ONChaminade College School
35Mike Williams Forward6-62004Brampton, ON 
40Kelly Mukutuma Forward6-62053Kwekwe, Zimbabwe 

Awards presented

Mike Williams OUA East Defensive Player of the Year

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Sep 3, 2005Toronto, ONCentral MichiganWin74-68 Central Michigan Foreign Tour
Sat Sep 3, 2005Toronto, ONNavyLoss46-79 Navy Foreign Tour to Toronto
Mon Sep 5, 2005Toronto, ONNorth Dakota StateLoss68-72 North Dakota State Tour
Fri Oct 14, 2005Toronto, ONUBCLoss75-93  
Sat Oct 15, 2005Toronto, ONSimon FraserWin82-67  
Fri Oct 21, 2005Ottawa, ONUQAMWin63-45 Jack Donohue Tip-Off
Sat Oct 22, 2005Ottawa, ONOttawaWin76-64 Jack Donohue Tip-Off
Sun Oct 23, 2005Ottawa, ONDalhousieLoss70-77 Jack Donohue Tip-Off
Fri Nov 4, 2005Amherst, NYDaemen CollegeLoss48-74 Lord Amherst Tournament
Sat Nov 5, 2005Amherst, NYPoint ParkLoss80-92 Lord Amherst Tournament
Wed Dec 28, 2005Toronto, ONSUNY BrockportWin88-77 Ed DeArmon Tournament
Thu Dec 29, 2005Toronto, ONRyersonWin57-54 Ed DeArmon Tournament
Fri Dec 30, 2005Toronto, ONHumber CollegeWin72-57 Ed DeArmon Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 11, 2005Toronto, ONWindsorWin80-68  
Sat Nov 12, 2005Toronto, ONWesternWin68-53Stats 
Fri Nov 18, 2005St. Catharines, ONBrockLoss65-75  
Sat Nov 19, 2005Guelph, ONGuelphLoss41-44  
Fri Nov 25, 2005Toronto, ONYorkWin86-70  
Sat Nov 26, 2005Toronto, ONLaurentianWin62-49  
Fri Dec 2, 2005Kingston, ONQueen'sWin59-50  
Sat Dec 3, 2005Kingston, ONRMCWin77-32  
Thu Jan 5, 2006Toronto, ONWilfrid LaurierWin78-63  
Sun Jan 8, 2006Toronto, ONWaterlooWin73-68Stats 
Tue Jan 10, 2006Toronto, ONRyersonWin79-64  
Fri Jan 13, 2006Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin77-58  
Sat Jan 14, 2006Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin72-67  
Fri Jan 20, 2006Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin65-62  
Sat Jan 21, 2006Toronto, ONYorkLoss62-72  
Fri Jan 27, 2006Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss63-72  
Sat Jan 28, 2006Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss52-74  
Fri Feb 3, 2006Toronto, ONRMCWin93-44  
Sat Feb 4, 2006Toronto, ONQueen'sWin74-67  
Fri Feb 10, 2006Toronto, ONOttawaWin78-66  
Sat Feb 11, 2006Toronto, ONCarletonLoss62-69  
Fri Feb 17, 2006Toronto, ONRyersonWin87-69  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Feb 22, 2006Toronto, ONQueen'sLoss56-64 OUA East Playoff

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Mike Williams2262928.60-10.0110-19556.456-8268.376-851617.3562026492527612.5
Dwayne Grant2269631.64-2913.8112-22948.944-6963.835-711064.856725273227212.4
Paul Sergautis2263128.723-6833.895-22242.834-4575.623-71944.355253142624711.2
Mike De Giorgio2272633.018-6328.663-18434.249-6674.225-55803.656105362331938.8
Mohammad Safarzadeh2257025.938-11433.365-17337.620-3066.730-53833.83615193101888.5
Nick Snow2028514.22-633.339-7949.433-4475.026-38643.2565131271135.7
Nick Magalas2030815.421-5339.641-10041.05-955.610-22321.6191421 91085.4
Tudor Lupea8384.84-580.09-1560.01-1100.00-110.151611232.9
Michael Thomas201628.17-2133.317-3943.69-1369.24-13170.847723502.5
Elvis Ibrahimovic99110.1  8-1942.11-250.09-12212.3122621171.9
Thomas Baginski7568.0  4-1233.35-683.35-491.321212131.9
Ahmed Nazmi171227.20-20.011-3432.48-1457.111-21321.9186429301.8
Christopher White14956.80-10.09-2142.95-862.56-12181.359231231.6
Kelly Mukutuma155.0  0-10.0     1    00.0
* Team Totals224414200.6117-36332.2583-132344.1270-38969.4260-45871832.638128222588159155370.6


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com