Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 2007-08 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Dave Crook (7th season)
League:CanWest Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-130.4091683-176576.5 - 80.212-180.4002264-239775.5 - 79.912-190.3872317-247474.7 - 79.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
1Peter Lomuro Guard6-3190 Winnipeg, MB(Winnipeg)
3Michael Passley Guard6-0 Toronto, ON 
5Randy Kezie  Winnipeg, MBJ.H. Bruns Collegiate
10James Horaska Guard6-4 Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
11Justin Majok   
12Benjamin Kingdon Post Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
13Erfan Nasajpour Guard5-10165 Winnipeg, MBDaniel McIntyre Collegiate
14Dan Shynkaryk  Winnipeg, MBCollege Jeanne Sauve
15Nick Lother Guard5-102Winnipeg, MBCollege Jeanne Sauve
20Matthew Opalko 5Winnipeg, MBMennonite Brethren Collegiate
21Ryan Willerton Forward6-9 Winnipeg, MBVincent Massey Collegiate
22Cameron Hornby Guard6-0 Winnipeg, MBGlenlawn Collegiate (South Dakota State)
23Michael James Forward6-6 Winnipeg, MB(Winnipeg)
25Jeff Shynkaryk   

Awards presented

Erfan Nasajpour Canada West First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Matthew Opalko Canada West Ken Shields Student-Athlete Community Award, Ken Shields Award

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 12, 2007Winnipeg, MBFraser ValleyWin85-74 Pembina Chrysler Tournament
Sat Oct 13, 2007Winnipeg, MBConcordiaWin94-93OTPembina Chrysler Tournament
Fri Oct 19, 2007Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss77-79  
Sat Oct 20, 2007Guelph, ONGuelphLoss60-84  
Fri Dec 28, 2007Winnipeg, MBRMCWin80-56 Wesmen Classic
Sat Dec 29, 2007Winnipeg, MBMinot StateLoss53-77 Wesmen Classic
Sun Dec 30, 2007Winnipeg, MBCalgaryLoss79-99 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 1, 2007Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin73-72  
Sat Nov 3, 2007Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin72-60  
Fri Nov 9, 2007Regina, SKReginaLoss75-86Stats 
Sat Nov 10, 2007Regina, SKReginaLoss85-101Stats 
Fri Nov 16, 2007Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss64-78  
Sat Nov 17, 2007Winnipeg, MBVictoriaWin70-67  
Fri Nov 23, 2007Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin89-82  
Sat Nov 24, 2007Burnaby, BCSimon FraserLoss73-82Stats 
Thu Nov 29, 2007Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss68-87  
Sat Dec 1, 2007Brandon, MBBrandonLoss68-82  
Thu Jan 3, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin84-71  
Sat Jan 5, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin80-73  
Fri Jan 11, 2008Winnipeg, MBAlbertaLoss91-95  
Sat Jan 12, 2008Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin75-64  
Fri Jan 18, 2008Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss86-90  
Sat Jan 19, 2008Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin99-88  
Fri Jan 25, 2008Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss67-79Stats 
Sat Jan 26, 2008Winnipeg, MBReginaWin79-54Stats 
Fri Feb 1, 2008Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss79-83  
Sat Feb 2, 2008Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss62-98  
Thu Feb 7, 2008Brandon, MBBrandonLoss70-91  
Sat Feb 9, 2008Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss74-82  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 16, 2008Regina, SKReginaLoss57-64StatsCanada West Playoff
Sun Feb 17, 2008Regina, SKReginaLoss49-83StatsCanada West Playoff

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Erfan Nasajpour1864535.853-13838.4140-32543.163-7781.831-771086.039855945739622.0
Matthew Opalko2257226.027-6839.7119-24748.234-4085.033-691024.657484731129913.6
Dan Shynkaryk1846926.1  80-17844.949-7466.250-721226.8501836241420911.6
Nick Lother1644627.924-8030.050-15731.852-7173.27-22291.843404012317611.0
Peter Lomuro2257526.15-3215.669-17838.826-3868.431-47783.54430417171697.7
Michael James1525016.7  31-8237.820-3164.513-34473.1462122106825.5
Michael Passley2045622.86-1931.644-10442.39-1656.226-59854.23929336181035.2
James Horaska2034117.16-1735.329-7439.220-2969.022-29512.533162649844.2
Cameron Hornby1622414.015-4334.923-7530.73-650.01-16171.121204037644.0
Benjamin Kingdon2232915.0  25-4358.18-2729.643-51944.350819812582.6
Jeff Shynkaryk131148.8  14-3935.92-633.315-18332.52926102302.3
Randy Kezie8243.00-10.01-425.06-6100.02-350.6312  81.0
Ryan Willerton10393.90-10.02-633.31-250.02-570.74 31 50.5
Justin Majok2        1-010.5  1  00.0
* Team Totals224484203.8136-39934.1627-151241.5293-42369.3277-50277935.445831837581176168376.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Erfan Nasajpour32 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina7 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina6 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina
Matthew Opalko19 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina4 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina3 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina
Peter Lomuro16 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina8 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina3 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina
Nick Lother15 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina2 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina3 on Feb 17, 2008 vs Regina
Dan Shynkaryk15 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina8 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina3 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina
Michael James12 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina10 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina2 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina
Michael Passley9 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina6 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina3 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina
James Horaska7 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina8 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina4 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina
Cameron Hornby5 on Feb 17, 2008 vs Regina3 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina1 on Feb 17, 2008 vs Regina
Benjamin Kingdon4 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina6 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina2 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina
Randy Kezie2 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina1 on Feb 16, 2008 vs Regina 
Jeff Shynkaryk2 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina8 on Feb 17, 2008 vs Regina1 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina
Ryan Willerton 1 on Feb 17, 2008 vs Regina 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com