Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

MacEwan Griffins - 2015-16 Season

Head Coach:Eric Magdanz (2nd season)
Other staff: Jesse McLean (Assistant Coach), Navin Ramharak (Graduate Assistant), Adam Boyd (Graduate Assistant), Tyson Denhamer (Graduate Assistant), Joe McLeod (Manager), Scotty Mergaert (Assistant Manager), Jennifer Dunn (Athletic Therapist), Jonathan Verhesen (Assistant Coach)
League:CanWest Explorer
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001453-146772.7 - 73.313-180.4192255-228472.7 - 73.713-180.4192255-228472.7 - 73.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Thomas Jereniuk Guard6-04Stony Plain, ABMemorial Composite High
1Tarik Scott Guard6-42Port Coquitlam, BCGleneagle Secondary
2David Grange Guard6-13Edmonton, ABOscar Romero High
3Thadius Galvez Guard6-23Ogden, UTBonneville High (Treasure Valley)
4Deonte Doslov-Doctor Guard6-02Edmonton, ABArchbishop MacDonald High
5Chris Mooney Guard6-34Ottawa, ONSt. Peter High (NAIT)
6Denzel James Wing6-34Edmonton, ABJasper Place High
7Tony Wolter Guard6-11Calgary, ABEast Ridge High
8Atlas St. Paul-Butler Forward6-61Victoria, BCOak Bay Secondary
10Harrison Lane Forward6-62Edmonton, ABStrathcona Composite High
12Cole Aikens Forward6-84Edmonton, ABSt. Albert High (Augustana)
13Keith Gerdes Forward6-74Edmonton, ABHarry Ainlay High
14Ryan Coleman Forward6-63Edmonton, ABJasper Place High
15Ryan May Forward6-65Daysland, ABDaysland School
RSMichael Burnham Forward6-61Winfield, BCGeorge Elliot Secondary
RSMalik Mate Guard6-01Edmonton, ABHoly Trinity High

Awards presented

Denzel James Canada West Third Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 9, 2015Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin65-64 Bison MBB Invitational
Sat Oct 10, 2015Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss66-75 Bison MBB Invitational
Sun Oct 11, 2015Brandon, MBBrandonLoss107-114OT 
Thu Oct 22, 2015Edmonton, ABLethbridgeLoss67-85  
Sun Oct 25, 2015Edmonton, ABQueensLoss75-83  
Mon Dec 28, 2015Winnipeg, MBAcadiaLoss82-84 Wesmen Classic
Tue Dec 29, 2015Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin80-54 Wesmen Classic
Wed Dec 30, 2015Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeLoss71-74 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 6, 2015Edmonton, ABMount RoyalLoss62-74  
Sat Nov 7, 2015Edmonton, ABMount RoyalWin88-82  
Fri Nov 13, 2015Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss64-74  
Sat Nov 14, 2015Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss56-97  
Fri Nov 20, 2015Kamloops, BCThompson RiversLoss60-74  
Sat Nov 21, 2015Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin90-85  
Fri Nov 27, 2015Edmonton, ABUBC OkanaganLoss82-87  
Sat Nov 28, 2015Edmonton, ABUBC OkanaganWin66-46  
Fri Jan 8, 2016Prince George, BCUNBCWin74-59  
Sat Jan 9, 2016Prince George, BCUNBCWin72-70  
Fri Jan 15, 2016Edmonton, ABThompson RiversLoss71-86  
Sat Jan 16, 2016Edmonton, ABThompson RiversLoss69-71  
Fri Jan 22, 2016Edmonton, ABFraser ValleyLoss77-80  
Sat Jan 23, 2016Edmonton, ABFraser ValleyWin74-54  
Fri Feb 5, 2016Calgary. ABMount RoyalLoss74-83  
Sat Feb 6, 2016Calgary. ABMount RoyalWin78-73  
Fri Feb 12, 2016Kelowna, BCUBC OkanaganWin66-59  
Sat Feb 13, 2016Kelowna, BCUBC OkanaganWin71-62  
Fri Feb 19, 2016Edmonton, ABUNBCWin85-68  
Sat Feb 20, 2016Edmonton, ABUNBCLoss74-83  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 26, 2016Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss58-67StatsCanada West Play-in Series (best of 3)
Sat Feb 27, 2016Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin77-62StatsCanada West Play-in Series (best of 3)
Sun Feb 28, 2016Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss54-55StatsCanada West Play-in Series (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Denzel James2054427.227-7635.598-22942.856-8466.720-841045.2393462163027913.9
Thadius Galvez2061430.728-7636.897-22243.746-6669.714-68824.129704004126813.4
Keith Gerdes2048624.325-8429.869-17739.021-2875.022-48703.557242711141849.2
Chris Mooney1542628.46-2227.356-13242.416-3053.325-751006.75347422201348.9
Ryan Coleman1422516.12-2100.048-8854.527-3284.428-29574.120415121258.9
Ryan May2044322.114-3145.256-11847.541-5475.931-50814.07227271131678.3
Thomas Jereniuk2053426.719-6429.736-10434.620-2871.417-34512.52147320121115.5
Tarik Scott1520513.712-4129.318-5831.06-1060.03-19221.5208918543.6
Harrison Lane1925213.34-1040.022-6036.720-3852.610-25351.837132342683.6
Atlas St. Paul-Butler151439.54-1233.312-2842.97-977.810-16261.7199959352.3
David Grange10606.03-1127.35-1631.20-00.05-380.852401131.3
Deonte Doslov-Doctor10747.41-425.04-1330.82-2100.02-13151.576903111.1
Cole Aikens6152.50-00.01-333.30-00.01-120.32030220.3
Tony Wolter231.50-10.00-10.00-00.01-010.51000100.0
* Team Totals204024201.2145-43433.4522-124941.8262-38168.8189-46565432.738229130241158145172.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Denzel James24 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta8 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta3 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta
Keith Gerdes18 on Feb 28, 2016 vs Alberta6 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta3 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta
Thadius Galvez17 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta4 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta5 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta
Chris Mooney10 on Feb 28, 2016 vs Alberta19 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta3 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta
Ryan Coleman9 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta7 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta1 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta
Ryan May5 on Feb 28, 2016 vs Alberta6 on Feb 28, 2016 vs Alberta2 on Feb 28, 2016 vs Alberta
Thomas Jereniuk3 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta2 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta3 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta
Harrison Lane3 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta2 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta2 on Feb 26, 2016 vs Alberta
Deonte Doslov-Doctor   
David Grange   
Tarik Scott 1 on Feb 27, 2016 vs Alberta 
Atlas St. Paul-Butler   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com