Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 1988-89 Season

Head Coach:Michele Belanger (10th season)
Other staff: Jim Henderson (Assistant Coach), Tom O'Brien (Assistant Coach)
League:OWIAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-20.833982-58781.8 - 48.915-30.8331443-95680.2 - 53.124-120.6671461-97440.6 - 27.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Susan Barzo   
 Nicki Berswick   
 Sharon Butler   
 Denise Galipeau   
 Mary Ann Kowal  Sudbury, ONSudbury Secondary
 Debbie Labarrie   
 April McClellan   
 Samantha Reed   
 Denise Scott   
 Kathy Soce   
 Martina Stirpe   
 Joan Stock   

Awards presented

Mary Ann Kowal OUA East All-Star Team, MVP of OWIAA Championship Tournament, OWIAA Championship Tournament All-star, CIS First Team All-Canadian
Samantha Reed OWIAA Championship Tournament All-star
Joan Stock OUA East All-Star Second Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
Fri Jul 1, 1988UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Toronto overall record of 24-12
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jan 6, 1989UnknownOttawaWin69-46  
Sat Jan 7, 1989UnknownCarletonWin103-30  
Wed Jan 18, 1989UnknownYorkWin72-64  
Sat Jan 21, 1989UnknownLaurentianLoss63-77  
Wed Jan 25, 1989Toronto, ONRyersonWin87-41  
Sat Jan 28, 1989UnknownQueensWin79-52  
Fri Feb 3, 1989UnknownCarletonWin97-31  
Tue Feb 7, 1989UnknownYorkWin72-62  
Sat Feb 11, 1989UnknownLaurentianLoss69-75  
Tue Feb 14, 1989UnknownQueensWin96-42  
Sun Feb 19, 1989UnknownOttawaWin81-35  
Thu Feb 23, 1989Toronto, ONRyersonWin94-32  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 3, 1989UnknownLakeheadWin79-50 OWIAA Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 4, 1989UnknownMcMasterWin87-69 OWIAA Semifinal
Sun Mar 5, 1989UnknownLaurentianWin73-60 OWIAA Championship
Thu Mar 9, 1989Sudbury, ONWinnipegWin85-59 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 10, 1989Sudbury, ONCalgaryLoss73-78 CIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 11, 1989Sudbury, ONVictoriaWin64-53 CIAU Bronze Medal


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com