Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 1995-96 Season

Head Coach:Michele Belanger (17th season)
League:OWIAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-20.833983-71881.9 - 59.823-70.7672365-195978.8 - 65.323-70.7672365-195978.8 - 65.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Karen Bottineau Guard5-8 St. Thomas, ON 
5Maja Baric   
6Stephanie Splitter Post6-1 Thornhill, ON 
7Naomi Dove Forward6-0 Dryden, ON(Toronto)
8Rachel Dei-Amoah   
9Justine Ellison Sharp 5-10  
10Elizabeth Hart Guard5-10 Brantford, ON 
11Kate Vrancart   
12Samantha Burrows Post6-2 Nepean, ON 
13Alicia Brand Forward5-11 London, ON 
14Laurel Johnson   
15Yvonne Spiczynski   
16Unknown Headly   

Awards presented

Justine Ellison Sharp OUA East All-Star Team, OUA East Player of the Year, Nan Copp Award (CIS Player of the Year), CIS First Team All-Canadian
Elizabeth Hart OUA East All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 20, 1995UnknownBrockWin82-48  
Fri Oct 27, 1995Quebec City, QCWinnipegWin74-58 Laval Tournament
Sat Oct 28, 1995Quebec City, QCLavalLoss47-51 Laval Tournament
Sun Oct 29, 1995Quebec City, QCUNBWin77-76 Laval Tournament
Fri Nov 3, 1995Toronto, ONLavalWin77-68 Women's National Invitational
Sat Nov 4, 1995Toronto, ONCalgaryWin90-77 Women's National Invitational
Sun Nov 5, 1995Toronto, ONWesternLoss75-85 Women's National Invitational
Fri Nov 10, 1995Montreal, QCBishopsWin75-50 Concordia Classic
Sat Nov 11, 1995Montreal, QCYorkWin65-58 Concordia Classic
Sun Nov 12, 1995Montreal, QCWesternWin68-67 Concordia Classic
Fri Nov 17, 1995UnknownManitobaLoss76-89  
Sun Nov 19, 1995UnknownManitobaLoss80-94  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jan 5, 1996Toronto, ONOttawaWin81-65  
Sat Jan 6, 1996Toronto, ONCarletonWin90-36  
Sun Jan 14, 1996Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss79-89OT 
Fri Jan 19, 1996Ottawa, ONCarletonWin92-45  
Sat Jan 20, 1996Ottawa, ONOttawaWin68-52  
Tue Jan 23, 1996Toronto, ONRyersonWin75-45  
Fri Jan 26, 1996Toronto, ONYorkLoss70-77  
Sun Jan 28, 1996Kingston, ONQueensWin82-70  
Sat Feb 3, 1996Toronto, ONRyersonWin94-44  
Sun Feb 4, 1996Toronto, ONQueensWin69-54  
Sat Feb 10, 1996Toronto, ONYorkWin100-73  
Sun Feb 18, 1996Toronto, ONLaurentianWin83-68  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 1996Toronto, ONWilfrid LaurierWin83-64 OWIAA Quarterfinal
Sat Feb 24, 1996UnknownYorkWin84-68 OWIAA Semifinal
Sun Feb 25, 1996UnknownWesternWin92-70 OWIAA Championship
Fri Mar 8, 1996Quebec City, QCLavalWin89-69 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 9, 1996Quebec City, QCMcGillWin71-68 CIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 10, 1996Quebec City, QCManitobaLoss77-81OTCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Justine Ellison Sharp12  4-1040.0110-17961.581-10378.656-43998.2352553 2630525.4
Elizabeth Hart12  22-5440.756-14040.068-7590.718-57756.2243939 2820216.8
Laurel Johnson12    46-8951.725-4161.028-57857.1321940 231179.8
Yvonne Spiczynski11  4-1428.622-6533.816-3053.318-16343.1272629 10645.8
Stephanie Splitter10    23-4551.110-1471.419-24434.3171115 8565.6
Karen Bottineau12    24-4751.118-2475.015-14292.4232532 20665.5
Rachel Dei-Amoah12    20-4940.87-1070.07-22292.414718 7473.9
Kate Vrancart12  4-2020.014-4531.16-6100.07-17242.0111020 11383.2
Samantha Burrows10    12-2157.15-1435.710-10202.01547 7292.9
Alicia Brand12  1-333.312-2744.45-1050.09-11201.718513 7302.5
Naomi Dove6    7-1163.61-250.04-6101.72 2 2152.5
Maja Baric7    7-1838.9  7-4111.6234 4142.0
Unknown Headly2             1  00.0
* Team Totals12  35-10134.7353-73648.0242-32973.6198-28147939.9220174273 15398381.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com