Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Windsor Lancers - 1996-97 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Shawn O'Rourke (First season)
Other staff: Tricia Winik (Assistant Coach), Mike Sesar (Administrative Assistant), Melissa Rougier (Manager), Andrea Quigg (Trainer)
League:OWIAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
4-100.286767-87854.8 - 62.75-140.2631048-122455.2 - 64.47-140.3331206-135557.4 - 64.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Summer Strachan Forward5-81Windsor, ONHoly Names High
5Casey Winegard Guard5-104Sarnia, ONSt. Patrick's High
6Maureen Murphy Guard5-84Goderich, ONGoderich District Collegiate
7Amanda Pfeffer Forward6-11Aylmer, ONEast Elgin Secondary
8Nancy Vranic Guard5-94Sarnia, ONSt. Patrick's High
9Sheri McKnight Guard5-81Windsor, ONHoly Names High
10Julie Yakopich Guard5-61Amhertsburg, ONSaint Thomas of Villanova
11Megan Glanfield Guard5-91Newmarket, ONDr. John M. Denison Secondary
12Denise Strachan Guard5-92Arva, ONMedway High
13Leslie Goossens Bottrell Forward5-103St. Thomas, ONSt. Joseph High
14Georgia Risnita Forward5-103Mississauga, ONHoly Name of Mary College School
15Melissa Hunte Guard5-91Scarborough, ONAlbert Campbell Collegiate
21Michelle DeHaan Forward6-44Chatham, ONJohn McGregor Secondary
22Celeste Courneya Forward6-11Petrolia, ONSt. Patrick's High

Awards presented

Georgia Risnita OUA West All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 25, 1996Ottawa, ONCarletonWin62-43 Ottawa Tipoff
Sat Oct 26, 1996Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss53-65 Ottawa Tipoff
Sat Nov 2, 1996Windsor, ONSeneca CollegeWin77-60  
Sun Nov 3, 1996Windsor, ONSeneca CollegeWin81-71  
Fri Nov 8, 1996Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss51-99 Saxon Tournament
Sat Nov 9, 1996Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss59-76 Saxon Tournament
Sun Nov 10, 1996Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss56-63 Saxon Tournament
Thu Nov 14, 1996Detroit, MCWayne StateUnknown  
Sat Nov 16, 1996Windsor, ONFanshawe CollegeUnknown  
Wed Dec 18, 1996Windsor, ONTiffinUnknown  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 23, 1996Windsor, ONWilfrid LaurierWin59-46  
Sat Jan 11, 1997Windsor, ONBrockWin63-57  
Sat Jan 18, 1997Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss40-69  
Wed Jan 22, 1997Windsor, ONWaterlooWin65-42  
Sat Jan 25, 1997Windsor, ONWesternLoss53-70  
Wed Jan 29, 1997Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss54-61  
Sat Feb 1, 1997Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss54-60  
Fri Feb 7, 1997Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss63-83  
Sat Feb 8, 1997Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss49-78  
Wed Feb 12, 1997Windsor, ONGuelphWin58-56  
Sat Feb 15, 1997St. Catharines, ONBrockLoss52-56  
Wed Feb 19, 1997Windsor, ONMcMasterLoss46-55  
Sat Feb 22, 1997Guelph, ONGuelphLoss53-73  
Sat Mar 1, 1997London, ONWesternLoss58-72  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com