Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Lakehead Thunderwolves - 2008-09 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Jon Kreiner (6th season)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-110.5001429-139865.0 - 63.515-130.5361848-179166.0 - 64.018-130.5812116-201268.3 - 64.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Caitlin Galvin 5-6 Hamilton, ON 
5Emily Ross Forward5-10 Thunder Bay, ON 
6Tasia McKenna Guard5-53Timberlea, NSQueen Elizabeth High
7Erica Godin 5-8 Kapuskasing, ONKapuskasing District High
8Lisa Styles Guard5-8 Greenwood, ON 
10Georgia Harvey Guard5-7 Winnipeg, MB 
11Ariana Kavanagh Forward6-0 St. John's, NLGonzaga High
11Amanda Nesbitt 5-8 Lindsay, ON 
12Chiaki Nakamura Guard5-9 Nagasaki, Japan 
13Sarah Gordon Forward5-113Halifax, NS 
15Kendelle Kavanagh Forward5-11 St. John's, NL 
21Kathryn Verboom Forward5-11 Thunder Bay, ON 
22Shannon Vellinga Forward6-14Murillo, ON 
23Lindsay Druery Forward6-12Smithville, ONSouth Lincoln High

Awards presented

Tasia McKenna OUA West All-Star Team
Kathryn Verboom OUA West All-Star Second Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 2, 2008UnknownManitobaWin77-63  
Fri Oct 3, 2008UnknownManitobaWin88-74  
Thu Oct 9, 2008UnknownSt. ThomasWin94-57  
Fri Oct 10, 2008Fredericton, NBUBCLoss49-66 UNB Tournament
Sat Oct 11, 2008Fredericton, NBCape BretonWin73-67OTUNB Tournament
Sun Oct 12, 2008Fredericton, NBUNBWin74-61 UNB Tournament
Fri Oct 24, 2008UnknownMayville StateWin100-94  
Sat Oct 25, 2008UnknownJamestown CollegeWin74-70  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 31, 2008Guelph, ONGuelphWin63-62  
Sat Nov 1, 2008Guelph, ONGuelphLoss67-79  
Fri Nov 7, 2008Toronto, ONRyersonWin78-50  
Sat Nov 8, 2008Toronto, ONTorontoLoss76-90  
Fri Nov 14, 2008Ottawa, ONCarletonWin58-56  
Sat Nov 15, 2008Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss57-61  
Fri Nov 21, 2008Thunder Bay, ONQueen'sWin72-62  
Sat Nov 22, 2008Thunder Bay, ONRMCWin84-58Stats 
Fri Nov 28, 2008Thunder Bay, ONLaurentianWin64-53  
Sat Nov 29, 2008Thunder Bay, ONYorkWin60-59  
Fri Jan 9, 2009Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss53-62  
Sat Jan 10, 2009Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss53-55  
Fri Jan 16, 2009Thunder Bay, ONBrockWin76-67  
Sat Jan 17, 2009Thunder Bay, ONBrockWin88-70  
Fri Jan 23, 2009Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin73-63  
Sat Jan 24, 2009Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss55-63  
Fri Jan 30, 2009Thunder Bay, ONLaurierWin64-63  
Sat Jan 31, 2009Thunder Bay, ONLaurierLoss49-55  
Fri Feb 6, 2009London, ONWesternLoss63-66  
Sat Feb 7, 2009London, ONWesternLoss62-67  
Fri Feb 13, 2009Thunder Bay, ONWindsorLoss60-72  
Sat Feb 14, 2009Thunder Bay, ONWindsorLoss54-65  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Feb 18, 2009Waterloo, ONLaurierLoss58-62 OUA West Playoff

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kathryn Verboom2056928.46-2128.6105-21947.970-9772.254-781326.648388272528614.3
Tasia McKenna2268831.361-18033.9103-32931.330-3585.713-85984.5501189274629713.5
Shannon Vellinga2250022.70-30.083-20640.334-6056.751-661175.38915347182009.1
Lindsay Druery2242719.40-20.063-15042.020-4148.863-981617.361104012191466.6
Georgia Harvey2251723.520-5139.244-12335.89-2045.032-65974.44223473291175.3
Chiaki Nakamura2247821.716-7122.539-12930.25-771.414-27411.9244044114994.5
Sarah Gordon2227012.313-5026.029-9430.99-1752.917-54713.233815210803.6
Kendelle Kavanagh2025012.51-520.024-6437.520-2871.425-24492.5381219713693.5
Lisa Styles2238917.74-2317.418-8321.732-4374.410-19291.3323332 15723.3
Emily Ross191407.4  19-3652.88-1457.115-15301.61521744462.4
Amanda Nesbitt10969.60-10.07-1450.02-450.06-7131.314611 6161.6
Ariana Kavanagh6162.7  1-425.01-333.30-110.22121 30.5
Caitlin Galvin791.30-50.00-60.0  1-340.6 11 100.0
Erica Godin382.7  0-30.0  0-110.31    00.0
* Team Totals224357198.0121-41229.4535-146036.6240-36965.0301-54384438.444930743651200143165.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Tasia McKenna24 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC5 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Kathryn Verboom16 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC9 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC3 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Lisa Styles9 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC3 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Shannon Vellinga9 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Sarah Gordon8 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC8 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Lindsay Druery6 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC9 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC 
Georgia Harvey4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC 
Kendelle Kavanagh4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Emily Ross4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC3 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Caitlin Galvin 4 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC
Erica Godin 1 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC 
Chiaki Nakamura 2 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC3 on Nov 22, 2008 vs RMC


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com