Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Calgary Dinos - 2015-16 Season

Head Coach:Damian Jennings (4th season)
Other staff: Katherine Adams (Assistant Coach), Matthew Spencer (Assistant Coach), Erin Allan (Assistant Coach), Jackson Parker (Assistant Coach), Rich Hesketh (Strength & Conditioning Coach)
League:CanWest Pioneer
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-50.7501479-127974.0 - 64.022-120.6472501-211773.6 - 62.325-130.6582791-234773.4 - 61.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Shinelle Handzuik Guard5-72Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
1Kristie Sheils Guard5-85Elsemere Port, UK(University of Wales)
2Emma Nieuwenhuizen Forward/Guard5-114Strathroy, ONStrathroy District Collegiate
3Vanessa Wesolowski Forward6-25Calgary, ABChestermere High
4Lindsey Agnew Guard5-93Milwaukee, WIWhitefish Bay High
5Anmol Mattu Guard5-32Richmond, BCSteveston-London Secondary
6Olivia Berry Guard5-61Auckland, New ZealandNorth Harbour
7Emily Morales Guard5-52Calgary, ABSir Winston Churchill
8Ashley Hirons Guard5-95Melbourne, AustraliaWesley College
9Chloe Campbell Forward6-12Victoria, BCOak Bay Secondary
10Brianna Ghali Guard/Forward5-113Calgary, ABWilliam Aberhart High
11Freya Szmidt Guard/Forward6-11Reading, UK(Reading Rockets)
12Kelsey Lund Post6-15Worsley, AB 
13Erin McIntosh Wing5-111Calgary, ONWilliam Aberhart High
14Claire Colborne Guard/Forward6-05Calgary, AB 
15Jenna Spruyt Centre6-21Medicine Hat, ABMedicine Hat High
24Laura Costello Forward5-111Calgary, ABChestermere High
RSTaylor White Guard/Forward1Cambridge, ONSouthwood Secondary

Awards presented

Kristie Sheils Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Sep 18, 2015Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyWin69-57  
Sat Sep 19, 2015Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss59-64  
Fri Sep 25, 2015Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin95-57  
Sat Sep 26, 2015Kamloops, BCThompson RiversLoss73-74Stats 
Fri Oct 2, 2015Calgary. ABMount RoyalWin79-47  
Sun Oct 4, 2015Calgary. ABMount RoyalWin74-50  
Thu Oct 8, 2015Calgary. ABAlbertaLoss67-74 Calgary Cup
Fri Oct 9, 2015Calgary. ABLethbridgeWin98-39 Calgary Cup
Fri Oct 16, 2015Toronto, ONRyersonLoss79-89 Darcel Wright Memorial Classic
Sat Oct 17, 2015Toronto, ONYorkWin62-18 Darcel Wright Memorial Classic
Sun Oct 18, 2015Toronto, ONLavalLoss65-78 Darcel Wright Memorial Classic
Sun Oct 25, 2015Calgary. ABMacEwanWin88-57  
Tue Dec 29, 2015Irvine, CAConcordia IrvineWin89-80  
Wed Dec 30, 2015La Mirada, CABiola UniversityWin60-49  
Thu Dec 31, 2015Garden Grove, CABristolWin76-31  
Sat Jan 2, 2016Costa Mesa, CAVanguardLoss65-70OT 
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 6, 2015Calgary. ABWinnipegLoss51-72Stats 
Sat Nov 7, 2015Calgary. ABWinnipegWin69-47Stats 
Fri Nov 13, 2015Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin74-47Stats 
Sat Nov 14, 2015Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin100-71Stats 
Fri Nov 20, 2015Victoria, BCVictoriaWin81-72Stats 
Sat Nov 21, 2015Victoria, BCVictoriaWin84-72Stats 
Fri Nov 27, 2015Calgary. ABUBCWin70-50Stats 
Sat Nov 28, 2015Calgary. ABUBCWin74-72Stats 
Sat Dec 5, 2015Calgary. ABAlbertaLoss64-70Stats 
Fri Jan 8, 2016Calgary. ABSaskatchewanLoss69-77Stats 
Sat Jan 9, 2016Calgary. ABSaskatchewanLoss47-78Stats 
Fri Jan 15, 2016Brandon, MBBrandonWin82-58Stats 
Sat Jan 16, 2016Brandon, MBBrandonWin65-60Stats 
Fri Jan 22, 2016Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin81-50Stats 
Sat Jan 23, 2016Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin76-63Stats 
Fri Feb 5, 2016Calgary. ABLethbridgeWin77-43Stats 
Sat Feb 6, 2016Calgary. ABLethbridgeWin80-50Stats 
Thu Feb 11, 2016Calgary. ABReginaWin95-83OT, Stats 
Fri Feb 12, 2016Calgary. ABReginaLoss71-83Stats 
Sat Feb 20, 2016Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin69-61Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 4, 2016Regina, SKReginaLoss55-69StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Sat Mar 5, 2016Regina, SKReginaLoss59-65StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3 final)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kristie Sheils2063831.936-8741.485-21140.366-7785.718-58763.838634812927213.6
Claire Colborne2059029.514-6820.697-24040.463-8970.842-1541969.868557012627113.6
Kelsey Lund2041720.9  95-19947.758-9660.456-681246.2621335151024812.4
Brianna Ghali1843123.923-5839.777-17344.538-5667.924-841086.0461655113121511.9
Ashley Hirons816921.19-2832.117-4042.5  5-10151.931013410435.4
Emma Nieuwenhuizen2051025.518-4440.933-8140.718-2378.316-30462.32636275151025.1
Vanessa Wesolowski2024312.21-425.033-7345.224-3863.221-27482.432725 4914.5
Anmol Mattu2043221.612-4129.335-9636.57-1450.022-36582.9263434121894.5
Freya Szmidt1719411.43-1030.019-5038.05-683.317-19362.1841978462.7
Erin McIntosh181618.93-933.317-4240.59-1275.03-21241.317109 10462.6
Jenna Spruyt201376.8  18-3158.112-2941.412-19311.62522084482.4
Emily Morales12736.12-633.32-825.0  1-450.4347 260.5
Chloe Campbell6284.7  1-333.30-20.00-550.86 31 20.3
* Team Totals204023201.2121-35534.1529-124742.4300-44267.9237-53577238.636025436554170147974.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Claire Colborne28 on Nov 21, 2015 vs Victoria21 on Nov 7, 2015 vs Winnipeg8 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Victoria
Brianna Ghali28 on Jan 8, 2016 vs Saskatchewan12 on Dec 5, 2015 vs Alberta2 on Sep 26, 2015 vs Thompson Rivers
Kristie Sheils27 on Nov 14, 2015 vs Manitoba8 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba6 on Nov 14, 2015 vs Manitoba
Kelsey Lund25 on Feb 11, 2016 vs Regina13 on Nov 7, 2015 vs Winnipeg3 on Nov 27, 2015 vs UBC
Emma Nieuwenhuizen15 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Regina5 on Nov 21, 2015 vs Victoria5 on Nov 14, 2015 vs Manitoba
Anmol Mattu14 on Feb 20, 2016 vs Alberta6 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba7 on Nov 14, 2015 vs Manitoba
Erin McIntosh11 on Feb 12, 2016 vs Regina5 on Feb 5, 2016 vs Lethbridge2 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba
Vanessa Wesolowski11 on Nov 6, 2015 vs Winnipeg6 on Nov 27, 2015 vs UBC1 on Sep 26, 2015 vs Thompson Rivers
Jenna Spruyt9 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba8 on Nov 27, 2015 vs UBC1 on Jan 8, 2016 vs Saskatchewan
Freya Szmidt9 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 5, 2016 vs Lethbridge1 on Sep 26, 2015 vs Thompson Rivers
Ashley Hirons8 on Sep 26, 2015 vs Thompson Rivers4 on Jan 8, 2016 vs Saskatchewan3 on Feb 5, 2016 vs Lethbridge
Emily Morales3 on Feb 5, 2016 vs Lethbridge2 on Jan 22, 2016 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba
Chloe Campbell2 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba3 on Nov 13, 2015 vs Manitoba 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com