Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Regina Cougars - 2015-16 Season

Head Coach:Dave Taylor (10th season)
Other staff: Carly Graham (Assistant Coach), Lindsay Ledingham (Assistant Coach)
League:CanWest Pioneer
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
17-30.8501549-122577.5 - 61.228-70.8002616-214474.7 - 61.330-80.7892877-235275.7 - 61.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
1Charlotte Kot Forward6-04Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
2Michaela Kleisinger Guard5-71Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
3Katie Polischuk Guard6-04Brantford, ONSt. John's College
4Avery Pearce Guard5-51Lumsden, SKLumsden High
5Caitlin Zacharias Guard5-63Regina, SKMichael A. Riffel High
6Jayda Watson Forward5-101Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
7Sara Hubenig Guard5-93Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
8Kehlsie Crone Guard5-95Moose Jaw, SKVanier Collegiate (Weber State)
10Alyssia Kajati Post6-15Regina, SKMichael A. Riffel High
11Britton Belyk Guard5-62Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
12Christina McCusker Forward6-02Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
13Sidney Dobner Guard5-65Newbury Park, CANewbury Park High (Cal State San Marcos)
14Tefa Vilela Post6-34Palmas, Brazil(Northwest College)
15Alexi Rowden Forward6-01Meath Park, SKMeath Park High

Awards presented

Alyssia Kajati Canada West Third Team All-Star
Charlotte Kot Regina Women's Basketball Team MVP, Canada West First Team All-Star, CIS Second Team All-Canadian, CIS Championship Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Sep 24, 2015Regina, SKLakeland CollegeWin80-49  
Sat Sep 26, 2015Moose Jaw, SKMedicine Hat CollegeWin83-51  
Fri Oct 2, 2015Brandon, MBBrandonWin58-56 Brandon Tournament
Sat Oct 3, 2015Brandon, MBManitobaWin98-56 Brandon Tournament
Thu Oct 8, 2015Regina, SKGuelphWin64-58StatsRegina Tournament
Fri Oct 9, 2015Regina, SKFraser ValleyWin86-48 Regina Tournament
Sat Oct 10, 2015Regina, SKSaskatchewanLoss61-81 Regina Tournament
Fri Oct 23, 2015Ottawa, ONCarletonWin67-57 Metro Glebe Tournament
Sat Oct 24, 2015Ottawa, ONUQAMWin76-62 Metro Glebe Tournament
Sun Oct 25, 2015Ottawa, ONWilfrid LaurierWin85-52 Metro Glebe Tournament
Sun Nov 1, 2015Minot, NDMinot StateLoss98-108OT 
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 6, 2015Brandon, MBBrandonWin72-58Stats 
Sat Nov 7, 2015Brandon, MBBrandonWin64-48Stats 
Fri Nov 20, 2015Regina, SKLethbridgeWin86-44Stats 
Sat Nov 21, 2015Regina, SKLethbridgeWin74-54Stats 
Fri Nov 27, 2015Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin71-50Stats 
Sat Nov 28, 2015Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss63-70Stats 
Fri Dec 4, 2015Regina, SKWinnipegWin78-73  
Sat Dec 5, 2015Regina, SKWinnipegWin80-44  
Sat Jan 9, 2016Regina, SKTrinity WesternWin79-43  
Sun Jan 10, 2016Regina, SKTrinity WesternWin84-55  
Fri Jan 22, 2016Vancouver, BCUBCWin71-69  
Sat Jan 23, 2016Vancouver, BCUBCWin69-61  
Fri Jan 29, 2016Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin86-55Stats 
Sat Jan 30, 2016Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin87-42Stats 
Fri Feb 5, 2016Regina, SKVictoriaWin80-61  
Sat Feb 6, 2016Regina, SKVictoriaWin84-73  
Thu Feb 11, 2016Calgary. ABCalgaryLoss83-95OT, Stats 
Fri Feb 12, 2016Calgary. ABCalgaryWin83-71Stats 
Fri Feb 19, 2016Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin83-78  
Sat Feb 20, 2016Regina, SKSaskatchewanLoss72-81  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 4, 2016Regina, SKCalgaryWin69-55StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Sat Mar 5, 2016Regina, SKCalgaryWin65-59StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3 final)
Fri Mar 11, 2016Saskatoon, SKMacEwanWin65-59StatsCanada West Semifinal
Sat Mar 12, 2016Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss62-73StatsCanada West Championship
Thu Mar 17, 2016Fredericton, NBRyersonLoss70-73StatsCIS Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 18, 2016Fredericton, NBUNBWin68-56StatsCIS Consolation Semifinal
Sat Mar 19, 2016Fredericton, NBAlbertaLoss73-74StatsCIS Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Charlotte Kot2056928.41-520.0126-24152.372-9675.064-1081728.6451842151932516.2
Alyssia Kajati2053026.5  102-18056.762-7483.851-1081598.053254119526613.3
Katie Polischuk2058329.156-18031.187-26832.526-3281.29-62713.527452781925612.8
Kehlsie Crone1945423.936-7647.458-13044.624-2982.816-78944.93348618211769.3
Sidney Dobner1843624.24-2020.053-14536.629-4170.710-62724.034925911231397.7
Christina McCusker2030215.1  37-6358.749-6872.128-47753.83414261571236.2
Britton Belyk2026213.111-3531.425-6240.39-1656.218-33512.5181519311703.5
Michaela Kleisinger2022011.08-2334.822-5143.19-1464.35-42472.4132722 5613.0
Caitlin Zacharias171438.411-3333.316-5230.82-366.75-16211.25121113452.6
Sara Hubenig2025812.95-1827.814-3737.810-1566.717-40572.919172029432.1
Alexi Rowden161157.2  11-2250.010-1566.718-15332.1619 4322.0
Avery Pearce191507.92-922.24-1428.63-475.03-9120.64182028130.7
Tefa Vilela341.3      1-010.3     00.0
* Team Totals204026201.3134-39933.6555-126543.9305-40774.9245-62086543.229133235784134154977.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Alyssia Kajati24 on Feb 11, 2016 vs Calgary17 on Feb 11, 2016 vs Calgary3 on Nov 6, 2015 vs Brandon
Charlotte Kot24 on Nov 27, 2015 vs Alberta16 on Oct 8, 2015 vs Guelph3 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Calgary
Katie Polischuk21 on Oct 8, 2015 vs Guelph9 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Calgary6 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge
Sidney Dobner19 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Calgary11 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Calgary7 on Oct 8, 2015 vs Guelph
Christina McCusker16 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge10 on Oct 8, 2015 vs Guelph3 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge
Kehlsie Crone14 on Mar 17, 2016 vs Ryerson8 on Nov 7, 2015 vs Brandon5 on Jan 29, 2016 vs Manitoba
Sara Hubenig12 on Mar 17, 2016 vs Ryerson7 on Mar 11, 2016 vs MacEwan4 on Mar 19, 2016 vs Alberta
Caitlin Zacharias11 on Mar 19, 2016 vs Alberta4 on Jan 30, 2016 vs Manitoba6 on Jan 29, 2016 vs Manitoba
Michaela Kleisinger10 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge6 on Jan 29, 2016 vs Manitoba8 on Jan 30, 2016 vs Manitoba
Alexi Rowden10 on Jan 30, 2016 vs Manitoba4 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge 
Britton Belyk7 on Feb 12, 2016 vs Calgary8 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge2 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge
Avery Pearce4 on Jan 29, 2016 vs Manitoba1 on Nov 20, 2015 vs Lethbridge3 on Nov 21, 2015 vs Lethbridge
Tefa Vilela 1 on Nov 21, 2015 vs Lethbridge 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com