Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 2015-16 Season

Head Coach:Michele Belanger (37th season)
Other staff: Ian Morse (Assistant Coach), Valentin Crainic (Assistant Coach), Aleksandra Kancheva (Assistant Coach), Andrew Kay (Assistant Coach), Kyra Kristensen-Irvine (Assistant Coach), Adrian Lightowler (Strength & Conditioning Head Coach), Alanna Veerman (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Katherine Ahokanis (Nutrition Consultant), Angela Song (Staff Therapist), Laura Difrancesco (Student Therapist), Amanda Deluca (Student Therapist), Alexandra Boran (Student Therapist), Jenny Choo (Student Therapist)
League:OUA East
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-110.4211262-136966.4 - 72.113-190.4062085-225065.2 - 70.313-190.4062085-225065.2 - 70.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Keyira Parkes Guard5-31Scarborough, ONSt. John Paul II Secondary
5Rahshida Atkinson Guard5-93Scarborough, ONSt. Joseph's College
6Mahal De La Durantaye Guard5-81Toronto, ONThe Linden School
7Sophie Cation Forward6-01Thunder Bay, ONSaint Patrick High
8Diedre Edwards Guard5-73Hamilton, ONSt. Thomas More Secondary
9Yanique Smith Guard5-71Brampton, ONSt. Edmund Campion Secondary
10Maddy Baker Guard5-62West Vancouver, BCYork House School
11Abena Addo Guard5-85Brampton, ONSt. Edmund Campion Secondary
12Sarah Bennett Forward5-111Toronto, ONBishop Allen Academy
13Jay Gaunt Forward6-02Hamilton, ONWestdale Secondary
14Emily Piccini Forward5-103Dundas, ONSt. Mary Secondary
15Carly Evans Forward5-71Scarborough, ONBill Crothers Secondary
21Charlotte Collyer Forward6-01Colleyville, TXColleyville Heritage High
22Alanna Garner Forward5-84London, ONSaunders Secondary
24Selali Acolatse Forward5-113Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
RSJada Dunn Forward5-101Ajax, ONPickering High
RSConnie Harris Forward6-22Markham, ONSaint Augustine Secondary (Lethbridge)

Awards presented

Abena Addo OUA Joy Bellinger Award of Merit
Rahshida Atkinson OUA Second Team All-Star
Keyira Parkes OUA All-Rookie Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 2, 2015Fredericton, NBUNBLoss51-67 UNB Helen Campbell Tournament
Sat Oct 3, 2015Fredericton, NBStFXLoss75-81OTUNB Helen Campbell Tournament
Sun Oct 4, 2015Fredericton, NBLethbridgeWin91-72 UNB Helen Campbell Tournament
Fri Oct 16, 2015Toronto, ONUNBLoss58-59  
Sat Oct 17, 2015Toronto, ONUBC OkanaganWin67-49  
Fri Oct 23, 2015Quebec City, QCUPEIWin65-51 Tournoi Rouge et Or
Sat Oct 24, 2015Quebec City, QCLavalLoss58-64 Tournoi Rouge et Or
Sun Oct 25, 2015Quebec City, QCDalhousieLoss44-46 Tournoi Rouge et Or
Fri Oct 30, 2015Mississauga, ONMcMasterLoss48-82 UT Mississauga Campus
Mon Dec 28, 2015Toronto, ONWesternWin76-71 UofT Holiday Invitational
Tue Dec 29, 2015Toronto, ONWilfrid LaurierWin84-78OTUofT Holiday Invitational
Wed Dec 30, 2015Toronto, ONVictoriaLoss55-70 UofT Holiday Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 4, 2015Toronto, ONRyersonLoss36-78  
Wed Nov 11, 2015Toronto, ONWaterlooWin63-61  
Sat Nov 14, 2015Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss79-87  
Sat Nov 21, 2015Windsor, ONWindsorLoss60-96  
Sun Nov 22, 2015London, ONWesternWin91-87  
Sat Nov 28, 2015Toronto, ONRyersonLoss74-87  
Fri Jan 8, 2016Toronto, ONYorkWin75-61  
Fri Jan 15, 2016Toronto, ONQueensLoss33-57  
Fri Jan 22, 2016Toronto, ONOttawaLoss62-69  
Sat Jan 23, 2016Toronto, ONCarletonLoss63-67  
Fri Jan 29, 2016North Bay, ONNipissingWin80-63  
Sat Jan 30, 2016Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin60-59OT 
Fri Feb 5, 2016Toronto, ONBrockLoss59-79  
Sat Feb 6, 2016Toronto, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss62-79  
Fri Feb 12, 2016Toronto, ONAlgomaWin89-59  
Fri Feb 19, 2016Guelph, ONGuelphLoss56-73  
Sat Feb 20, 2016Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss69-74  
Fri Feb 26, 2016Toronto, ONYorkWin76-63  
Sat Feb 27, 2016Kingston, ONQueensWin75-70  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Mar 2, 2016London, ONWesternLoss51-91StatsOUA Playoff Preliminary Round

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rahshida Atkinson1952527.632-9035.6110-29137.844-6369.826-39653.445355013929615.6
Alanna Garner1847826.611-5022.062-18833.031-4963.342-671096.14115315141669.2
Diedre Edwards1955028.90-60.050-14135.568-13251.538-651035.43460670421688.8
Keyira Parkes1224220.213-6021.743-11836.47-1838.96-23292.43213282131068.8
Emily Piccini1226422.06-2326.137-10136.620-3066.712-33453.8299331131008.3
Abena Addo1633520.94-2516.043-13831.237-4877.161-401016.34014310281277.9
Charlotte Collyer1925813.64-1428.637-8245.15-1338.520-43633.351111959834.4
Sarah Bennett1726815.86-1833.326-6540.015-2365.220-47673.931111824734.3
Mahal De La Durantaye1018918.90-30.016-4833.310-2050.014-19333.321413012424.2
Maddy Baker1723814.06-3517.113-5623.28-1266.78-16241.415152428402.4
Yanique Smith1212710.62-728.610-3627.86-966.78-19272.21241015282.3
Jay Gaunt1111610.52-1513.39-3426.51-520.05-13181.61461234211.9
Selali Acolatse3196.30-00.02-728.60-00.02-241.34050141.3
Carly Evans2105.00-40.01-520.00-00.01-231.51010021.0
* Team Totals193619190.586-35024.6459-131035.0252-42259.7263-42869136.437019734222192125666.1

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Abena Addo14 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western4 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Rahshida Atkinson12 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western6 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western1 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western
Maddy Baker5 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western  
Diedre Edwards5 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western4 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Charlotte Collyer4 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Keyira Parkes4 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western5 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Emily Piccini3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western1 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Sarah Bennett2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Yanique Smith2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western5 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 
Alanna Garner 2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Western 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com